tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS

BRIAN LYNCH

MINIONS

Movie
Animation

[89/100]   

Universal Pictures
12/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

2015 is a golden year for blockbusters. We are waiting impatiently for the new Star Wars or the latest James Bond, but even then we have no reason to complain. On the animation front all stops are pulled as well this year. The best film comes from the Pixar stable (Inside Out), but the funniest is undoubtedly the one with the Minions. Is there anyone who never saw these yellow creatures that will do anything for a banana? The kids (and adults) love the guys ofn the Despicable Me movie and so it was almost an automatic move to give the youngsters their own movie. Often spin offs are no more than the last drop out of a dying cow, but the Minions is different. The makers noticed that the yellow stooges of Gru were incredibly popular. They are not only funny, but their strange language, which sounds a bit like Spanish, is hilarious. It is a strange twist, but for the first time a spin-off may well surpass the parent movie. On the qualitative level that is certainly the case because Minions is the funniest movie of the year.

At the beginning of the movie, a voice informs us that the Minions always existed. Since prehistoric times those yellow men are looking for a villain they wanted to help, but it never worked out. The low point comes when they mess up a task for Napoleon. For years, the Minions hide in a cave where they languish of loneliness. Three Minions (leader Kevin, the stubborn Stuart and silly Bob) go out to find a new villain who they can serve. The three arrive in London where they meet Scarlett Overkill (Sandra Bullock), a bitchy woman who wants the crown of the Queen of England!

It is a rare thing, but almost every joke works. Brian Lynch had the brilliant idea to send the Minions to the London of the 60s. Not only do we hear a sublime soundtrack (from The Who to The Monkees), that particular period gives the Minions a wide range of crazy ideas too! Minions contains humor for everyone. There is no child around (at least not a normal child) that will make the link with Abbey Road when it sees the Minions passing a crosswalk, but also for them Minions contains plenty of fun. 

Didier BECU
12/07/2015


NL

2015 is een gouden jaar voor blockbusters. We wachten met ongeduld op de nieuwe Star Wars of de laatste James Bond, maar zelfs dan hebben we nog geen reden tot klagen. Ook op het animatiefront trekt men dit jaar alle registers open. De beste film komt uit de Pixar-stal (Inside Out), maar de grappigste is zonder twijfel die van de Minions. Moeten we deze creaturen nog voorstellen? Zou er iemand zijn die deze gele wezentjes, die alles doen voor een banaan, nog nooit heeft gezien? De kinderen (en volwassenen) zijn dol op de ventjes uit de Despicable Me-films en dus was het bijna een automatische zet om de kereltjes een eigen film te geven. Vaak zijn spin offs niet meer dan de laatste druppel uit een stervende koe, maar bij de Minions is dat anders. De makers merkten immers dat de gele knechtjes van Gru ongelooflijk populair waren. Ze zien er niet alleen grappig uit, maar ook hun broebeltaaltje dat een heel klein beetje Spaans klinkt, is hilarisch. Het is een vreemde kronkel, maar voor het eerst zou een spin off wel eens de moederfilm kunnen overtreffen. Op kwalitatief vlak is dat zeker het geval, want Minions is de grappigste film van het jaar.

Een vertelstem wijst er ons op dat de Minions altijd hebben bestaan. Reeds vanaf de prehistorie waren de gele mannetjes op zoek naar een slechterik die ze wilden helpen, maar door hun ijver liep alles steeds mis. Het dieptepunt is een mislukte opdracht voor Napoleon, waardoor ze op de vlucht moeten slaan. Jarenlang verschuilen de Minions zich in een grot waar ze wegkwijnen van eenzaamheid. Drie Minions (leider Kevin, de koppige Stuart en de onnozele Bob) gaan de wijde wereld in op zoek naar een nieuwe slechterik die ze willen dienen. De drie arriveren bij de wrede Scarlett Overkill (Sandra Bullock), een feeks die de kroon van de koningin van Engeland wil!

Het gebeurt zelden, maar bijna iedere grap is recht in de roos. Vanaf het begin bulder je van het lachen want deze wezentjes hebben aan alles lak. Brian Lynch had het geniale idee om de Minions naar het Londen van de jaren 60 te sturen. Daardoor krijgen we niet altijd een sublieme soundtrack (van The Who tot The Monkees), maar hebben de Minions een waaier aan gekke ideeën! Minions bevat humor voor iedereen. Er is geen kind (ten minste toch geen normaal kind) dat de link met Abbey Road zal leggen als de Minions een zebrapad oversteken, maar ook voor hen is er meer dan genoeg pret. 

Didier BECU
12/07/2015


12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16