tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BRUTA NON CALCULANT - Instinct

BRUTA NON CALCULANT

Instinct

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[83/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The band with the strange name Bruta Non Calculant (once you pronounced it, you never forget it) is an act that is popular by minimal fans who love industrial. With the combination of these two (very compatible) styles, Alaxis Andreas G. and V.Y. have made albums for Cilitrax (the parent label of Minimal Wave) and Treue Um Treue (that released Echo West oce). The third LP has found a home at Dark Vinyl Records, the legendary German industrial label that has released material by Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge and Maschinenzimmer 412.

The horrific cover shows farmers killing a pig. An almost typical picture for extremely heavy industrial. Even though you hear those influences, Bruta Non Calculant is different. The record begins with Bagatelle. It starts as a light piece of music, but through the electronic minimal music danger creeps in, the synthesizers are wailing sirens that warn us of what is to come.

Instinct is indeed an album that focuses on your feelings. You won’t be happier afterwards, jbut glad that you have discovered this musical beauty. The vocals sound querulous, and the idea arises that You Are With Me would fit fine on No Songs Tomorrow by UV Pop. This time, the synthesizer has the function of a church organ that provides the soundtrack for a funeral. Secret Life is even heavier.

On the instrumental title track Instinct you hear electronic beeps. They are nervous, almost insane beats of a fairground attraction with loose seats, a trip to hell.

Blood To The Ground could well be the titel of a Fad Gadget song. Funny, but the music sounds like it too. There’s no lack of variety on this CD, the live recording of The Wolf's Name even sounds like neofolk.

A great release of a band you definitely should discover! Bruta Non Calculant!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De band met de merkwaardige naam Bruta Non Calculant (eens uitgesproken, vergeet je hem nooit meer) is een act die de laatste jaren meer en meer in de smaak valt bij minimal liefhebbers die tevens pap lusten van industrial. Met die combinatie van deze (best verenigbare) stijlen zijn Alaxis Andreas G. en V.Y. aan de slag gegaan en hebben ze releases uitgebracht op Cilitrax (het zusterlabel van Minimal Wave) en Treue Um Treue (van o.a. Echo West). De derde lp vond een thuishaven op Dark Vinyl Records, het legendarische Duitse induslabel dat eerder al materiaal van Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge en Maschinenzimmer 412 op de markt bracht.

De hoes toont op afgrijselijke wijze hoe boeren een varken doden. Een bijna typische afbeelding voor loeiharde industrial. Ook al hoor je die invloeden, toch is Bruta Non Calculant anders. De plaat begint zelfs rustig met Bagatelle. Een licht muziekstukje is het echter niet, langzaam aan hoor je immers door het elektronische minimal geluid het gevaar naderbijkomen, de synthesizers klinken als loeiende sirenes die ons waarschuwen voor wat volgt.

Instinct is immers een plaat die het op je gevoel heeft gemunt. Vrolijker word je er geenszins van, alleen ben je blij dat je deze muzikale schoonheid toch hebt ontdekt. De zang klinkt klagerig en meteen dringt zich de idee op dat You Are With Me niet zou misstaan op No Songs Tomorrow van UV Pop. De synthesizer heeft deze keer de functie van een kerkorgel dat een begrafenis van een soundtrack voorziet. Secret Life is zelfs nog een tikkeltje zwaarder.

Op de instrumentale titeltrack Instinct hoor je wat meer elektronische beeps. Het zijn nerveuze, bijna krankzinnige beats die op een kermisattractie thuishoren waarvan de moeren van de zitjes zijn losgeraakt, een rit naar de hel.

Bij een track als Blood To The Ground denk je bijna onmiddellijk aan Fad Gadget en het grappige is dat de muziek ook zo klinkt. Aan variatie geen gebrek dus op deze cd en het live opgenomen The Wolf’s Name is zelfs bijna neofolk.

Een zeer knappe release van een band die je zeker dient te ontdekken! Bruta Non Calculant dus!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
MAD MASKS • Mad Masks
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked