tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : CANDLEBAGS - Albert

CANDLEBAGS

Albert

MusicDigital
New wave

[75/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Earlier this summer we received the new single from the Limburg duo Candlebags (Inge and Dirk Henrotay). Because of our holidays and impossible deadlines, we did not manage to write the review. But better late than never, as Albert - the title of the new song – is the good sounding successor to the EP Love Kills, which we discussed in these pages in April (2015).

Candlebags picks up where the EP Love Kills ended, making Albert a fast and frenetic new wave track with Inge behind the microphone and Dirk on punky and later loud guitars. We think of Savages and Siouxsie and the Banshees, and Inge Henrotay again sounds deliciously dangerous on this new composition. Moreover, the track features multiple layers, because not only do we hear more variety in terms of guitar sound (compared to eg. Left Out on the EP), on the vocal level Candlebags goes a lot further too, leading to a marvelous and chaotic final with a wide spatial effect.

Never change a winning team and that is what Inge and Dirk Henrotay do on the single Albert: they continue their quest and explore the boundaries. Go see them on September 30, 2016 in Genk (George and the Bear)!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Eerder deze zomer ontvingen we de nieuwe single van het Limburgse duo Candlebags (Inge en Dirk Henrotay). Wegens vakantieplannen en onmogelijk deadlines slaagden we er niet in om de recensie te schrijven. Dat zetten we nu recht: Albert – zo heet de single - is de goed klinkende opvolger van de ep Love Kills, die we eerder op deze pagina’s recenseerden.

CandleBags gaat door waar het met Love Kills eindigde en dus is Albert opnieuw een snelle en jachtige new wave-track met Inge achter de microfoon en Dirk druk in de weer met punkachtig en later luide gitaren. We denken aan Savages en aan Siouxsie and the Banshees, en Inge Henrotay klinkt op deze nieuwe compositie opnieuw heerlijk gevaarlijk. Bovendien is de track voorzien van meerder lagen, want niet alleen is er sprake van meer variatie qua gitaargeluid (in vergelijking met bijv. Left Out op de ep), ook op het niveau van de vocalen gaat Candlebags een stuk verder, wat vooral op het einde van Albert tot een lekkere chaos leidt met een brede ruimtelijke werking.

Never change a winning team en dat is wat Inge en Dirk Henrotay doen in Albert: wat goed is verder ontwikkelen en de grenzen aftasten. Ga ze zien, het kan nog op 30 september 2016 in het Limburgse Genk bij George and the Bear!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky