tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : CATAYA - Sukzession

CATAYA

Sukzession

MusicCD
AmbientPost RockPost-Metal

[88/100]   

Moment of Collapse Records
07/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This young band has its roots in Spain, Belgium and Germany. The instrumental music can be described as both post-metal and post-rock, plus some ambient and sludge elements.

On the debut album, we hear four songs with a total of 45 minutes of music. Each track starts with an ambient intro that is dominated by the keyboards. The highlight of the album surely is Ascend From The Depth, which lasts 13 minutes. After the atmospheric intro, the song is built up in a nice way with the drums. It all starts with a simple basic rhythm, complemented with some percussion. The spherical and idyllic guitar makes it all complete. Slowly we’re arriving at a climax, with in the middle of the song a different style that slightly can be described as sludge. A magisterial song!

What can we say about the other three songs? Cumbre En Niebla is also beautifully structured with a long intro. It's a melodic track with subtle guitar sounds. Sombre Sommeil is the single, an atmospheric piece that shows what Cataya has to offer. Tal Sperre has a more simple structure.

Sukzession is a strong debut and a must for fans of Toendra, Steak Number Eight or The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


NL

Cataya is een jonge zeskoppige band die zijn roots in Spanje, België en Duitsland heeft. Hun instrumentale muziek kan je in het vakje postmetal en postrock stoppen, maar bevat tevens elementen van ambient en sludge.

Op hun debuut horen we vier songs, samen goed voor 45 minuten muziek. Elke track begint met een ambientachtige intro die door de keyboards wordt gedomineerd. Het hoogtepunt is zonder twijfel het dertien minuten durende Ascend From The Depth. Na de sfeervolle intro wordt het nummer via de drums knap opgebouwd. De drums beginnen met een eenvoudig basisritme, waarna er telkens wat percussie aan wordt toegevoegd. Het sferische en idyllische gitaarspel maakt het geheel compleet. Zo werkt men langzaam naar een zwaardere climax. Rond de achtste minuut verandert de toon en krijgen we een stuk dat iets meer naar sludge neigt. Hier waart de ziel van Steak Number Eight rond. Een magistrale song!

Wat kunnen we over de andere drie songs zeggen? Cumbre En Niebla is eveneens mooi opgebouwd met een lange uitgesponnen intro. Het is een vrij melodieuze track met subtiele gitaarklanken. Sombre Sommeil was hun single, een atmosferisch werkje dat toont wat ze in hun mars hebben. Tal Sperre moet niet onderdoen voor de andere tracks, maar heeft een meer gewone structuur.

Sukzession is een sterk debuut en een aanrader voor de fans van Toendra, Steak Number Eight of The Ocean.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)