tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Graffiti

CASABLANCA

Miskatonic Graffiti

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

Despotz Records
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prog metal is a genre that is still growing. Regularly we receive at Peek-A-Boo some quality albums with a mix of various styles. Just listen for example to the last of Riverside or Vly. The same can be said about this Swedish band.

It is a concept album based on the Chutlulu mythology and the works of HP Lovecraft, an author who wrote a lot of strange science fiction and philosophical books. Not easy to explain, let alone to understand. The opener is a 10-minute epic with prog influences. A Black Sabbath guitar riff slowly gets the song going, while the clean vocals and the keys do the rest. After the long intro, we hear a prog metal song. A very impressive start.

The vocals are very good, and with plenty of variety. Don’t expect no growls or grunts on this album, but that's no problem, because the music doesn’t need that. Musically, the album stands as a house. Whether it's a quiet song or just rock: everything is of high quality. We get two long tracks and the rest of the songs is about four minutes each. Yes, you read it well: I love it. This is a strong recommendation for lovers of prog metal and prog rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

Progmetal is een genre dat nog steeds groeit. Geregeld waaien hier op de Peek-A-Booredactie kwalitatieve albums met een mix van diverse stijlen binnen. Luister bijvoorbeeld maar eens naar de laatste van Riverside of Vly. En dat kunnen we ook van deze Zweedse band zeggen.

Het is een conceptalbum dat gebaseerd is op de Chutlulu-mythologie en het werk van H.P. Lovecraft, een auteur die heel wat vreemde sciencefiction- en filosofische boeken schreef. Niet echt gemakkelijk om uit te leggen, laat staan om het te verstaan.

De opener is meteen een episch nummer van 10 minuten met prog-invloeden. Een Black Sabbath-gitaarriff trekt langzaam het nummer op gang, terwijl de cleane zang en de keys de rest doen. Na de lange intro versnelt het nummer wat, en krijgen we een progmetalsong. Een zeer indrukwekkende start.

De zang is erg goed, en met veel variatie. Je moet dus geen growls of grunts op dit album verwachten, maar dat is geen probleem, want de muziek vraagt dat niet echt. Muzikaal staat het album als een huis. Of het nu rustige, langzaam opgebouwde nummers zijn of gewoon snelle rockers; alles valt telkens mooi op zijn plaats en is van hoog niveau. We krijgen twee lange nummers en de rest duurt ongeveer telkens een viertal minuten. Ja, je kan het eigenlijk al tussen de lijnen lezen: ik ben er helemaal weg van. Voor liefhebbers van progmetal en progrock een sterke aanrader dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise