tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick

CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH

John Wick

Movie
Action

[64/100]   

A-Film
23/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

After the gigantic (and exaggerated) success of The Matrix, it never really went well with Keanu Reeves’ career. He was always in blockbusters that were supposed to score, but failed in the opening weekend. The star will probably be surprised that his career got a boost with an ordinary action movie, because John Wick scored in the world and perhaps the actor is now already discussing the his conditions for a sequel.

If you expect just pure action in a movie (why are we looking in the direction of The Fast & The Furious-fans?), you will be chiseled with John Wick. There is shooting, chasing and fights till you are blinded by it.

A feeling that is aggravated by the fact that this is the first Blu-ray in the Benelux with Dolby Atmos sound. We save you the technical details, it simply means that the speakers are even more thundering and popping.

The former stuntduo Chad Stahelski and David Leitch were satisfied with the story, because almost nothing happens. Ideal for action lovers who do not like to think. The film is a hip revenge movie as Taken is. John Wick is a loner. His girlfriend has just died. The only thing she left him is a Ford Mustang and a puppy, as a reminder, you know! At the gas station a gang of Russians (Putin is right, it is always the Russians who have done it!) shows up. They want to buy his Ford. Wick refuses and a few days later, the gang returns and steals the car, while they kill the dog. The Russian is the son of a mob boss (Michael Nyqvist, who you might know as Mikael Blomkvist in the Millennium trilogy) for whom he worked previously. The revenge can begin!

There are some supporting cast roles: Willem Dafoe, Ian McShane and John Leguizamo, but they are only meant to embellish the poster. This is a Keanu Reeves movie, the rest is secondary. We neverthought that Reeves is a good actor, but because his role is limited to shoot Russian criminals and mumble incomprehensible Russian words, he does a good job. A decent action movie, that has nothing to do with cinema. Right, The Fast & The Furious!

John Wick is now on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


NL

Na het gigantische (overdreven) succes van The Matrix, ging het eigenlijk nooit meer goed met Keanu Reeves. Hij zat in blockbusters die verondersteld werden te scoren, maar die vanaf het openingsweekend gedoemd waren om te falen. De ster zal waarschijnlijk ook verwonderd zijn dat zijn carrière een boost kreeg door een doordeweekse actiefilm. Want jawel, John Wick scoorde in de hele wereld en wellicht zit de acteur nu al aan tafel om zijn voorwaarden voor een vervolg te bespreken.

Wie van een film niet meer verwacht dan pure actie (waarom kijken we in de richting van The Fast & The Furious-fans?), zit met John Wick gebeiteld. Er wordt geschoten, geknokt en achtervolgd tot je er compleet tureluurs van wordt. Een gevoel dat nog eens wordt versterkt door het feit dat dit de allereerste Blu-ray in de Benelux is met Dolby Atmos-geluid. We besparen je de technische details, het betekent gewoon dat de speakers nog meer daveren en knallen.

Met het verhaal was het voormalig stuntduo Chad Stahelski en David Leitch vlugger tevreden, want er gebeurt bijna niets. Ideaal dus voor de actieliefhebber die niet graag nadenkt. De film is een hippe wraakfilm zoals Taken dat is. John Wick is een loner. Zijn vriendin is net gestorven. Het enige wat hem rest is zijn geliefde Ford Mustang en een puppy dat hij zijn vriendin heeft achtergelaten, als herinnering weet je wel! Op het tankstation komt er plots een bende wilde Russen (Poetin heeft gelijk, het zijn altijd de Russen die het gedaan hebben!) opdagen. Ze willen zijn Ford kopen. Wick weigert en een paar dagen later komt de bende z'n eis met geweld kracht bijzetten. De auto wordt gestolen en het hondje doodgeslagen. De Rus is het zoontje van een maffiabaas (Michael Nyqvist, die je kent als Mikael Blomkvist uit de Millennium-trilogie) voor wie hij eerder heeft gewerkt. De wraakactie kan beginnen!

En kijk daarmee weet je meteen alles wat er in John Wick gebeurt. Er zijn wel bijrollen van karakterkoppen zoals Willem Dafoe, Ian McShane en John Leguizamo, maar die zijn er gewoon bijgehaald om de affiche op te smukken. Dit is Keanu Reeves' film, de rest is bijzaak. We hebben Reeves nooit een goed acteur gevonden, maar omdat zijn rol beperkt blijft tot het neerknallen van misdadigers en het mompelen van onbegrijpelijk Russisch, brengt hij er het er nog degelijk vanaf. Een behoorlijke actiefilm die niets met filmkunst te maken heeft. Juist, The Fast & The Furious dus.

John Wick is nu uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray

Didier BECU
23/03/2015


23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick 23/03/2015 : CHAD STAHELSKI & DAVID LEITCH - John Wick

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger