tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CARLO DE FILIPPO - Di Indomito Incanto

CARLO DE FILIPPO

Di Indomito Incanto

MusicCD
AmbientElectronicsNeoclassicalRomantic

[40/100]   

Skull Line
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Italian pianists do well in the music market. This time we present the debut album of Carlo De Filippo. It's called Di Indomito Incanto (The Indomitable Enchantment) and it contains 13 neoclassical tracks, although we prefer to use the term modern classical or contemporary classical for the work of contemporary pianists/composers.

Since the international breakthrough of Ludovico Einaudi and Max Richter, there has been a veritable explosion of contemporary piano music. Record companies all want a young and promising pianist on their label to make money. In the absence of opportunities, some artists try it on their own, but Carlo De Filippo has found shelter with the German record label Skull Line. He was once a member of a gothic metal project, later he was involved in Oniric, a duo that released two albums (Cabaret Syndrome in 2009, and Mannequins in 2013). Now he has his own solo project.

The album starts with the track Del Perduto Eco and it is unfortunate that we have to write that the added electronics spoil the fun, because the beautiful harpsichord sound and what sounds like the sound of a toy piano are buried under a thick slurry of Schmaltz which completely destroys the good intentions. D'Impetuosa Mescolanza begins as a beautiful neoclassical piano track, but again the composition is drowned in thick synth gusts, dripping with sentimentality. Title track Di Indomito Incanto remains strong until halfway, but gets the same gaudy treatment with cheap percussion and sweaty synths. Music for lovers of Rondo Veneziano and associates...

The rest of the material follows exactly the same pattern: neoclassical to halfway and then cheap mediocrity. Very sad, Carlo, but the production of this album is a total fiasco.

Tracklist:
1. Del Perduto Eco
2. Estatico Imbrunir
3. Di Indomito Incanto
4. D'Impetuosa Mescolanza
5. Interludio d'Arcano Moto
6. Di Quei Meriggi
7. Talune Nostalgie
8. Attimi, Imminenti
9. Attimi, Fuggevoli
10. Struggenza In Re Minore
11. Velo d'Oblio
12. Daffodils
13. Rugiada

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Italiaanse pianisten liggen goed in de markt. Dit keer stellen we u het debuutalbum van Carlo De Filippo voor. Het heet Di Indomito Incanto (De Ontembare Betovering) en het bevat 13 neoklassieke tracks, al gebruiken we liever de termen modern klassiek of hedendaags klassiek om het werk van de jonge generatie pianisten/componisten te omschrijven.

Sinds de internationale doorbraak van Ludovico Einaudi en Max Richter is er sprake van een ware explosie op het front van de eigentijdse pianomuziek. Platenfirma’s willen allemaal wel een jonge en veelbelovende pianist een kans bieden en daaraan geld verdienen. Bij gebrek aan kansen proberen sommige artiesten het op eigen houtje, Carlo De Filippo heeft onderdak gevonden bij het Duitse platenlabel SkullLine. Ooit was hij lid van een gothic metalproject, later was hij betrokken bij Oniric, een duo dat 2 albums uitbracht (Cabaret Syndrome in 2009 en Mannequins in 2013), nu probeert hij het alleen.

Het album begint met de track Del Perduto Eco en het is jammer dat we het moeten schrijven, maar de elektronica is er te veel aan, want het prachtige klavecimbelgeluid en wat klinkt als het geluid van een speelgoedpiano worden bedolven onder een dikke brij schmalz die de goede bedoelingen compleet tenietdoet. D'Impetuosa Mescolanza begint als een mooie neoklassieke pianotrack, maar opnieuw wordt de compositie verzopen in dikke synthvlagen, druipend van sentimentaliteit. Titeltrack Di Indomito Incanto houdt tot halfweg stand, maar krijgt dan dezelfde protserige behandeling met goedkoop slagwerk en zweterige synths. Muziek voor liefhebbers van Rondo Veneziano en consoorten…

De rest van het materiaal volgt precies hetzelfde schema: neoklassiek tot in de helft en dan goedkope middelmaat. Heel erg jammer, Carlo, maar de productie van dit album is een totaal fiasco.

Tracklist:
1. Del Perduto Eco
2. Estatico Imbrunir
3. Di Indomito Incanto
4. D'Impetuosa Mescolanza
5. Interludio d'Arcano Moto
6. Di Quei Meriggi
7. Talune Nostalgie
8. Attimi, Imminenti
9. Attimi, Fuggevoli
10. Struggenza In Re Minore
11. Velo d'Oblio
12. Daffodils
13. Rugiada

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CARLO DE FILIPPO - Di Indomito Incanto 11/12/2016 : CARLO DE FILIPPO - Di Indomito Incanto

 

Next reviews
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

 

Same genre: ROMANTIC
RISE • Resilience
GEORGE TILLMAN JR. • The Longest Ride
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE
CHRISTIAN DITTER • Love, Rosie
STUART MURDOCH • God Help The Girl
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
BOB DYLAN • Shadows in the Night
MICHAEL DOWSE • What If
WOODY ALLEN • Magic In The Moonlight
LISA AZULEOS • Une Recontre

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
12
Life On Mars?-Hunky Dory Is 47 Today!
16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
12
NORMA LOY
Baphomet
16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain