tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : CANDLEBAGS - Albert

CANDLEBAGS

Albert

MusicDigital
New wave

[75/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Earlier this summer we received the new single from the Limburg duo Candlebags (Inge and Dirk Henrotay). Because of our holidays and impossible deadlines, we did not manage to write the review. But better late than never, as Albert - the title of the new song – is the good sounding successor to the EP Love Kills, which we discussed in these pages in April (2015).

Candlebags picks up where the EP Love Kills ended, making Albert a fast and frenetic new wave track with Inge behind the microphone and Dirk on punky and later loud guitars. We think of Savages and Siouxsie and the Banshees, and Inge Henrotay again sounds deliciously dangerous on this new composition. Moreover, the track features multiple layers, because not only do we hear more variety in terms of guitar sound (compared to eg. Left Out on the EP), on the vocal level Candlebags goes a lot further too, leading to a marvelous and chaotic final with a wide spatial effect.

Never change a winning team and that is what Inge and Dirk Henrotay do on the single Albert: they continue their quest and explore the boundaries. Go see them on September 30, 2016 in Genk (George and the Bear)!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Eerder deze zomer ontvingen we de nieuwe single van het Limburgse duo Candlebags (Inge en Dirk Henrotay). Wegens vakantieplannen en onmogelijk deadlines slaagden we er niet in om de recensie te schrijven. Dat zetten we nu recht: Albert – zo heet de single - is de goed klinkende opvolger van de ep Love Kills, die we eerder op deze pagina’s recenseerden.

CandleBags gaat door waar het met Love Kills eindigde en dus is Albert opnieuw een snelle en jachtige new wave-track met Inge achter de microfoon en Dirk druk in de weer met punkachtig en later luide gitaren. We denken aan Savages en aan Siouxsie and the Banshees, en Inge Henrotay klinkt op deze nieuwe compositie opnieuw heerlijk gevaarlijk. Bovendien is de track voorzien van meerder lagen, want niet alleen is er sprake van meer variatie qua gitaargeluid (in vergelijking met bijv. Left Out op de ep), ook op het niveau van de vocalen gaat Candlebags een stuk verder, wat vooral op het einde van Albert tot een lekkere chaos leidt met een brede ruimtelijke werking.

Never change a winning team en dat is wat Inge en Dirk Henrotay doen in Albert: wat goed is verder ontwikkelen en de grenzen aftasten. Ga ze zien, het kan nog op 30 september 2016 in het Limburgse Genk bij George and the Bear!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death