tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/08/2017 : CEPHALGY - Gott Maschine Vaterland

CEPHALGY

Gott Maschine Vaterland

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBM

[91/100]   

Out Of Line
29/08/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It took them a while but now the German Dark Electro gods Cephalgy strike back hard with their new album ‘Gott Maschine Vaterland’. They needed 5 years to prepare these new songs to attack your speakers with a crushing force.

Anatomy’ pounds with a traditionally tight rhythm section, sparse melodies like so much old-school EBM music has in its DNA. The tone is instantly set and we have only one wish: please let the whole album sound like this! How fast can this wish become a reality? After the rather corny sounding ’Bei Dir Sein’ with the necessary emotional lyrical content, the gentlemen of Cephalgy must have thought it was time for some more hard-hitting EBM. The title song ‘Good Maschine Vaterland’ is a guaranteed dance floor killer. A very hard, pounding beat, danceable melodies with monotone but threatening, dark vocals. A jewel of a song, like many on this album.

Symphony Of My Heart’ reveals an epic song, with female vocals and some English lyrics. ‘In Gefallene Liebe’, the female vocal brings in a nice variation and elevates the song to a different tone, in all aspects. Also the guitars on this track have a nice effect on this. From time to time I feel like I hear some Blutengel seep through. ‘In My Head’ effectively penetrates into the deepest recesses of your brain, profound, threatening and invasive. Cephalgy infiltrates the depths of your mind with military pace. Ruthless.

Neverending Life’ has a strong sing-along factor because of the very catchy melody and inviting chorus: “Neverland Life, takes me tonight, and the darkness so bright, a heart in the moonlight”... ‘Willst Du’ starts off with a drum’n’bassy sound, until the dark voice of singer, Jörg, gives it a dark twist. Apparently he listened carefully to Rammstein because his voice sounds just like them.

Sometimes our electro heroes seem to be Jacks-of-all-trades, especially when hearing ‘Burning Heart’ which sounds more Future Pop-ish, although the harsher beats keep giving it a darker touch. ‘Utopia’ sounds very Dark Electro, reminding me a bit of the Hocico sound. Maybe not as harsh as the Mexican electro-terrorists, but still... with ‘Verfluchter Leib’ we are back to a slicing to the bone EBM track.

More of this with ‘Für Dich’ although with a slightly more minimalist arrangement and old school sound. ‘Blut zu Blut’ is another pure dancefloor-filler as far as I'm concerned. Dry repetitive rhythms and straight forward on all levels. After a rollercoaster of amazing songs, we reach the end of the ride with a gift of an outro track… ‘Es Tut Mir Leid’ … mich auch … to know we are at the end of a great album.

So Cephalgy is back and how!? Very strong songs, very diversified, perfect down to the smallest detail. This album scores high and it’s well deserved too!

In my opinion a must have for all lovers of Dark Electro and EBM... Enjoy!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/08/2017

https://www.facebook.com/Cephalgy/videos/1288082747891268/

NL

Ze hebben lange tijd op zich laten wachten, maar de Duitse dark electro goden Cephalgy slaan keihard toe met de CD Gott Maschine Vaterland. 5 jaar hadden ze nodig... voor het nieuwe materiaal klaar was om met een verpletterende kracht als een genadeloze pletwals doorheen menige boxen te razen.

Anatomie beukt meteen als van oudsher met kurkdroge ritmesectie, een zuinige melodie en heeft veel oldschool EBM in het DNA. De toon is meteen gezet en er is één wens: laat het gehele album op deze manier klinken.En hoe snel een droom werkelijkheid kan worden. Bei Dir Sein klinkt melig en tekstueel krijgen we de nodige emotionele geladenheid. Maar genoeg van dit, tijd voor snoeiharde EBM denken de lieden van Cephalgy. Titelsong Gott Maschine Vaterland is gegarandeerd een dancefloorkiller. En heel stevige stompende, snoeiharde beat, dansbare melodie en vocaal ook monotoon dreigend, donker en doorleefd. Een juweel van een song, zoals vele op dit album.

Symphony Of My Heart neemt ons mee in een epische song, met vrouwelijke vocalen en zowaar deel Engelse lyrics. Ook in Gefallene Liebe is de vrouwelijke inbreng een fijne afwisseling en geeft de song meteen een andere toonaard, op alle vlak. Ook de gitaren krijgen hier een mooie rol toebedeeld. Er loert een glimp van Blutengel om de hoek, is zo mijn gevoel. In My Head dringt effectief door tot in het diepste van je brein, diepgaand, dreigend, bezwerend. Cephalgy die tot in de diepste krochten van de gedachten infiltreert met militaire tred. Genadeloos ook.

Neverending Life heeft een meezingergehalte, door de heel aanstekelijke melodie en het refrein die je daartoe uitnodigt: Neverending life, takes me tonight, and the darkness so bright, a heart in the moonlight... Willst Du start met een drum'n'bassachtige sound, tot het donkere stemgeluid van Jörg de zaak een duistere draai geeft. Hij heeft blijkbaar goed geluisterd naar Rammstein, want het stemgeluid neigt daar naartoe.

En de electrohelden zijn van alle markten thuis, want Burning Heart klinkt iets meer future-pop, hoewel de snoeiharde beats het dan weer donker maken na enige tijd. Utopia is echt dark electro, waar qua sound een zweem van Hocico herkenbaar is. Niet zo uitgesproken hard als het Mexicaanse geweld, maar toch... Verfluchter Leib gaat dan weer op de pure EBM- beat rechtdoor en snijdt door merg en been.

Für Dich bedient zich van een minimalistischer arrangement en klinkt old school. Blut zu Blut is pure dancefloorkiller nummer twee op dit album wat mij betreft. Kurkdroog herhalende ritmesectie en hoekig rechtdoor op alle vlak. Na een eindeloze aanéénschakeling van geweldige songs, krijgen we een outro cadeau.. Es Tut Mir Lied.. mich auch. Het doet me pijn dat we met nummer 14 aan het einde zijn van een geweldig album.

Cephalgy is terug en hoe!? Heel sterke nummers, gediversifieerd, af tot in de kleinste puntjes. Dit album scoort hoge ogen en verdient dit ook. Voor de liefhebbers van dark electro en EBM ééntje die in de CD-kast moét staan... in my opinion.... Genieten !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/08/2017

https://www.facebook.com/Cephalgy/videos/1288082747891268/

 

Next reviews
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
NTTX • Of Beauty and Chaos'
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ENZO KREFT • Control
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger