tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : CANDLEBAGS - Albert

CANDLEBAGS

Albert

MusicDigital
New wave

[75/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Earlier this summer we received the new single from the Limburg duo Candlebags (Inge and Dirk Henrotay). Because of our holidays and impossible deadlines, we did not manage to write the review. But better late than never, as Albert - the title of the new song – is the good sounding successor to the EP Love Kills, which we discussed in these pages in April (2015).

Candlebags picks up where the EP Love Kills ended, making Albert a fast and frenetic new wave track with Inge behind the microphone and Dirk on punky and later loud guitars. We think of Savages and Siouxsie and the Banshees, and Inge Henrotay again sounds deliciously dangerous on this new composition. Moreover, the track features multiple layers, because not only do we hear more variety in terms of guitar sound (compared to eg. Left Out on the EP), on the vocal level Candlebags goes a lot further too, leading to a marvelous and chaotic final with a wide spatial effect.

Never change a winning team and that is what Inge and Dirk Henrotay do on the single Albert: they continue their quest and explore the boundaries. Go see them on September 30, 2016 in Genk (George and the Bear)!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Eerder deze zomer ontvingen we de nieuwe single van het Limburgse duo Candlebags (Inge en Dirk Henrotay). Wegens vakantieplannen en onmogelijk deadlines slaagden we er niet in om de recensie te schrijven. Dat zetten we nu recht: Albert – zo heet de single - is de goed klinkende opvolger van de ep Love Kills, die we eerder op deze pagina’s recenseerden.

CandleBags gaat door waar het met Love Kills eindigde en dus is Albert opnieuw een snelle en jachtige new wave-track met Inge achter de microfoon en Dirk druk in de weer met punkachtig en later luide gitaren. We denken aan Savages en aan Siouxsie and the Banshees, en Inge Henrotay klinkt op deze nieuwe compositie opnieuw heerlijk gevaarlijk. Bovendien is de track voorzien van meerder lagen, want niet alleen is er sprake van meer variatie qua gitaargeluid (in vergelijking met bijv. Left Out op de ep), ook op het niveau van de vocalen gaat Candlebags een stuk verder, wat vooral op het einde van Albert tot een lekkere chaos leidt met een brede ruimtelijke werking.

Never change a winning team en dat is wat Inge en Dirk Henrotay doen in Albert: wat goed is verder ontwikkelen en de grenzen aftasten. Ga ze zien, het kan nog op 30 september 2016 in het Limburgse Genk bij George and the Bear!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat