tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

29/08/2017 : CEPHALGY - Gott Maschine Vaterland

CEPHALGY

Gott Maschine Vaterland

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBM

[91/100]   

Out Of Line
29/08/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It took them a while but now the German Dark Electro gods Cephalgy strike back hard with their new album ‘Gott Maschine Vaterland’. They needed 5 years to prepare these new songs to attack your speakers with a crushing force.

Anatomy’ pounds with a traditionally tight rhythm section, sparse melodies like so much old-school EBM music has in its DNA. The tone is instantly set and we have only one wish: please let the whole album sound like this! How fast can this wish become a reality? After the rather corny sounding ’Bei Dir Sein’ with the necessary emotional lyrical content, the gentlemen of Cephalgy must have thought it was time for some more hard-hitting EBM. The title song ‘Good Maschine Vaterland’ is a guaranteed dance floor killer. A very hard, pounding beat, danceable melodies with monotone but threatening, dark vocals. A jewel of a song, like many on this album.

Symphony Of My Heart’ reveals an epic song, with female vocals and some English lyrics. ‘In Gefallene Liebe’, the female vocal brings in a nice variation and elevates the song to a different tone, in all aspects. Also the guitars on this track have a nice effect on this. From time to time I feel like I hear some Blutengel seep through. ‘In My Head’ effectively penetrates into the deepest recesses of your brain, profound, threatening and invasive. Cephalgy infiltrates the depths of your mind with military pace. Ruthless.

Neverending Life’ has a strong sing-along factor because of the very catchy melody and inviting chorus: “Neverland Life, takes me tonight, and the darkness so bright, a heart in the moonlight”... ‘Willst Du’ starts off with a drum’n’bassy sound, until the dark voice of singer, Jörg, gives it a dark twist. Apparently he listened carefully to Rammstein because his voice sounds just like them.

Sometimes our electro heroes seem to be Jacks-of-all-trades, especially when hearing ‘Burning Heart’ which sounds more Future Pop-ish, although the harsher beats keep giving it a darker touch. ‘Utopia’ sounds very Dark Electro, reminding me a bit of the Hocico sound. Maybe not as harsh as the Mexican electro-terrorists, but still... with ‘Verfluchter Leib’ we are back to a slicing to the bone EBM track.

More of this with ‘Für Dich’ although with a slightly more minimalist arrangement and old school sound. ‘Blut zu Blut’ is another pure dancefloor-filler as far as I'm concerned. Dry repetitive rhythms and straight forward on all levels. After a rollercoaster of amazing songs, we reach the end of the ride with a gift of an outro track… ‘Es Tut Mir Leid’ … mich auch … to know we are at the end of a great album.

So Cephalgy is back and how!? Very strong songs, very diversified, perfect down to the smallest detail. This album scores high and it’s well deserved too!

In my opinion a must have for all lovers of Dark Electro and EBM... Enjoy!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/08/2017

https://www.facebook.com/Cephalgy/videos/1288082747891268/

NL

Ze hebben lange tijd op zich laten wachten, maar de Duitse dark electro goden Cephalgy slaan keihard toe met de CD Gott Maschine Vaterland. 5 jaar hadden ze nodig... voor het nieuwe materiaal klaar was om met een verpletterende kracht als een genadeloze pletwals doorheen menige boxen te razen.

Anatomie beukt meteen als van oudsher met kurkdroge ritmesectie, een zuinige melodie en heeft veel oldschool EBM in het DNA. De toon is meteen gezet en er is één wens: laat het gehele album op deze manier klinken.En hoe snel een droom werkelijkheid kan worden. Bei Dir Sein klinkt melig en tekstueel krijgen we de nodige emotionele geladenheid. Maar genoeg van dit, tijd voor snoeiharde EBM denken de lieden van Cephalgy. Titelsong Gott Maschine Vaterland is gegarandeerd een dancefloorkiller. En heel stevige stompende, snoeiharde beat, dansbare melodie en vocaal ook monotoon dreigend, donker en doorleefd. Een juweel van een song, zoals vele op dit album.

Symphony Of My Heart neemt ons mee in een epische song, met vrouwelijke vocalen en zowaar deel Engelse lyrics. Ook in Gefallene Liebe is de vrouwelijke inbreng een fijne afwisseling en geeft de song meteen een andere toonaard, op alle vlak. Ook de gitaren krijgen hier een mooie rol toebedeeld. Er loert een glimp van Blutengel om de hoek, is zo mijn gevoel. In My Head dringt effectief door tot in het diepste van je brein, diepgaand, dreigend, bezwerend. Cephalgy die tot in de diepste krochten van de gedachten infiltreert met militaire tred. Genadeloos ook.

Neverending Life heeft een meezingergehalte, door de heel aanstekelijke melodie en het refrein die je daartoe uitnodigt: Neverending life, takes me tonight, and the darkness so bright, a heart in the moonlight... Willst Du start met een drum'n'bassachtige sound, tot het donkere stemgeluid van Jörg de zaak een duistere draai geeft. Hij heeft blijkbaar goed geluisterd naar Rammstein, want het stemgeluid neigt daar naartoe.

En de electrohelden zijn van alle markten thuis, want Burning Heart klinkt iets meer future-pop, hoewel de snoeiharde beats het dan weer donker maken na enige tijd. Utopia is echt dark electro, waar qua sound een zweem van Hocico herkenbaar is. Niet zo uitgesproken hard als het Mexicaanse geweld, maar toch... Verfluchter Leib gaat dan weer op de pure EBM- beat rechtdoor en snijdt door merg en been.

Für Dich bedient zich van een minimalistischer arrangement en klinkt old school. Blut zu Blut is pure dancefloorkiller nummer twee op dit album wat mij betreft. Kurkdroog herhalende ritmesectie en hoekig rechtdoor op alle vlak. Na een eindeloze aanéénschakeling van geweldige songs, krijgen we een outro cadeau.. Es Tut Mir Lied.. mich auch. Het doet me pijn dat we met nummer 14 aan het einde zijn van een geweldig album.

Cephalgy is terug en hoe!? Heel sterke nummers, gediversifieerd, af tot in de kleinste puntjes. Dit album scoort hoge ogen en verdient dit ook. Voor de liefhebbers van dark electro en EBM ééntje die in de CD-kast moét staan... in my opinion.... Genieten !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/08/2017

https://www.facebook.com/Cephalgy/videos/1288082747891268/

 

Next reviews
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
NTTX • Of Beauty and Chaos'
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15

 

Same genre: EBM
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
ELM • Kampftrinker
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force