tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/09/2014 : CABARET VOLTAIRE - #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

CABARET VOLTAIRE

#7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsIndustrialPost PunkUnclassifiable
Mute
19/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Previous compilations and reissues of the Sheffield outfit's most prolific and acclaimed era have so far failed to tell the whole story. The Living Legends, Conform to Deform and Sound of Sheffield collections either concentrated on Chris Watson, Stephen Mallinder and Richard H. Kirk's edgy early material or the jagged metal-funk period on Some Bizarre/Virgin when the band were a duo on a mission (Watson had long since left to pursue sound-recording for David Attenborough, among others).

 

Blessed with as descriptive a title as you could wish to employ, Cabaret Voltaire's key epoch is finally revisited in combined form. #7885 isn't definitive by any means, nor does it concentrate on extended mixes or anything later than 1985 - so forget getting any of the Plasticity material, or the R&S/Apollo output which went largely un-noticed in the mid '90s. You also don't get Yashar, Sluggin' Fer Jesus, Gut Level or any other Factory/Crepuscule imprinted tracks that sit within the timescales of the album's title - this is all about Rough Trade and Some Bizarre. And Mute who now handle their catalogue.

 

Comprised of 19 tracks hand-picked by Kirk, #7885 features a first-half drawn from the earlier singles such as the skank-tastic Silent Command, the sinister click-track of Seconds Too Late and the still-disturbing Nag Nag Nag, a remarkable track that sounds like Stevie Wonder's Uptight being bawled through a megaphone in a hurricane. The second-half stars Sensoria, I Want You and similar landmark singles that propelled CV onto late-night radio and student-disco playlists, mostly presented in edited form. Collectors might be sweetened by the inclusion of 7" cuts of Kino and Big Funk, both usually presented as eight-minute monsters from the Drinking Gasoline project.

 

Of interest to curious onlookers are the inclusions of Red Mecca's Landslide, 2 x 45's Breathe Deep and both sides of the Crackdown/Just Fascination single. Here lie three pivotal points in Cabaret Voltaire's musical development, the creative adhesion that glues the old and the new together. It's a subtle transition. Landslide is a piercing metallic shuffle that lasts just over two minutes yet demonstrates how Kirk and Mallinder never compromised, even when it felt that they might have been tempted. Yes, there's a straightforward 4/4 rhythm. No, we won't make it approachable, we'll crank up the treble and drive you mad. Round holes, square pegs and triangular rhythms - this was the Cabaret Voltaire norm. The rough with the smooth.

 

Breathe Deep takes this ethos further by employing atonal brass stabs throughout the mix but also inserting some spine-tingling bass and shoe-shuffle drums fit for the purpose of, shock, dancing while Crackdown is immeasurably brilliant and a majestic intro to the pair's major-label term (which returned just one hit album). Not one of their stunning singles breached the Top 75 (James Brown, I Want You, Sensoria. SENSORIA, ffs), a bewildering fact made all the more incredible when you remember that their later (and less ground-breaking) industrial-house releases on Parlophone did chart. Hey ho, the power of marketing perhaps.

 

Overall with #7885, Mute have successfully joined two portions of the Cabs illustrious and influential career by assembling nineteen bite-sized career highlights, albeit with a couple of glaring omissions.

 

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

 

Paul PLEDGER
19/09/2014


 

Next reviews
CHANTAL ACDA • Live in Dresden
• DOWNTOWN ABBEY SEASON 4
LOVELORN DOLLS • Japanese Robot Invasion
AHARON KESHALES & NAVOT PAUSHADO • Big Bad Wolves
BOB MOULD • Beauty And Ruin
• THICKER THAN WATER
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
RAYA MARTIN • Independencia
LONE • Reality Testing
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail

 

Other reviews from CABARET VOLTAIRE
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)