tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BRUTA NON CALCULANT - Instinct

BRUTA NON CALCULANT

Instinct

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[83/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The band with the strange name Bruta Non Calculant (once you pronounced it, you never forget it) is an act that is popular by minimal fans who love industrial. With the combination of these two (very compatible) styles, Alaxis Andreas G. and V.Y. have made albums for Cilitrax (the parent label of Minimal Wave) and Treue Um Treue (that released Echo West oce). The third LP has found a home at Dark Vinyl Records, the legendary German industrial label that has released material by Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge and Maschinenzimmer 412.

The horrific cover shows farmers killing a pig. An almost typical picture for extremely heavy industrial. Even though you hear those influences, Bruta Non Calculant is different. The record begins with Bagatelle. It starts as a light piece of music, but through the electronic minimal music danger creeps in, the synthesizers are wailing sirens that warn us of what is to come.

Instinct is indeed an album that focuses on your feelings. You won’t be happier afterwards, jbut glad that you have discovered this musical beauty. The vocals sound querulous, and the idea arises that You Are With Me would fit fine on No Songs Tomorrow by UV Pop. This time, the synthesizer has the function of a church organ that provides the soundtrack for a funeral. Secret Life is even heavier.

On the instrumental title track Instinct you hear electronic beeps. They are nervous, almost insane beats of a fairground attraction with loose seats, a trip to hell.

Blood To The Ground could well be the titel of a Fad Gadget song. Funny, but the music sounds like it too. There’s no lack of variety on this CD, the live recording of The Wolf's Name even sounds like neofolk.

A great release of a band you definitely should discover! Bruta Non Calculant!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De band met de merkwaardige naam Bruta Non Calculant (eens uitgesproken, vergeet je hem nooit meer) is een act die de laatste jaren meer en meer in de smaak valt bij minimal liefhebbers die tevens pap lusten van industrial. Met die combinatie van deze (best verenigbare) stijlen zijn Alaxis Andreas G. en V.Y. aan de slag gegaan en hebben ze releases uitgebracht op Cilitrax (het zusterlabel van Minimal Wave) en Treue Um Treue (van o.a. Echo West). De derde lp vond een thuishaven op Dark Vinyl Records, het legendarische Duitse induslabel dat eerder al materiaal van Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge en Maschinenzimmer 412 op de markt bracht.

De hoes toont op afgrijselijke wijze hoe boeren een varken doden. Een bijna typische afbeelding voor loeiharde industrial. Ook al hoor je die invloeden, toch is Bruta Non Calculant anders. De plaat begint zelfs rustig met Bagatelle. Een licht muziekstukje is het echter niet, langzaam aan hoor je immers door het elektronische minimal geluid het gevaar naderbijkomen, de synthesizers klinken als loeiende sirenes die ons waarschuwen voor wat volgt.

Instinct is immers een plaat die het op je gevoel heeft gemunt. Vrolijker word je er geenszins van, alleen ben je blij dat je deze muzikale schoonheid toch hebt ontdekt. De zang klinkt klagerig en meteen dringt zich de idee op dat You Are With Me niet zou misstaan op No Songs Tomorrow van UV Pop. De synthesizer heeft deze keer de functie van een kerkorgel dat een begrafenis van een soundtrack voorziet. Secret Life is zelfs nog een tikkeltje zwaarder.

Op de instrumentale titeltrack Instinct hoor je wat meer elektronische beeps. Het zijn nerveuze, bijna krankzinnige beats die op een kermisattractie thuishoren waarvan de moeren van de zitjes zijn losgeraakt, een rit naar de hel.

Bij een track als Blood To The Ground denk je bijna onmiddellijk aan Fad Gadget en het grappige is dat de muziek ook zo klinkt. Aan variatie geen gebrek dus op deze cd en het live opgenomen The Wolf’s Name is zelfs bijna neofolk.

Een zeer knappe release van een band die je zeker dient te ontdekken! Bruta Non Calculant dus!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell