tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/12/2015 : CATHY CLARET - Solita Por El Mundo

CATHY CLARET

Solita Por El Mundo

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
14/12/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

After what seems like a lifetime away, breathy Spanish chanteuse Cathy Claret returns from a lengthy hiatus with some much-needed Mediterranean sunshine. Solita Por El Mundo follows on from her earlier Crepuscule legacy, her BB King-era hit Bollere and 2006's Gypsy Flower with just over half an hour of free and easy, bright and breezy Spanish-tongued (and sometimes French) exotica-pop that resolutely sticks to tradition with one foot in '60s era Euro lounge and the other in flamenco. If you can imagine Saint Etienne and Nouvelle Vague forming a super group with Brigitte Bardot, you're someway there.

The ten songs do not wallow in nostalgia however - the whole album resonates with contemporary rhythms and arrangements, opting for the analogue rather than the digital and keeping it real without being hipster cool. That, trust me, is a good thing.

The first four songs are the equal of anything Claret has recorded before with the star of the show being the marvellous title-track that exudes a honeyed golden glow that doesn't fail to brighten the dullest of days. Destino Cierto is more of the same with a marimba hookline and bossa-nova beat while Juste Une Petite Chose is a string-driven pop-epic with the top down and the wind in its hair.

Earlier single Chocolat makes an appearance in a pepped-up version that retains all the harmonies and twinkly-eyed mischief of the original, plus some extra 'oomph'. Une Melody sports some husky spoken text from Rossy De Palma and the aforementioned Nouvelle Vague make an appearance on the sprightly Les Cerisiers while the rest of the album draws on her own heritage. Only Rayon De Soleil hints at her recent collaborative period with Finley Quaye while Bleu de Cadiz is the only downbeat ballad here, a reflective few minutes that calms things down successfully.

Solita Por El Mundo might, might, just reward its versatile and talented creator with some long-awaited UK love - it's her best since 1991's Soleil Y Locura.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
14/12/2015


NL

Ook al duurde het een eeuwigheid, is de Spaanse zangeres Cathy Claret er na een lange pauze opnieuw met wat broodnodige Zuiderse zon. Solita Por El Mundo is het vervolg op haar Crépuscule-verleden, haar BB King-tijdperk met de hit Bollere en Gypsy Flower uit 2006. Je hoort op een halfuurtje tijd lichte, luchtige Spaanse (soms Frans) exotische pop die zijn wortels in de Eurolounge van de 60s en de flamenco heeft. Als je je kunt voorstellen hoe Saint Etienne en Nouvelle Vague met Brigitte Bardot zou klinken, dan ben je er bijna!

De tien nummers wentelen zich echter niet in nostalgie, het hele album bestaat uit moderne ritmes waarbij men analoog te werk gaat in plaats digitaal, zonder dat men dat doet om hip te willen zijn. Geloof mij, dat is een goede zaak.

De eerste vier nummers kun je vergelijken met wat Claret vroeger deed. De ster van de show is zonder twijfel het prachtige titelnummer dat een honingzoete gouden gloed uitstraalt en dat is tijdens de saaiste dagen van het jaar toch wel een godsgeschenk! Destino Cierto is min of meer hetzelfde, maar met wat marimba en een bossa nova-ritme, terwijl Juste Une Petite Chose een pop-epos met strijkers is.

De eerdere single Chocolat is een bewerkte versie zonder dat de harmonie of de speelsheid van het origineel verloren gaan. In Une Melody hoor je een gesproken tekst van Rossy de Palma, en de invloeden van Nouvelle Vague waarover we het eerder hadden, ontdek je op het vrolijke Les Cerisiers, terwijl de rest van het album gebaseerd is op Cathy's eigen verdiensten. Alleen Rayon De Soleil herinnert je aan de periode waarin ze met Finley Quaye samenwerkte, terwijl Bleu de Cadiz de enige ballade is.

Misschien (ik zeg misschien) zal de rest van de wereld via Solita Por El Mundo het veelzijdige talent van Cathy Claret ontdekken. Ik hoop het, het is haar beste plaat sinds Soleil Y Locura uit 1991.

Paul PLEDGER
14/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)