tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BRIAN ENO - The Ship

BRIAN ENO

The Ship

MusicCD
Ambient

[80/100]   

Warp Records
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Initially a commissioned piece for a Stockholm-based sound and art installation, The Ship marks something of a transition for the multi-faceted Brian Eno. Neither is it just another ambient epic or a well-trodden repeat of earlier vocal works, Eno's first full-length album in four years is an explorative odyssey into the human voice triggered by a happy accident. During rehearsals, his vocal chords hit an unexpected low 'c' and an idea was born.

Thus The Ship is halfway between folk-legend, shimmering electronica, blissful ambience, war poetry and, potentially, his Music for Dark Oceans. The epic title-track demonstrates this new baritone, a kind of elder growl that doesn't jar or dominate, giving way to a lengthy piece that features eddying found-sounds, echoes and spoken word that recalls Sylvian and Czukay's Plight and Premonition or Gavin Bryars' Sinking of the Titanic (much of The Ship is inspired by the Titanic and WW1).

Fickle Sun is split into three parts - the moniker-free first subsection wouldn't sound out of place on a Brendan Perry album such is its atmospheric candour and funereal, the second portion (The Air is Thin) is spoken prose with treated piano and the third and final section is quite something. Covering the Velvet Underground isn't a new concept but herding one of the iconic rock 'n' roll band's most joyous ballads into another dimension takes skill and judgement. I'm Set Free is string-drenched, uplifting, felicific even, as well as downright tear-duct tickling to boot. The final minute is Eno's most eye-watering musical culmination since The Roil, The Choke on 1992's Nerve Net or the last breaths of And Then So Clear on 2005's Another Day on Earth. I defy you to not press 'replay'.

A very cherishable chapter in the pioneering creator's vast and relatively taint-free catalogue.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu