tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CAUSES - Under Bridges That You Built For Me

CAUSES

Under Bridges That You Built For Me

MusicCD
Indie

[64/100]   

PIAS
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the world made us cynical, but in the music industry not only you have to be talented, you also need tons of luck. It happened to the London based (and now living in the Netherlands) Rupert Blackman. When he was singing some songs on the street, he was noticed by superstar Anouk. The Dutch rock star bought some CDs and introduced his music to her management. The guy was offered the support act for Anouk’s tour. Rupert's triumphal march continues, because someone of PIAS saw him playing and promptly offered him a record deal.

His first album The Lights Of Home was a hit, but the Briton didn’t want to be seen as a singer songwriter forever and he founded the band Causes. The first single Teach Me How To Dance With You was a hit in nearly every country, and so the expectations for the album Under Bridges That You Built For Me are incredibly high.

Whether this album, produced by Ian Grimble, is good or bad, depends on the fact what indie means to you. If you're satisfied with soft sing-a-long pop like Keane, Snow Patrol and Coldplay, then you can buy this record without hesitation. If polished indie pop is not your cup of tea, try something else instead.

No one can accuse the band of the fact that the music is of low quality, because everything is pretty well done, but forget any sex, drugs or rock 'n' roll!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is natuurlijk de wereld die ons zo cynisch heeft gemaakt, maar in de muziek moet je niet alleen over talent beschikken, maar ook (een karrevracht) geluk hebben. Het overkwam de uit Londen afkomstige (en nu in Nederland wonende) Rupert Blackman. Toen hij op straat wat liedjes stond te zingen, werd hij opgemerkt door Anouk. De Nederlandse rockster kocht wat cd’s van hem en stelde zijn muziek voor aan haar management. De kerel kreeg de support act voor Anouks toer aangeboden. En Ruperts triomftocht gaat voort, want iemand van PIAS zag hem aan het werk en bood hem prompt een platendeal aan.

Zijn eerste plaat The Lights Of Home werd een hit, maar de Brit had genoeg van zijn singersongwriterimago en richtte met Causes een band op. De eerste single Teach Me How To Dance With You werd in zowat ieder land een hit, en dus zijn de verwachtingen voor het album Under Bridges That You Built For Me ontzettend hoog.

Of je deze plaat, die door Ian Grimble werd geproduceerd, nu goed of slecht vindt, hangt af van het feit wat indie voor je betekent. Als je tevreden bent met meezingpop zoals Keane, Snow Patrol en Coldplay dan kan je zonder aarzelen dit schijfje in huis halen. Heb je een afkeer voor vrolijke indiepop die te gepolijst klinkt, dan neem je maar beter iets anders.

Niemand kan de band ervan beschuldigen dat de muziek geen kwaliteit heeft, want het zit allemaal vrij goed in elkaar, maar van seks, drugs en rock ’n roll is er geen spatje sprake!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis