tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : CATAYA - Sukzession

CATAYA

Sukzession

MusicCD
AmbientPost RockPost-Metal

[88/100]   

Moment of Collapse Records
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This young band has its roots in Spain, Belgium and Germany. The instrumental music can be described as both post-metal and post-rock, plus some ambient and sludge elements.

On the debut album, we hear four songs with a total of 45 minutes of music. Each track starts with an ambient intro that is dominated by the keyboards. The highlight of the album surely is Ascend From The Depth, which lasts 13 minutes. After the atmospheric intro, the song is built up in a nice way with the drums. It all starts with a simple basic rhythm, complemented with some percussion. The spherical and idyllic guitar makes it all complete. Slowly we’re arriving at a climax, with in the middle of the song a different style that slightly can be described as sludge. A magisterial song!

What can we say about the other three songs? Cumbre En Niebla is also beautifully structured with a long intro. It's a melodic track with subtle guitar sounds. Sombre Sommeil is the single, an atmospheric piece that shows what Cataya has to offer. Tal Sperre has a more simple structure.

Sukzession is a strong debut and a must for fans of Toendra, Steak Number Eight or The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Cataya is een jonge zeskoppige band die zijn roots in Spanje, België en Duitsland heeft. Hun instrumentale muziek kan je in het vakje postmetal en postrock stoppen, maar bevat tevens elementen van ambient en sludge.

Op hun debuut horen we vier songs, samen goed voor 45 minuten muziek. Elke track begint met een ambientachtige intro die door de keyboards wordt gedomineerd. Het hoogtepunt is zonder twijfel het dertien minuten durende Ascend From The Depth. Na de sfeervolle intro wordt het nummer via de drums knap opgebouwd. De drums beginnen met een eenvoudig basisritme, waarna er telkens wat percussie aan wordt toegevoegd. Het sferische en idyllische gitaarspel maakt het geheel compleet. Zo werkt men langzaam naar een zwaardere climax. Rond de achtste minuut verandert de toon en krijgen we een stuk dat iets meer naar sludge neigt. Hier waart de ziel van Steak Number Eight rond. Een magistrale song!

Wat kunnen we over de andere drie songs zeggen? Cumbre En Niebla is eveneens mooi opgebouwd met een lange uitgesponnen intro. Het is een vrij melodieuze track met subtiele gitaarklanken. Sombre Sommeil was hun single, een atmosferisch werkje dat toont wat ze in hun mars hebben. Tal Sperre moet niet onderdoen voor de andere tracks, maar heeft een meer gewone structuur.

Sukzession is een sterk debuut en een aanrader voor de fans van Toendra, Steak Number Eight of The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith