tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BRUTA NON CALCULANT - Instinct

BRUTA NON CALCULANT

Instinct

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[83/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The band with the strange name Bruta Non Calculant (once you pronounced it, you never forget it) is an act that is popular by minimal fans who love industrial. With the combination of these two (very compatible) styles, Alaxis Andreas G. and V.Y. have made albums for Cilitrax (the parent label of Minimal Wave) and Treue Um Treue (that released Echo West oce). The third LP has found a home at Dark Vinyl Records, the legendary German industrial label that has released material by Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge and Maschinenzimmer 412.

The horrific cover shows farmers killing a pig. An almost typical picture for extremely heavy industrial. Even though you hear those influences, Bruta Non Calculant is different. The record begins with Bagatelle. It starts as a light piece of music, but through the electronic minimal music danger creeps in, the synthesizers are wailing sirens that warn us of what is to come.

Instinct is indeed an album that focuses on your feelings. You won’t be happier afterwards, jbut glad that you have discovered this musical beauty. The vocals sound querulous, and the idea arises that You Are With Me would fit fine on No Songs Tomorrow by UV Pop. This time, the synthesizer has the function of a church organ that provides the soundtrack for a funeral. Secret Life is even heavier.

On the instrumental title track Instinct you hear electronic beeps. They are nervous, almost insane beats of a fairground attraction with loose seats, a trip to hell.

Blood To The Ground could well be the titel of a Fad Gadget song. Funny, but the music sounds like it too. There’s no lack of variety on this CD, the live recording of The Wolf's Name even sounds like neofolk.

A great release of a band you definitely should discover! Bruta Non Calculant!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De band met de merkwaardige naam Bruta Non Calculant (eens uitgesproken, vergeet je hem nooit meer) is een act die de laatste jaren meer en meer in de smaak valt bij minimal liefhebbers die tevens pap lusten van industrial. Met die combinatie van deze (best verenigbare) stijlen zijn Alaxis Andreas G. en V.Y. aan de slag gegaan en hebben ze releases uitgebracht op Cilitrax (het zusterlabel van Minimal Wave) en Treue Um Treue (van o.a. Echo West). De derde lp vond een thuishaven op Dark Vinyl Records, het legendarische Duitse induslabel dat eerder al materiaal van Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge en Maschinenzimmer 412 op de markt bracht.

De hoes toont op afgrijselijke wijze hoe boeren een varken doden. Een bijna typische afbeelding voor loeiharde industrial. Ook al hoor je die invloeden, toch is Bruta Non Calculant anders. De plaat begint zelfs rustig met Bagatelle. Een licht muziekstukje is het echter niet, langzaam aan hoor je immers door het elektronische minimal geluid het gevaar naderbijkomen, de synthesizers klinken als loeiende sirenes die ons waarschuwen voor wat volgt.

Instinct is immers een plaat die het op je gevoel heeft gemunt. Vrolijker word je er geenszins van, alleen ben je blij dat je deze muzikale schoonheid toch hebt ontdekt. De zang klinkt klagerig en meteen dringt zich de idee op dat You Are With Me niet zou misstaan op No Songs Tomorrow van UV Pop. De synthesizer heeft deze keer de functie van een kerkorgel dat een begrafenis van een soundtrack voorziet. Secret Life is zelfs nog een tikkeltje zwaarder.

Op de instrumentale titeltrack Instinct hoor je wat meer elektronische beeps. Het zijn nerveuze, bijna krankzinnige beats die op een kermisattractie thuishoren waarvan de moeren van de zitjes zijn losgeraakt, een rit naar de hel.

Bij een track als Blood To The Ground denk je bijna onmiddellijk aan Fad Gadget en het grappige is dat de muziek ook zo klinkt. Aan variatie geen gebrek dus op deze cd en het live opgenomen The Wolf’s Name is zelfs bijna neofolk.

Een zeer knappe release van een band die je zeker dient te ontdekken! Bruta Non Calculant dus!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)