tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/08/2017 : CEPHALGY - Gott Maschine Vaterland

CEPHALGY

Gott Maschine Vaterland

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBM

[91/100]   

Out Of Line
29/08/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It took them a while but now the German Dark Electro gods Cephalgy strike back hard with their new album ‘Gott Maschine Vaterland’. They needed 5 years to prepare these new songs to attack your speakers with a crushing force.

Anatomy’ pounds with a traditionally tight rhythm section, sparse melodies like so much old-school EBM music has in its DNA. The tone is instantly set and we have only one wish: please let the whole album sound like this! How fast can this wish become a reality? After the rather corny sounding ’Bei Dir Sein’ with the necessary emotional lyrical content, the gentlemen of Cephalgy must have thought it was time for some more hard-hitting EBM. The title song ‘Good Maschine Vaterland’ is a guaranteed dance floor killer. A very hard, pounding beat, danceable melodies with monotone but threatening, dark vocals. A jewel of a song, like many on this album.

Symphony Of My Heart’ reveals an epic song, with female vocals and some English lyrics. ‘In Gefallene Liebe’, the female vocal brings in a nice variation and elevates the song to a different tone, in all aspects. Also the guitars on this track have a nice effect on this. From time to time I feel like I hear some Blutengel seep through. ‘In My Head’ effectively penetrates into the deepest recesses of your brain, profound, threatening and invasive. Cephalgy infiltrates the depths of your mind with military pace. Ruthless.

Neverending Life’ has a strong sing-along factor because of the very catchy melody and inviting chorus: “Neverland Life, takes me tonight, and the darkness so bright, a heart in the moonlight”... ‘Willst Du’ starts off with a drum’n’bassy sound, until the dark voice of singer, Jörg, gives it a dark twist. Apparently he listened carefully to Rammstein because his voice sounds just like them.

Sometimes our electro heroes seem to be Jacks-of-all-trades, especially when hearing ‘Burning Heart’ which sounds more Future Pop-ish, although the harsher beats keep giving it a darker touch. ‘Utopia’ sounds very Dark Electro, reminding me a bit of the Hocico sound. Maybe not as harsh as the Mexican electro-terrorists, but still... with ‘Verfluchter Leib’ we are back to a slicing to the bone EBM track.

More of this with ‘Für Dich’ although with a slightly more minimalist arrangement and old school sound. ‘Blut zu Blut’ is another pure dancefloor-filler as far as I'm concerned. Dry repetitive rhythms and straight forward on all levels. After a rollercoaster of amazing songs, we reach the end of the ride with a gift of an outro track… ‘Es Tut Mir Leid’ … mich auch … to know we are at the end of a great album.

So Cephalgy is back and how!? Very strong songs, very diversified, perfect down to the smallest detail. This album scores high and it’s well deserved too!

In my opinion a must have for all lovers of Dark Electro and EBM... Enjoy!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/08/2017

https://www.facebook.com/Cephalgy/videos/1288082747891268/

NL

Ze hebben lange tijd op zich laten wachten, maar de Duitse dark electro goden Cephalgy slaan keihard toe met de CD Gott Maschine Vaterland. 5 jaar hadden ze nodig... voor het nieuwe materiaal klaar was om met een verpletterende kracht als een genadeloze pletwals doorheen menige boxen te razen.

Anatomie beukt meteen als van oudsher met kurkdroge ritmesectie, een zuinige melodie en heeft veel oldschool EBM in het DNA. De toon is meteen gezet en er is één wens: laat het gehele album op deze manier klinken.En hoe snel een droom werkelijkheid kan worden. Bei Dir Sein klinkt melig en tekstueel krijgen we de nodige emotionele geladenheid. Maar genoeg van dit, tijd voor snoeiharde EBM denken de lieden van Cephalgy. Titelsong Gott Maschine Vaterland is gegarandeerd een dancefloorkiller. En heel stevige stompende, snoeiharde beat, dansbare melodie en vocaal ook monotoon dreigend, donker en doorleefd. Een juweel van een song, zoals vele op dit album.

Symphony Of My Heart neemt ons mee in een epische song, met vrouwelijke vocalen en zowaar deel Engelse lyrics. Ook in Gefallene Liebe is de vrouwelijke inbreng een fijne afwisseling en geeft de song meteen een andere toonaard, op alle vlak. Ook de gitaren krijgen hier een mooie rol toebedeeld. Er loert een glimp van Blutengel om de hoek, is zo mijn gevoel. In My Head dringt effectief door tot in het diepste van je brein, diepgaand, dreigend, bezwerend. Cephalgy die tot in de diepste krochten van de gedachten infiltreert met militaire tred. Genadeloos ook.

Neverending Life heeft een meezingergehalte, door de heel aanstekelijke melodie en het refrein die je daartoe uitnodigt: Neverending life, takes me tonight, and the darkness so bright, a heart in the moonlight... Willst Du start met een drum'n'bassachtige sound, tot het donkere stemgeluid van Jörg de zaak een duistere draai geeft. Hij heeft blijkbaar goed geluisterd naar Rammstein, want het stemgeluid neigt daar naartoe.

En de electrohelden zijn van alle markten thuis, want Burning Heart klinkt iets meer future-pop, hoewel de snoeiharde beats het dan weer donker maken na enige tijd. Utopia is echt dark electro, waar qua sound een zweem van Hocico herkenbaar is. Niet zo uitgesproken hard als het Mexicaanse geweld, maar toch... Verfluchter Leib gaat dan weer op de pure EBM- beat rechtdoor en snijdt door merg en been.

Für Dich bedient zich van een minimalistischer arrangement en klinkt old school. Blut zu Blut is pure dancefloorkiller nummer twee op dit album wat mij betreft. Kurkdroog herhalende ritmesectie en hoekig rechtdoor op alle vlak. Na een eindeloze aanéénschakeling van geweldige songs, krijgen we een outro cadeau.. Es Tut Mir Lied.. mich auch. Het doet me pijn dat we met nummer 14 aan het einde zijn van een geweldig album.

Cephalgy is terug en hoe!? Heel sterke nummers, gediversifieerd, af tot in de kleinste puntjes. Dit album scoort hoge ogen en verdient dit ook. Voor de liefhebbers van dark electro en EBM ééntje die in de CD-kast moét staan... in my opinion.... Genieten !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/08/2017

https://www.facebook.com/Cephalgy/videos/1288082747891268/

 

Next reviews
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
CONVERGE • I Can Tell You About Pain
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
NTTX • Of Beauty and Chaos'
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: EBM
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED