tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BRUTA NON CALCULANT - Instinct

BRUTA NON CALCULANT

Instinct

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[83/100]   

Dark Vinyl Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The band with the strange name Bruta Non Calculant (once you pronounced it, you never forget it) is an act that is popular by minimal fans who love industrial. With the combination of these two (very compatible) styles, Alaxis Andreas G. and V.Y. have made albums for Cilitrax (the parent label of Minimal Wave) and Treue Um Treue (that released Echo West oce). The third LP has found a home at Dark Vinyl Records, the legendary German industrial label that has released material by Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge and Maschinenzimmer 412.

The horrific cover shows farmers killing a pig. An almost typical picture for extremely heavy industrial. Even though you hear those influences, Bruta Non Calculant is different. The record begins with Bagatelle. It starts as a light piece of music, but through the electronic minimal music danger creeps in, the synthesizers are wailing sirens that warn us of what is to come.

Instinct is indeed an album that focuses on your feelings. You won’t be happier afterwards, jbut glad that you have discovered this musical beauty. The vocals sound querulous, and the idea arises that You Are With Me would fit fine on No Songs Tomorrow by UV Pop. This time, the synthesizer has the function of a church organ that provides the soundtrack for a funeral. Secret Life is even heavier.

On the instrumental title track Instinct you hear electronic beeps. They are nervous, almost insane beats of a fairground attraction with loose seats, a trip to hell.

Blood To The Ground could well be the titel of a Fad Gadget song. Funny, but the music sounds like it too. There’s no lack of variety on this CD, the live recording of The Wolf's Name even sounds like neofolk.

A great release of a band you definitely should discover! Bruta Non Calculant!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De band met de merkwaardige naam Bruta Non Calculant (eens uitgesproken, vergeet je hem nooit meer) is een act die de laatste jaren meer en meer in de smaak valt bij minimal liefhebbers die tevens pap lusten van industrial. Met die combinatie van deze (best verenigbare) stijlen zijn Alaxis Andreas G. en V.Y. aan de slag gegaan en hebben ze releases uitgebracht op Cilitrax (het zusterlabel van Minimal Wave) en Treue Um Treue (van o.a. Echo West). De derde lp vond een thuishaven op Dark Vinyl Records, het legendarische Duitse induslabel dat eerder al materiaal van Controlled Bleeding, Nocturnal Emissions, Hunting Lodge en Maschinenzimmer 412 op de markt bracht.

De hoes toont op afgrijselijke wijze hoe boeren een varken doden. Een bijna typische afbeelding voor loeiharde industrial. Ook al hoor je die invloeden, toch is Bruta Non Calculant anders. De plaat begint zelfs rustig met Bagatelle. Een licht muziekstukje is het echter niet, langzaam aan hoor je immers door het elektronische minimal geluid het gevaar naderbijkomen, de synthesizers klinken als loeiende sirenes die ons waarschuwen voor wat volgt.

Instinct is immers een plaat die het op je gevoel heeft gemunt. Vrolijker word je er geenszins van, alleen ben je blij dat je deze muzikale schoonheid toch hebt ontdekt. De zang klinkt klagerig en meteen dringt zich de idee op dat You Are With Me niet zou misstaan op No Songs Tomorrow van UV Pop. De synthesizer heeft deze keer de functie van een kerkorgel dat een begrafenis van een soundtrack voorziet. Secret Life is zelfs nog een tikkeltje zwaarder.

Op de instrumentale titeltrack Instinct hoor je wat meer elektronische beeps. Het zijn nerveuze, bijna krankzinnige beats die op een kermisattractie thuishoren waarvan de moeren van de zitjes zijn losgeraakt, een rit naar de hel.

Bij een track als Blood To The Ground denk je bijna onmiddellijk aan Fad Gadget en het grappige is dat de muziek ook zo klinkt. Aan variatie geen gebrek dus op deze cd en het live opgenomen The Wolf’s Name is zelfs bijna neofolk.

Een zeer knappe release van een band die je zeker dient te ontdekken! Bruta Non Calculant dus!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
MAD MASKS • Mad Masks
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love