tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/01/2016 : BRIAN JAMES - The Guitar That Dripped Blood

BRIAN JAMES

The Guitar That Dripped Blood

MusicCD
Horror Punk

[80/100]   

Easy Action
05/01/2016, Xavier KRUTH

EN

Brian James started as a guitarist for the punk band London SS, as he was trying to fill the gap Clash guitarist Mick Jones left. However, it was a very difficult start. James made a deal with drummer Rat Scabies to form The Subterreans. They invited Sid Vicious and Dave Vanian for an audition. Sid, of course, did not show up, but Vanian proved to be extremely suitable as a singer. With Captain Sensible on board, they started the phenomenal The Damned.

Brian James played guitars on what is the very first punk single (New Rose) and the first punk LP (Damned Damned Damned). The Damned is also known as the first punk band that split up - we won’t count the various bands that didn’t survive their first rehearsal - and they were also the first to reform. But that was without Brian James.

James then founded Tanz Der Youth, and later Brian James Brain’s (also known as The Hellions). He accompanied Iggy Pop on his US tour in 1979, along with Sex Pistols member Glenn Matlock. But his most important contribution to music history was The Lords Of The New Church. They were founded in 1982 as a kind of super group with Stiv Bators (Dead Boys), Dave Tregunna (Sham 69) and Nicky Turner (Barracudas) and of course James.

James remained in the band until they split up in 1989 - a year before the death of Stiv Bators - and years later he revived the band with the new singer Adam Becvar. James was involved in many other bands too, and he also released several solo CD’s, including the acoustic blues album Chateau Brian and one that contained some alternate versions of early Damned songs: Damned… If I Do.

The Guitar That Dripped Blood is based on James’ reputation. What would you expect from him, besides some dirty rock? Punk remains a major influence, but psychobilly is also included. The CD is a collection of short straightforward songs. Cheetah Chrome (Dead Boys) and Adam Becvar are also involved.

It must be said that the songs have a quite simple structure, and that we should not seek any profound meaning in the lyrics. But that is not the intention of Brian James.

Xavier KRUTH
05/01/2016


NL

De Nederlandse versie kan je op Dark Entries lezen.

Xavier KRUTH
05/01/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell