tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CAUSES - Under Bridges That You Built For Me

CAUSES

Under Bridges That You Built For Me

MusicCD
Indie

[64/100]   

PIAS
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the world made us cynical, but in the music industry not only you have to be talented, you also need tons of luck. It happened to the London based (and now living in the Netherlands) Rupert Blackman. When he was singing some songs on the street, he was noticed by superstar Anouk. The Dutch rock star bought some CDs and introduced his music to her management. The guy was offered the support act for Anouk’s tour. Rupert's triumphal march continues, because someone of PIAS saw him playing and promptly offered him a record deal.

His first album The Lights Of Home was a hit, but the Briton didn’t want to be seen as a singer songwriter forever and he founded the band Causes. The first single Teach Me How To Dance With You was a hit in nearly every country, and so the expectations for the album Under Bridges That You Built For Me are incredibly high.

Whether this album, produced by Ian Grimble, is good or bad, depends on the fact what indie means to you. If you're satisfied with soft sing-a-long pop like Keane, Snow Patrol and Coldplay, then you can buy this record without hesitation. If polished indie pop is not your cup of tea, try something else instead.

No one can accuse the band of the fact that the music is of low quality, because everything is pretty well done, but forget any sex, drugs or rock 'n' roll!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is natuurlijk de wereld die ons zo cynisch heeft gemaakt, maar in de muziek moet je niet alleen over talent beschikken, maar ook (een karrevracht) geluk hebben. Het overkwam de uit Londen afkomstige (en nu in Nederland wonende) Rupert Blackman. Toen hij op straat wat liedjes stond te zingen, werd hij opgemerkt door Anouk. De Nederlandse rockster kocht wat cd’s van hem en stelde zijn muziek voor aan haar management. De kerel kreeg de support act voor Anouks toer aangeboden. En Ruperts triomftocht gaat voort, want iemand van PIAS zag hem aan het werk en bood hem prompt een platendeal aan.

Zijn eerste plaat The Lights Of Home werd een hit, maar de Brit had genoeg van zijn singersongwriterimago en richtte met Causes een band op. De eerste single Teach Me How To Dance With You werd in zowat ieder land een hit, en dus zijn de verwachtingen voor het album Under Bridges That You Built For Me ontzettend hoog.

Of je deze plaat, die door Ian Grimble werd geproduceerd, nu goed of slecht vindt, hangt af van het feit wat indie voor je betekent. Als je tevreden bent met meezingpop zoals Keane, Snow Patrol en Coldplay dan kan je zonder aarzelen dit schijfje in huis halen. Heb je een afkeer voor vrolijke indiepop die te gepolijst klinkt, dan neem je maar beter iets anders.

Niemand kan de band ervan beschuldigen dat de muziek geen kwaliteit heeft, want het zit allemaal vrij goed in elkaar, maar van seks, drugs en rock ’n roll is er geen spatje sprake!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth