tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CAUSES - Under Bridges That You Built For Me

CAUSES

Under Bridges That You Built For Me

MusicCD
Indie

[64/100]   

PIAS
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the world made us cynical, but in the music industry not only you have to be talented, you also need tons of luck. It happened to the London based (and now living in the Netherlands) Rupert Blackman. When he was singing some songs on the street, he was noticed by superstar Anouk. The Dutch rock star bought some CDs and introduced his music to her management. The guy was offered the support act for Anouk’s tour. Rupert's triumphal march continues, because someone of PIAS saw him playing and promptly offered him a record deal.

His first album The Lights Of Home was a hit, but the Briton didn’t want to be seen as a singer songwriter forever and he founded the band Causes. The first single Teach Me How To Dance With You was a hit in nearly every country, and so the expectations for the album Under Bridges That You Built For Me are incredibly high.

Whether this album, produced by Ian Grimble, is good or bad, depends on the fact what indie means to you. If you're satisfied with soft sing-a-long pop like Keane, Snow Patrol and Coldplay, then you can buy this record without hesitation. If polished indie pop is not your cup of tea, try something else instead.

No one can accuse the band of the fact that the music is of low quality, because everything is pretty well done, but forget any sex, drugs or rock 'n' roll!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is natuurlijk de wereld die ons zo cynisch heeft gemaakt, maar in de muziek moet je niet alleen over talent beschikken, maar ook (een karrevracht) geluk hebben. Het overkwam de uit Londen afkomstige (en nu in Nederland wonende) Rupert Blackman. Toen hij op straat wat liedjes stond te zingen, werd hij opgemerkt door Anouk. De Nederlandse rockster kocht wat cd’s van hem en stelde zijn muziek voor aan haar management. De kerel kreeg de support act voor Anouks toer aangeboden. En Ruperts triomftocht gaat voort, want iemand van PIAS zag hem aan het werk en bood hem prompt een platendeal aan.

Zijn eerste plaat The Lights Of Home werd een hit, maar de Brit had genoeg van zijn singersongwriterimago en richtte met Causes een band op. De eerste single Teach Me How To Dance With You werd in zowat ieder land een hit, en dus zijn de verwachtingen voor het album Under Bridges That You Built For Me ontzettend hoog.

Of je deze plaat, die door Ian Grimble werd geproduceerd, nu goed of slecht vindt, hangt af van het feit wat indie voor je betekent. Als je tevreden bent met meezingpop zoals Keane, Snow Patrol en Coldplay dan kan je zonder aarzelen dit schijfje in huis halen. Heb je een afkeer voor vrolijke indiepop die te gepolijst klinkt, dan neem je maar beter iets anders.

Niemand kan de band ervan beschuldigen dat de muziek geen kwaliteit heeft, want het zit allemaal vrij goed in elkaar, maar van seks, drugs en rock ’n roll is er geen spatje sprake!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)