tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick

CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH

John Wick

Movie
Action

[64/100]   

A-Film
23/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

After the gigantic (and exaggerated) success of The Matrix, it never really went well with Keanu Reeves’ career. He was always in blockbusters that were supposed to score, but failed in the opening weekend. The star will probably be surprised that his career got a boost with an ordinary action movie, because John Wick scored in the world and perhaps the actor is now already discussing the his conditions for a sequel.

If you expect just pure action in a movie (why are we looking in the direction of The Fast & The Furious-fans?), you will be chiseled with John Wick. There is shooting, chasing and fights till you are blinded by it.

A feeling that is aggravated by the fact that this is the first Blu-ray in the Benelux with Dolby Atmos sound. We save you the technical details, it simply means that the speakers are even more thundering and popping.

The former stuntduo Chad Stahelski and David Leitch were satisfied with the story, because almost nothing happens. Ideal for action lovers who do not like to think. The film is a hip revenge movie as Taken is. John Wick is a loner. His girlfriend has just died. The only thing she left him is a Ford Mustang and a puppy, as a reminder, you know! At the gas station a gang of Russians (Putin is right, it is always the Russians who have done it!) shows up. They want to buy his Ford. Wick refuses and a few days later, the gang returns and steals the car, while they kill the dog. The Russian is the son of a mob boss (Michael Nyqvist, who you might know as Mikael Blomkvist in the Millennium trilogy) for whom he worked previously. The revenge can begin!

There are some supporting cast roles: Willem Dafoe, Ian McShane and John Leguizamo, but they are only meant to embellish the poster. This is a Keanu Reeves movie, the rest is secondary. We neverthought that Reeves is a good actor, but because his role is limited to shoot Russian criminals and mumble incomprehensible Russian words, he does a good job. A decent action movie, that has nothing to do with cinema. Right, The Fast & The Furious!

John Wick is now on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


NL

Na het gigantische (overdreven) succes van The Matrix, ging het eigenlijk nooit meer goed met Keanu Reeves. Hij zat in blockbusters die verondersteld werden te scoren, maar die vanaf het openingsweekend gedoemd waren om te falen. De ster zal waarschijnlijk ook verwonderd zijn dat zijn carrière een boost kreeg door een doordeweekse actiefilm. Want jawel, John Wick scoorde in de hele wereld en wellicht zit de acteur nu al aan tafel om zijn voorwaarden voor een vervolg te bespreken.

Wie van een film niet meer verwacht dan pure actie (waarom kijken we in de richting van The Fast & The Furious-fans?), zit met John Wick gebeiteld. Er wordt geschoten, geknokt en achtervolgd tot je er compleet tureluurs van wordt. Een gevoel dat nog eens wordt versterkt door het feit dat dit de allereerste Blu-ray in de Benelux is met Dolby Atmos-geluid. We besparen je de technische details, het betekent gewoon dat de speakers nog meer daveren en knallen.

Met het verhaal was het voormalig stuntduo Chad Stahelski en David Leitch vlugger tevreden, want er gebeurt bijna niets. Ideaal dus voor de actieliefhebber die niet graag nadenkt. De film is een hippe wraakfilm zoals Taken dat is. John Wick is een loner. Zijn vriendin is net gestorven. Het enige wat hem rest is zijn geliefde Ford Mustang en een puppy dat hij zijn vriendin heeft achtergelaten, als herinnering weet je wel! Op het tankstation komt er plots een bende wilde Russen (Poetin heeft gelijk, het zijn altijd de Russen die het gedaan hebben!) opdagen. Ze willen zijn Ford kopen. Wick weigert en een paar dagen later komt de bende z'n eis met geweld kracht bijzetten. De auto wordt gestolen en het hondje doodgeslagen. De Rus is het zoontje van een maffiabaas (Michael Nyqvist, die je kent als Mikael Blomkvist uit de Millennium-trilogie) voor wie hij eerder heeft gewerkt. De wraakactie kan beginnen!

En kijk daarmee weet je meteen alles wat er in John Wick gebeurt. Er zijn wel bijrollen van karakterkoppen zoals Willem Dafoe, Ian McShane en John Leguizamo, maar die zijn er gewoon bijgehaald om de affiche op te smukken. Dit is Keanu Reeves' film, de rest is bijzaak. We hebben Reeves nooit een goed acteur gevonden, maar omdat zijn rol beperkt blijft tot het neerknallen van misdadigers en het mompelen van onbegrijpelijk Russisch, brengt hij er het er nog degelijk vanaf. Een behoorlijke actiefilm die niets met filmkunst te maken heeft. Juist, The Fast & The Furious dus.

John Wick is nu uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)