tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CAUSES - Under Bridges That You Built For Me

CAUSES

Under Bridges That You Built For Me

MusicCD
Indie

[64/100]   

PIAS
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course the world made us cynical, but in the music industry not only you have to be talented, you also need tons of luck. It happened to the London based (and now living in the Netherlands) Rupert Blackman. When he was singing some songs on the street, he was noticed by superstar Anouk. The Dutch rock star bought some CDs and introduced his music to her management. The guy was offered the support act for Anouk’s tour. Rupert's triumphal march continues, because someone of PIAS saw him playing and promptly offered him a record deal.

His first album The Lights Of Home was a hit, but the Briton didn’t want to be seen as a singer songwriter forever and he founded the band Causes. The first single Teach Me How To Dance With You was a hit in nearly every country, and so the expectations for the album Under Bridges That You Built For Me are incredibly high.

Whether this album, produced by Ian Grimble, is good or bad, depends on the fact what indie means to you. If you're satisfied with soft sing-a-long pop like Keane, Snow Patrol and Coldplay, then you can buy this record without hesitation. If polished indie pop is not your cup of tea, try something else instead.

No one can accuse the band of the fact that the music is of low quality, because everything is pretty well done, but forget any sex, drugs or rock 'n' roll!

 

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Het is natuurlijk de wereld die ons zo cynisch heeft gemaakt, maar in de muziek moet je niet alleen over talent beschikken, maar ook (een karrevracht) geluk hebben. Het overkwam de uit Londen afkomstige (en nu in Nederland wonende) Rupert Blackman. Toen hij op straat wat liedjes stond te zingen, werd hij opgemerkt door Anouk. De Nederlandse rockster kocht wat cd’s van hem en stelde zijn muziek voor aan haar management. De kerel kreeg de support act voor Anouks toer aangeboden. En Ruperts triomftocht gaat voort, want iemand van PIAS zag hem aan het werk en bood hem prompt een platendeal aan.

Zijn eerste plaat The Lights Of Home werd een hit, maar de Brit had genoeg van zijn singersongwriterimago en richtte met Causes een band op. De eerste single Teach Me How To Dance With You werd in zowat ieder land een hit, en dus zijn de verwachtingen voor het album Under Bridges That You Built For Me ontzettend hoog.

Of je deze plaat, die door Ian Grimble werd geproduceerd, nu goed of slecht vindt, hangt af van het feit wat indie voor je betekent. Als je tevreden bent met meezingpop zoals Keane, Snow Patrol en Coldplay dan kan je zonder aarzelen dit schijfje in huis halen. Heb je een afkeer voor vrolijke indiepop die te gepolijst klinkt, dan neem je maar beter iets anders.

Niemand kan de band ervan beschuldigen dat de muziek geen kwaliteit heeft, want het zit allemaal vrij goed in elkaar, maar van seks, drugs en rock ’n roll is er geen spatje sprake!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire