tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/01/2016 : BRIAN JAMES - The Guitar That Dripped Blood

BRIAN JAMES

The Guitar That Dripped Blood

MusicCD
Horror Punk

[80/100]   

Easy Action
05/01/2016, Xavier KRUTH

EN

Brian James started as a guitarist for the punk band London SS, as he was trying to fill the gap Clash guitarist Mick Jones left. However, it was a very difficult start. James made a deal with drummer Rat Scabies to form The Subterreans. They invited Sid Vicious and Dave Vanian for an audition. Sid, of course, did not show up, but Vanian proved to be extremely suitable as a singer. With Captain Sensible on board, they started the phenomenal The Damned.

Brian James played guitars on what is the very first punk single (New Rose) and the first punk LP (Damned Damned Damned). The Damned is also known as the first punk band that split up - we won’t count the various bands that didn’t survive their first rehearsal - and they were also the first to reform. But that was without Brian James.

James then founded Tanz Der Youth, and later Brian James Brain’s (also known as The Hellions). He accompanied Iggy Pop on his US tour in 1979, along with Sex Pistols member Glenn Matlock. But his most important contribution to music history was The Lords Of The New Church. They were founded in 1982 as a kind of super group with Stiv Bators (Dead Boys), Dave Tregunna (Sham 69) and Nicky Turner (Barracudas) and of course James.

James remained in the band until they split up in 1989 - a year before the death of Stiv Bators - and years later he revived the band with the new singer Adam Becvar. James was involved in many other bands too, and he also released several solo CD’s, including the acoustic blues album Chateau Brian and one that contained some alternate versions of early Damned songs: Damned… If I Do.

The Guitar That Dripped Blood is based on James’ reputation. What would you expect from him, besides some dirty rock? Punk remains a major influence, but psychobilly is also included. The CD is a collection of short straightforward songs. Cheetah Chrome (Dead Boys) and Adam Becvar are also involved.

It must be said that the songs have a quite simple structure, and that we should not seek any profound meaning in the lyrics. But that is not the intention of Brian James.

Xavier KRUTH
05/01/2016


NL

De Nederlandse versie kan je op Dark Entries lezen.

Xavier KRUTH
05/01/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless