tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Graffiti

CASABLANCA

Miskatonic Graffiti

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[90/100]   

Despotz Records
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Prog metal is a genre that is still growing. Regularly we receive at Peek-A-Boo some quality albums with a mix of various styles. Just listen for example to the last of Riverside or Vly. The same can be said about this Swedish band.

It is a concept album based on the Chutlulu mythology and the works of HP Lovecraft, an author who wrote a lot of strange science fiction and philosophical books. Not easy to explain, let alone to understand. The opener is a 10-minute epic with prog influences. A Black Sabbath guitar riff slowly gets the song going, while the clean vocals and the keys do the rest. After the long intro, we hear a prog metal song. A very impressive start.

The vocals are very good, and with plenty of variety. Don’t expect no growls or grunts on this album, but that's no problem, because the music doesn’t need that. Musically, the album stands as a house. Whether it's a quiet song or just rock: everything is of high quality. We get two long tracks and the rest of the songs is about four minutes each. Yes, you read it well: I love it. This is a strong recommendation for lovers of prog metal and prog rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

Progmetal is een genre dat nog steeds groeit. Geregeld waaien hier op de Peek-A-Booredactie kwalitatieve albums met een mix van diverse stijlen binnen. Luister bijvoorbeeld maar eens naar de laatste van Riverside of Vly. En dat kunnen we ook van deze Zweedse band zeggen.

Het is een conceptalbum dat gebaseerd is op de Chutlulu-mythologie en het werk van H.P. Lovecraft, een auteur die heel wat vreemde sciencefiction- en filosofische boeken schreef. Niet echt gemakkelijk om uit te leggen, laat staan om het te verstaan.

De opener is meteen een episch nummer van 10 minuten met prog-invloeden. Een Black Sabbath-gitaarriff trekt langzaam het nummer op gang, terwijl de cleane zang en de keys de rest doen. Na de lange intro versnelt het nummer wat, en krijgen we een progmetalsong. Een zeer indrukwekkende start.

De zang is erg goed, en met veel variatie. Je moet dus geen growls of grunts op dit album verwachten, maar dat is geen probleem, want de muziek vraagt dat niet echt. Muzikaal staat het album als een huis. Of het nu rustige, langzaam opgebouwde nummers zijn of gewoon snelle rockers; alles valt telkens mooi op zijn plaats en is van hoog niveau. We krijgen twee lange nummers en de rest duurt ongeveer telkens een viertal minuten. Ja, je kan het eigenlijk al tussen de lijnen lezen: ik ben er helemaal weg van. Voor liefhebbers van progmetal en progrock een sterke aanrader dus!

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)