tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS

BRIAN LYNCH

MINIONS

Movie
Animation

[89/100]   

Universal Pictures
12/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

2015 is a golden year for blockbusters. We are waiting impatiently for the new Star Wars or the latest James Bond, but even then we have no reason to complain. On the animation front all stops are pulled as well this year. The best film comes from the Pixar stable (Inside Out), but the funniest is undoubtedly the one with the Minions. Is there anyone who never saw these yellow creatures that will do anything for a banana? The kids (and adults) love the guys ofn the Despicable Me movie and so it was almost an automatic move to give the youngsters their own movie. Often spin offs are no more than the last drop out of a dying cow, but the Minions is different. The makers noticed that the yellow stooges of Gru were incredibly popular. They are not only funny, but their strange language, which sounds a bit like Spanish, is hilarious. It is a strange twist, but for the first time a spin-off may well surpass the parent movie. On the qualitative level that is certainly the case because Minions is the funniest movie of the year.

At the beginning of the movie, a voice informs us that the Minions always existed. Since prehistoric times those yellow men are looking for a villain they wanted to help, but it never worked out. The low point comes when they mess up a task for Napoleon. For years, the Minions hide in a cave where they languish of loneliness. Three Minions (leader Kevin, the stubborn Stuart and silly Bob) go out to find a new villain who they can serve. The three arrive in London where they meet Scarlett Overkill (Sandra Bullock), a bitchy woman who wants the crown of the Queen of England!

It is a rare thing, but almost every joke works. Brian Lynch had the brilliant idea to send the Minions to the London of the 60s. Not only do we hear a sublime soundtrack (from The Who to The Monkees), that particular period gives the Minions a wide range of crazy ideas too! Minions contains humor for everyone. There is no child around (at least not a normal child) that will make the link with Abbey Road when it sees the Minions passing a crosswalk, but also for them Minions contains plenty of fun. 

Didier BECU
12/07/2015


NL

2015 is een gouden jaar voor blockbusters. We wachten met ongeduld op de nieuwe Star Wars of de laatste James Bond, maar zelfs dan hebben we nog geen reden tot klagen. Ook op het animatiefront trekt men dit jaar alle registers open. De beste film komt uit de Pixar-stal (Inside Out), maar de grappigste is zonder twijfel die van de Minions. Moeten we deze creaturen nog voorstellen? Zou er iemand zijn die deze gele wezentjes, die alles doen voor een banaan, nog nooit heeft gezien? De kinderen (en volwassenen) zijn dol op de ventjes uit de Despicable Me-films en dus was het bijna een automatische zet om de kereltjes een eigen film te geven. Vaak zijn spin offs niet meer dan de laatste druppel uit een stervende koe, maar bij de Minions is dat anders. De makers merkten immers dat de gele knechtjes van Gru ongelooflijk populair waren. Ze zien er niet alleen grappig uit, maar ook hun broebeltaaltje dat een heel klein beetje Spaans klinkt, is hilarisch. Het is een vreemde kronkel, maar voor het eerst zou een spin off wel eens de moederfilm kunnen overtreffen. Op kwalitatief vlak is dat zeker het geval, want Minions is de grappigste film van het jaar.

Een vertelstem wijst er ons op dat de Minions altijd hebben bestaan. Reeds vanaf de prehistorie waren de gele mannetjes op zoek naar een slechterik die ze wilden helpen, maar door hun ijver liep alles steeds mis. Het dieptepunt is een mislukte opdracht voor Napoleon, waardoor ze op de vlucht moeten slaan. Jarenlang verschuilen de Minions zich in een grot waar ze wegkwijnen van eenzaamheid. Drie Minions (leider Kevin, de koppige Stuart en de onnozele Bob) gaan de wijde wereld in op zoek naar een nieuwe slechterik die ze willen dienen. De drie arriveren bij de wrede Scarlett Overkill (Sandra Bullock), een feeks die de kroon van de koningin van Engeland wil!

Het gebeurt zelden, maar bijna iedere grap is recht in de roos. Vanaf het begin bulder je van het lachen want deze wezentjes hebben aan alles lak. Brian Lynch had het geniale idee om de Minions naar het Londen van de jaren 60 te sturen. Daardoor krijgen we niet altijd een sublieme soundtrack (van The Who tot The Monkees), maar hebben de Minions een waaier aan gekke ideeën! Minions bevat humor voor iedereen. Er is geen kind (ten minste toch geen normaal kind) dat de link met Abbey Road zal leggen als de Minions een zebrapad oversteken, maar ook voor hen is er meer dan genoeg pret. 

Didier BECU
12/07/2015


12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap