tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

14/06/2019 : CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES - Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES

Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

MusicDigital
EBMElectro

[100/100]   

Self-released
14/06/2019, Kevin BURKE

Just when you think the revolutionary spirit of protest is not reaching the section of the music world, the Huddersfield-based Cabinet of Millionaires release a third volume in their spit back at the state of British politics. The ‘Theresa, Vol. 3’ ep is the right call to arms at the right time. As a nation is split similarly, if not worse, than it was in 1977, when the eruption of punk gave the working classes a voice. There is an anthem of revolt found in the five tracks across this enjoyable execution of sound.

Leeds-based award-winning DJ/producer Mark EG and American piano composer and synth addict Chad Stegall kick proceedings off with a stylish display. Vocalist-supreme Pat Fulgoni is on hand to drive forth the intense emotion of every syllable. The assassination of austerity continues over the five tracks as each compliments perfectly the one preceding it.

The deep, soulful sound of Fulgoni is interwoven within the addictive beats. Renowned producer Steve Whitfield (The Cure, The Mission) delivers an in your-face version, though highly enjoyable and reminiscent in style of Giorgio Moroder.

The lyrics (included below) highlights the displeasure and disgust at outgoing British Prime Minister Theresa May. Dropping the names of Grenfell Towers, a disaster denied by the government and the NHS (health service) which is suffering an austerity of epic proportions.

As protest music goes, this is a release which is extremely good, yes, there is a message but the delivery is in a class all of its own. The remix by Zion Train, (a personal favorite) has a sublime, haunting beauty lacking in some of today’s attempts at the same direct attack. As the United Kingdom moves further into the arena of uncertainty, more music such as this is needed to stir reaction and hold the voices of a people often ignored.

Of course, hopefully Cabinet Of Millionaires (the name itself a strike at Downing Street) nail Brexit down and the division it has caused. For those who don’t know much about it, and have seen the Netflix Fyre documentary, that is exactly what Brexit is. A party, where people were told it was going to be an euphoric event, only to arrive to the realization that they were lied to, and so it turns into a dog eat dog scenario.

Bandcamp:

https://cabinetofmillionaires.bandcamp.com/album/theresa-vol-3

Facebook:

https://m.facebook.com/CabinetOfMillionaires/

Released through Chocolate Fireguard Records

Track List;

1. Theresa (USUK - Mark EG / Chad Stegall Remix)

2. Theresa (Zion Train Remix)

3. Theresa (Original Version)

4. Theresa (Steve Whitfield Remix)

5. Theresa (USUK - Mark EG / Chad Stegall Remix) instrumental

LYRICS:

Theresa, Theresa Maybe, Theresa, I hear you pray

so tell me why you're squeezing on the poor

selling arms for illegal wars

give your austerity a rest, come on now save our NHS

talking about the homeless

things are looking desperate

Oh Theresa, Theresa May

Lord, Theresa I hear you pray I hear you pray

come on you're squeezing on the poor

selling arms for illegal wars

give your austerity a rest

save our NHS

i'm thinking about those Grenfell babies

I'm thinking about this Windrush generation

i'm thinking about your failure to take your full quota of Syrian refugees

I could go on

just thinking about Theresa

Kevin BURKE
14/06/2019


 

Next reviews
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
VUKOVAR • Cremator
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
L7 • Scatter The Rats
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)

 

Same genre: EBM
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
KNK • Dead Body Music III

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart