tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : CATAYA - Sukzession

CATAYA

Sukzession

MusicCD
AmbientPost RockPost-Metal

[88/100]   

Moment of Collapse Records
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This young band has its roots in Spain, Belgium and Germany. The instrumental music can be described as both post-metal and post-rock, plus some ambient and sludge elements.

On the debut album, we hear four songs with a total of 45 minutes of music. Each track starts with an ambient intro that is dominated by the keyboards. The highlight of the album surely is Ascend From The Depth, which lasts 13 minutes. After the atmospheric intro, the song is built up in a nice way with the drums. It all starts with a simple basic rhythm, complemented with some percussion. The spherical and idyllic guitar makes it all complete. Slowly we’re arriving at a climax, with in the middle of the song a different style that slightly can be described as sludge. A magisterial song!

What can we say about the other three songs? Cumbre En Niebla is also beautifully structured with a long intro. It's a melodic track with subtle guitar sounds. Sombre Sommeil is the single, an atmospheric piece that shows what Cataya has to offer. Tal Sperre has a more simple structure.

Sukzession is a strong debut and a must for fans of Toendra, Steak Number Eight or The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Cataya is een jonge zeskoppige band die zijn roots in Spanje, België en Duitsland heeft. Hun instrumentale muziek kan je in het vakje postmetal en postrock stoppen, maar bevat tevens elementen van ambient en sludge.

Op hun debuut horen we vier songs, samen goed voor 45 minuten muziek. Elke track begint met een ambientachtige intro die door de keyboards wordt gedomineerd. Het hoogtepunt is zonder twijfel het dertien minuten durende Ascend From The Depth. Na de sfeervolle intro wordt het nummer via de drums knap opgebouwd. De drums beginnen met een eenvoudig basisritme, waarna er telkens wat percussie aan wordt toegevoegd. Het sferische en idyllische gitaarspel maakt het geheel compleet. Zo werkt men langzaam naar een zwaardere climax. Rond de achtste minuut verandert de toon en krijgen we een stuk dat iets meer naar sludge neigt. Hier waart de ziel van Steak Number Eight rond. Een magistrale song!

Wat kunnen we over de andere drie songs zeggen? Cumbre En Niebla is eveneens mooi opgebouwd met een lange uitgesponnen intro. Het is een vrij melodieuze track met subtiele gitaarklanken. Sombre Sommeil was hun single, een atmosferisch werkje dat toont wat ze in hun mars hebben. Tal Sperre moet niet onderdoen voor de andere tracks, maar heeft een meer gewone structuur.

Sukzession is een sterk debuut en een aanrader voor de fans van Toendra, Steak Number Eight of The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)
KRAKOW • Amaran

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed