tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Graffiti

CASABLANCA

Miskatonic Graffiti

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

Despotz Records
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prog metal is a genre that is still growing. Regularly we receive at Peek-A-Boo some quality albums with a mix of various styles. Just listen for example to the last of Riverside or Vly. The same can be said about this Swedish band.

It is a concept album based on the Chutlulu mythology and the works of HP Lovecraft, an author who wrote a lot of strange science fiction and philosophical books. Not easy to explain, let alone to understand. The opener is a 10-minute epic with prog influences. A Black Sabbath guitar riff slowly gets the song going, while the clean vocals and the keys do the rest. After the long intro, we hear a prog metal song. A very impressive start.

The vocals are very good, and with plenty of variety. Don’t expect no growls or grunts on this album, but that's no problem, because the music doesn’t need that. Musically, the album stands as a house. Whether it's a quiet song or just rock: everything is of high quality. We get two long tracks and the rest of the songs is about four minutes each. Yes, you read it well: I love it. This is a strong recommendation for lovers of prog metal and prog rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

Progmetal is een genre dat nog steeds groeit. Geregeld waaien hier op de Peek-A-Booredactie kwalitatieve albums met een mix van diverse stijlen binnen. Luister bijvoorbeeld maar eens naar de laatste van Riverside of Vly. En dat kunnen we ook van deze Zweedse band zeggen.

Het is een conceptalbum dat gebaseerd is op de Chutlulu-mythologie en het werk van H.P. Lovecraft, een auteur die heel wat vreemde sciencefiction- en filosofische boeken schreef. Niet echt gemakkelijk om uit te leggen, laat staan om het te verstaan.

De opener is meteen een episch nummer van 10 minuten met prog-invloeden. Een Black Sabbath-gitaarriff trekt langzaam het nummer op gang, terwijl de cleane zang en de keys de rest doen. Na de lange intro versnelt het nummer wat, en krijgen we een progmetalsong. Een zeer indrukwekkende start.

De zang is erg goed, en met veel variatie. Je moet dus geen growls of grunts op dit album verwachten, maar dat is geen probleem, want de muziek vraagt dat niet echt. Muzikaal staat het album als een huis. Of het nu rustige, langzaam opgebouwde nummers zijn of gewoon snelle rockers; alles valt telkens mooi op zijn plaats en is van hoog niveau. We krijgen twee lange nummers en de rest duurt ongeveer telkens een viertal minuten. Ja, je kan het eigenlijk al tussen de lijnen lezen: ik ben er helemaal weg van. Voor liefhebbers van progmetal en progrock een sterke aanrader dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp