tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : CANDLEBAGS - Albert

CANDLEBAGS

Albert

MusicDigital
New wave

[75/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Earlier this summer we received the new single from the Limburg duo Candlebags (Inge and Dirk Henrotay). Because of our holidays and impossible deadlines, we did not manage to write the review. But better late than never, as Albert - the title of the new song – is the good sounding successor to the EP Love Kills, which we discussed in these pages in April (2015).

Candlebags picks up where the EP Love Kills ended, making Albert a fast and frenetic new wave track with Inge behind the microphone and Dirk on punky and later loud guitars. We think of Savages and Siouxsie and the Banshees, and Inge Henrotay again sounds deliciously dangerous on this new composition. Moreover, the track features multiple layers, because not only do we hear more variety in terms of guitar sound (compared to eg. Left Out on the EP), on the vocal level Candlebags goes a lot further too, leading to a marvelous and chaotic final with a wide spatial effect.

Never change a winning team and that is what Inge and Dirk Henrotay do on the single Albert: they continue their quest and explore the boundaries. Go see them on September 30, 2016 in Genk (George and the Bear)!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Eerder deze zomer ontvingen we de nieuwe single van het Limburgse duo Candlebags (Inge en Dirk Henrotay). Wegens vakantieplannen en onmogelijk deadlines slaagden we er niet in om de recensie te schrijven. Dat zetten we nu recht: Albert – zo heet de single - is de goed klinkende opvolger van de ep Love Kills, die we eerder op deze pagina’s recenseerden.

CandleBags gaat door waar het met Love Kills eindigde en dus is Albert opnieuw een snelle en jachtige new wave-track met Inge achter de microfoon en Dirk druk in de weer met punkachtig en later luide gitaren. We denken aan Savages en aan Siouxsie and the Banshees, en Inge Henrotay klinkt op deze nieuwe compositie opnieuw heerlijk gevaarlijk. Bovendien is de track voorzien van meerder lagen, want niet alleen is er sprake van meer variatie qua gitaargeluid (in vergelijking met bijv. Left Out op de ep), ook op het niveau van de vocalen gaat Candlebags een stuk verder, wat vooral op het einde van Albert tot een lekkere chaos leidt met een brede ruimtelijke werking.

Never change a winning team en dat is wat Inge en Dirk Henrotay doen in Albert: wat goed is verder ontwikkelen en de grenzen aftasten. Ga ze zien, het kan nog op 30 september 2016 in het Limburgse Genk bij George and the Bear!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete