tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : CATAYA - Sukzession

CATAYA

Sukzession

MusicCD
AmbientPost RockPost-Metal

[88/100]   

Moment of Collapse Records
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This young band has its roots in Spain, Belgium and Germany. The instrumental music can be described as both post-metal and post-rock, plus some ambient and sludge elements.

On the debut album, we hear four songs with a total of 45 minutes of music. Each track starts with an ambient intro that is dominated by the keyboards. The highlight of the album surely is Ascend From The Depth, which lasts 13 minutes. After the atmospheric intro, the song is built up in a nice way with the drums. It all starts with a simple basic rhythm, complemented with some percussion. The spherical and idyllic guitar makes it all complete. Slowly we’re arriving at a climax, with in the middle of the song a different style that slightly can be described as sludge. A magisterial song!

What can we say about the other three songs? Cumbre En Niebla is also beautifully structured with a long intro. It's a melodic track with subtle guitar sounds. Sombre Sommeil is the single, an atmospheric piece that shows what Cataya has to offer. Tal Sperre has a more simple structure.

Sukzession is a strong debut and a must for fans of Toendra, Steak Number Eight or The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Cataya is een jonge zeskoppige band die zijn roots in Spanje, België en Duitsland heeft. Hun instrumentale muziek kan je in het vakje postmetal en postrock stoppen, maar bevat tevens elementen van ambient en sludge.

Op hun debuut horen we vier songs, samen goed voor 45 minuten muziek. Elke track begint met een ambientachtige intro die door de keyboards wordt gedomineerd. Het hoogtepunt is zonder twijfel het dertien minuten durende Ascend From The Depth. Na de sfeervolle intro wordt het nummer via de drums knap opgebouwd. De drums beginnen met een eenvoudig basisritme, waarna er telkens wat percussie aan wordt toegevoegd. Het sferische en idyllische gitaarspel maakt het geheel compleet. Zo werkt men langzaam naar een zwaardere climax. Rond de achtste minuut verandert de toon en krijgen we een stuk dat iets meer naar sludge neigt. Hier waart de ziel van Steak Number Eight rond. Een magistrale song!

Wat kunnen we over de andere drie songs zeggen? Cumbre En Niebla is eveneens mooi opgebouwd met een lange uitgesponnen intro. Het is een vrij melodieuze track met subtiele gitaarklanken. Sombre Sommeil was hun single, een atmosferisch werkje dat toont wat ze in hun mars hebben. Tal Sperre moet niet onderdoen voor de andere tracks, maar heeft een meer gewone structuur.

Sukzession is een sterk debuut en een aanrader voor de fans van Toendra, Steak Number Eight of The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us