tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS

BRIAN LYNCH

MINIONS

Movie
Animation

[89/100]   

Universal Pictures
12/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

2015 is a golden year for blockbusters. We are waiting impatiently for the new Star Wars or the latest James Bond, but even then we have no reason to complain. On the animation front all stops are pulled as well this year. The best film comes from the Pixar stable (Inside Out), but the funniest is undoubtedly the one with the Minions. Is there anyone who never saw these yellow creatures that will do anything for a banana? The kids (and adults) love the guys ofn the Despicable Me movie and so it was almost an automatic move to give the youngsters their own movie. Often spin offs are no more than the last drop out of a dying cow, but the Minions is different. The makers noticed that the yellow stooges of Gru were incredibly popular. They are not only funny, but their strange language, which sounds a bit like Spanish, is hilarious. It is a strange twist, but for the first time a spin-off may well surpass the parent movie. On the qualitative level that is certainly the case because Minions is the funniest movie of the year.

At the beginning of the movie, a voice informs us that the Minions always existed. Since prehistoric times those yellow men are looking for a villain they wanted to help, but it never worked out. The low point comes when they mess up a task for Napoleon. For years, the Minions hide in a cave where they languish of loneliness. Three Minions (leader Kevin, the stubborn Stuart and silly Bob) go out to find a new villain who they can serve. The three arrive in London where they meet Scarlett Overkill (Sandra Bullock), a bitchy woman who wants the crown of the Queen of England!

It is a rare thing, but almost every joke works. Brian Lynch had the brilliant idea to send the Minions to the London of the 60s. Not only do we hear a sublime soundtrack (from The Who to The Monkees), that particular period gives the Minions a wide range of crazy ideas too! Minions contains humor for everyone. There is no child around (at least not a normal child) that will make the link with Abbey Road when it sees the Minions passing a crosswalk, but also for them Minions contains plenty of fun. 

Didier BECU
12/07/2015


NL

2015 is een gouden jaar voor blockbusters. We wachten met ongeduld op de nieuwe Star Wars of de laatste James Bond, maar zelfs dan hebben we nog geen reden tot klagen. Ook op het animatiefront trekt men dit jaar alle registers open. De beste film komt uit de Pixar-stal (Inside Out), maar de grappigste is zonder twijfel die van de Minions. Moeten we deze creaturen nog voorstellen? Zou er iemand zijn die deze gele wezentjes, die alles doen voor een banaan, nog nooit heeft gezien? De kinderen (en volwassenen) zijn dol op de ventjes uit de Despicable Me-films en dus was het bijna een automatische zet om de kereltjes een eigen film te geven. Vaak zijn spin offs niet meer dan de laatste druppel uit een stervende koe, maar bij de Minions is dat anders. De makers merkten immers dat de gele knechtjes van Gru ongelooflijk populair waren. Ze zien er niet alleen grappig uit, maar ook hun broebeltaaltje dat een heel klein beetje Spaans klinkt, is hilarisch. Het is een vreemde kronkel, maar voor het eerst zou een spin off wel eens de moederfilm kunnen overtreffen. Op kwalitatief vlak is dat zeker het geval, want Minions is de grappigste film van het jaar.

Een vertelstem wijst er ons op dat de Minions altijd hebben bestaan. Reeds vanaf de prehistorie waren de gele mannetjes op zoek naar een slechterik die ze wilden helpen, maar door hun ijver liep alles steeds mis. Het dieptepunt is een mislukte opdracht voor Napoleon, waardoor ze op de vlucht moeten slaan. Jarenlang verschuilen de Minions zich in een grot waar ze wegkwijnen van eenzaamheid. Drie Minions (leider Kevin, de koppige Stuart en de onnozele Bob) gaan de wijde wereld in op zoek naar een nieuwe slechterik die ze willen dienen. De drie arriveren bij de wrede Scarlett Overkill (Sandra Bullock), een feeks die de kroon van de koningin van Engeland wil!

Het gebeurt zelden, maar bijna iedere grap is recht in de roos. Vanaf het begin bulder je van het lachen want deze wezentjes hebben aan alles lak. Brian Lynch had het geniale idee om de Minions naar het Londen van de jaren 60 te sturen. Daardoor krijgen we niet altijd een sublieme soundtrack (van The Who tot The Monkees), maar hebben de Minions een waaier aan gekke ideeën! Minions bevat humor voor iedereen. Er is geen kind (ten minste toch geen normaal kind) dat de link met Abbey Road zal leggen als de Minions een zebrapad oversteken, maar ook voor hen is er meer dan genoeg pret. 

Didier BECU
12/07/2015


12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS 12/07/2015 : BRIAN LYNCH - MINIONS

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS