tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : CANDLEBAGS - Albert

CANDLEBAGS

Albert

MusicDigital
New wave

[75/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Earlier this summer we received the new single from the Limburg duo Candlebags (Inge and Dirk Henrotay). Because of our holidays and impossible deadlines, we did not manage to write the review. But better late than never, as Albert - the title of the new song – is the good sounding successor to the EP Love Kills, which we discussed in these pages in April (2015).

Candlebags picks up where the EP Love Kills ended, making Albert a fast and frenetic new wave track with Inge behind the microphone and Dirk on punky and later loud guitars. We think of Savages and Siouxsie and the Banshees, and Inge Henrotay again sounds deliciously dangerous on this new composition. Moreover, the track features multiple layers, because not only do we hear more variety in terms of guitar sound (compared to eg. Left Out on the EP), on the vocal level Candlebags goes a lot further too, leading to a marvelous and chaotic final with a wide spatial effect.

Never change a winning team and that is what Inge and Dirk Henrotay do on the single Albert: they continue their quest and explore the boundaries. Go see them on September 30, 2016 in Genk (George and the Bear)!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Eerder deze zomer ontvingen we de nieuwe single van het Limburgse duo Candlebags (Inge en Dirk Henrotay). Wegens vakantieplannen en onmogelijk deadlines slaagden we er niet in om de recensie te schrijven. Dat zetten we nu recht: Albert – zo heet de single - is de goed klinkende opvolger van de ep Love Kills, die we eerder op deze pagina’s recenseerden.

CandleBags gaat door waar het met Love Kills eindigde en dus is Albert opnieuw een snelle en jachtige new wave-track met Inge achter de microfoon en Dirk druk in de weer met punkachtig en later luide gitaren. We denken aan Savages en aan Siouxsie and the Banshees, en Inge Henrotay klinkt op deze nieuwe compositie opnieuw heerlijk gevaarlijk. Bovendien is de track voorzien van meerder lagen, want niet alleen is er sprake van meer variatie qua gitaargeluid (in vergelijking met bijv. Left Out op de ep), ook op het niveau van de vocalen gaat Candlebags een stuk verder, wat vooral op het einde van Albert tot een lekkere chaos leidt met een brede ruimtelijke werking.

Never change a winning team en dat is wat Inge en Dirk Henrotay doen in Albert: wat goed is verder ontwikkelen en de grenzen aftasten. Ga ze zien, het kan nog op 30 september 2016 in het Limburgse Genk bij George and the Bear!

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap