tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CAUSES - Under Bridges That You Built For Me

CAUSES

Under Bridges That You Built For Me

MusicCD
Indie

[64/100]   

PIAS
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the world made us cynical, but in the music industry not only you have to be talented, you also need tons of luck. It happened to the London based (and now living in the Netherlands) Rupert Blackman. When he was singing some songs on the street, he was noticed by superstar Anouk. The Dutch rock star bought some CDs and introduced his music to her management. The guy was offered the support act for Anouk’s tour. Rupert's triumphal march continues, because someone of PIAS saw him playing and promptly offered him a record deal.

His first album The Lights Of Home was a hit, but the Briton didn’t want to be seen as a singer songwriter forever and he founded the band Causes. The first single Teach Me How To Dance With You was a hit in nearly every country, and so the expectations for the album Under Bridges That You Built For Me are incredibly high.

Whether this album, produced by Ian Grimble, is good or bad, depends on the fact what indie means to you. If you're satisfied with soft sing-a-long pop like Keane, Snow Patrol and Coldplay, then you can buy this record without hesitation. If polished indie pop is not your cup of tea, try something else instead.

No one can accuse the band of the fact that the music is of low quality, because everything is pretty well done, but forget any sex, drugs or rock 'n' roll!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is natuurlijk de wereld die ons zo cynisch heeft gemaakt, maar in de muziek moet je niet alleen over talent beschikken, maar ook (een karrevracht) geluk hebben. Het overkwam de uit Londen afkomstige (en nu in Nederland wonende) Rupert Blackman. Toen hij op straat wat liedjes stond te zingen, werd hij opgemerkt door Anouk. De Nederlandse rockster kocht wat cd’s van hem en stelde zijn muziek voor aan haar management. De kerel kreeg de support act voor Anouks toer aangeboden. En Ruperts triomftocht gaat voort, want iemand van PIAS zag hem aan het werk en bood hem prompt een platendeal aan.

Zijn eerste plaat The Lights Of Home werd een hit, maar de Brit had genoeg van zijn singersongwriterimago en richtte met Causes een band op. De eerste single Teach Me How To Dance With You werd in zowat ieder land een hit, en dus zijn de verwachtingen voor het album Under Bridges That You Built For Me ontzettend hoog.

Of je deze plaat, die door Ian Grimble werd geproduceerd, nu goed of slecht vindt, hangt af van het feit wat indie voor je betekent. Als je tevreden bent met meezingpop zoals Keane, Snow Patrol en Coldplay dan kan je zonder aarzelen dit schijfje in huis halen. Heb je een afkeer voor vrolijke indiepop die te gepolijst klinkt, dan neem je maar beter iets anders.

Niemand kan de band ervan beschuldigen dat de muziek geen kwaliteit heeft, want het zit allemaal vrij goed in elkaar, maar van seks, drugs en rock ’n roll is er geen spatje sprake!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS
14
08
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
13
08
TEST DEPARTMENT
Landlord
12
08
MERCIFUL NUNS
BLACK HALO