tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Graffiti

CASABLANCA

Miskatonic Graffiti

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

Despotz Records
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prog metal is a genre that is still growing. Regularly we receive at Peek-A-Boo some quality albums with a mix of various styles. Just listen for example to the last of Riverside or Vly. The same can be said about this Swedish band.

It is a concept album based on the Chutlulu mythology and the works of HP Lovecraft, an author who wrote a lot of strange science fiction and philosophical books. Not easy to explain, let alone to understand. The opener is a 10-minute epic with prog influences. A Black Sabbath guitar riff slowly gets the song going, while the clean vocals and the keys do the rest. After the long intro, we hear a prog metal song. A very impressive start.

The vocals are very good, and with plenty of variety. Don’t expect no growls or grunts on this album, but that's no problem, because the music doesn’t need that. Musically, the album stands as a house. Whether it's a quiet song or just rock: everything is of high quality. We get two long tracks and the rest of the songs is about four minutes each. Yes, you read it well: I love it. This is a strong recommendation for lovers of prog metal and prog rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

Progmetal is een genre dat nog steeds groeit. Geregeld waaien hier op de Peek-A-Booredactie kwalitatieve albums met een mix van diverse stijlen binnen. Luister bijvoorbeeld maar eens naar de laatste van Riverside of Vly. En dat kunnen we ook van deze Zweedse band zeggen.

Het is een conceptalbum dat gebaseerd is op de Chutlulu-mythologie en het werk van H.P. Lovecraft, een auteur die heel wat vreemde sciencefiction- en filosofische boeken schreef. Niet echt gemakkelijk om uit te leggen, laat staan om het te verstaan.

De opener is meteen een episch nummer van 10 minuten met prog-invloeden. Een Black Sabbath-gitaarriff trekt langzaam het nummer op gang, terwijl de cleane zang en de keys de rest doen. Na de lange intro versnelt het nummer wat, en krijgen we een progmetalsong. Een zeer indrukwekkende start.

De zang is erg goed, en met veel variatie. Je moet dus geen growls of grunts op dit album verwachten, maar dat is geen probleem, want de muziek vraagt dat niet echt. Muzikaal staat het album als een huis. Of het nu rustige, langzaam opgebouwde nummers zijn of gewoon snelle rockers; alles valt telkens mooi op zijn plaats en is van hoog niveau. We krijgen twee lange nummers en de rest duurt ongeveer telkens een viertal minuten. Ja, je kan het eigenlijk al tussen de lijnen lezen: ik ben er helemaal weg van. Voor liefhebbers van progmetal en progrock een sterke aanrader dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)