tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

CHAMELEONS VOX

Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Post-punk is back, and how! But new gods like Editors or Interpol would not exist without certain bands from the past. The Chameleons is a perfect example, well since 2009 actually ChameleonsVox. During the recent European tour, Mark Burgess was in Kortrijk to prove that he still belongs to the top. The man from Manchester did, and how!

First we saw Flesh & Fell. After all these years Pierre Goudesone, Laurence and Laurent Castelain Stelleman are still around. The Brussels band just released a new single on Out Of Line (Poker Joker), and later this year an new CD will appear. It is obvious that this band does not want to reinvent itself, but simply builds on what it created in the 80s: rock-solid new wave with a strong rock 'n roll influence. The audience enjoyed the sometimes rough set. Usually the audience goes to the bar during the performance of the support act, but not in the case of Flesh & Fell. The venue was quite filled!The band did not need to do a warm-up.

Chameleons. The first track was Don’t Fall. Everything was good: the tight drums of Yves Altana, the perfect guitar sound by Neil Dwerryhouse and Chris Oliver, and of course the always modest, but brilliant Mark Burgess. The venue went crazy, faces beamed as people heard the voice of an old comrade who helped them in good and bad times. Standing up, falling down, that’s the life of a Chameleons fan in a nutshell. And no, Mark, we never will know what tomorrow brings, except that The Chameleons will always be the best band ever. Not allowed to say such things in a review? Oh, countless music fans ignored them…talking about crimes!

The public was just recovering from the steamroller Don’t Fall, when Mark sang: I shake my head and shiver. They smile and then stab my back As They shake my hand. Please say welcome to the ghosts and let’s go crazy on Monkeyland. A hero on stage, the master of melancholy.

This madness, this laughter, outward feelings I can’t control, those coloured lights are leading me. It's in you. It's in me. You shouldn’t say anything more about Pleasure And Pain. The inner struggle that tears your soul apart, the schizophrenia of ChameleonsVox: pleasure and pain.

Looking Inwardly went one step further. Technically, this is post-punk, emotionally however, it is music that cuts through your flesh, Marks lyrics are the cartels of the knives that cling on to your skin.

An alarm bell ringing, pulled from my sleep by invisible hands, the distant sound of a lady singing... Perfume Garden, perfection, this is how music should sound. Most songs were taken from the first two albums, but there was also room for a brand new track: Dangerous Land, on which the Chameleons frontman showed that he is far from the end of his tether. Of course not.

Admittedly, I hoped they woud play more material of Strange Times (which is indeed that perfect third album), but we only got Mad Jack and Souls In Isolation. Surrounded by fears, too many crowds, too many tears, from too many clowns. What can you add to that, right?

The concert was nearly over, but of course Second Skin had to be played. A fan climbed on stage and with the appropriate gestures, he sang every word of the text. It's like you fail to make the connection, you know how vital it is or when something slips through your fingers you know how precious it is. Well you reach the point where you know, it's only your second skin. Mark saw the fan, and his smile said it all: we understand each other, buddy!

The gig ended with Singing Rule Britannia: Working class Heroes mean nothing to me , I'm a working class zero , I'm chained to the tree of life. No, Mark, one of the few (living) heroes that count is you!

The band once again returned and Mark's eyes beamed: no, he is not the superstar he should have been, but tonight the hundreds of fans looked him straight in the eyes with great respect.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Postpunk is weer helemaal terug, en hoe! Maar zonder sommige bands uit het verleden zouden nieuwe goden als Editors of Interpol niet bestaan. The Chameleons is een goed voorbeeld, nou ja sinds 2009 ChameleonsVox. Tijdens de recente Europese toer stond Mark Burgess ook in Kortrijk om te bewijzen dat hij ondanks zijn 56 lentes nog altijd tot de top behoort. Dat deed de man uit Manchester, en hoe!

Eerst was het de beurt aan Flesh & Fell. Pierre Goudesone, Laurence Castelain en Laurent Stelleman zijn na al die jaren nog steeds bezig. De Brusselse band heeft net een nieuwe single uit op Out Of Line (Poker Joker), en later dit jaar verschijnt er tevens een nieuwe cd. Het is overduidelijk dat deze band geen behoefte heeft om zich opnieuw uit te vinden. Hij bouwt gewoon voort op dat waarin hij goed was in de jaren 80: oerdegelijke new wave met een sterke rock ’n rollinvloed. Het publiek genoot dan ook met volle teugen van deze soms ruige set. Meestal zie je het publiek tijdens het optreden van de supportact naar de bar hollen, maar niet bij Flesh & Fell: de zaal zat tijdens de melancholische waverock van dit trio meer dan aardig vol, en dat gun je dit trio!

Chameleons had geen zin in een opwarmertje. Als eerste track werd voor Don’t Fall gekozen. Alles zat goed: de strakke drums van Yves Altana, het perfecte gitaargeluid van Neil Dwerryhouse en Chris Oliver, en natuurlijk de altijd bescheiden, maar geniale Mark Burgess. De zaal barstte meteen uit zijn voegen, gezichten glunderden want ze hoorden de stem van een oude kameraad die hun in goede en slechte tijden had leren vallen, maar vooral liet opstaan. Seeing faces where there shouldn't be faces, No-one's ever certain what tomorrow brings. Neen, Mark, behalve het feit dat The Chameleons altijd de beste band zal zijn, weten we inderdaad niet wat er ons morgen te wachten staat. Mag je dat niet zeggen? Och, ontelbare muziekfans hebben deze band niet eens een kans gegeven...dat is zo veel erger!

We waren nog maar net bekomen van de pletwals Don’t Fall, of Mark zong: I shake my head and shiver. They smile and then stab my back as they shake my hand. Verwelkom de geesten en dans je gek op Monkeyland. De zaal gaf zich volledig. Een held op het podium... de meester van de melancholie.

This madness, this laughter, outward feelings I can’t control, those coloured lights are leading me. It's in you. It's in me. Meer moet je over Pleasure And Pain niet vertellen. De innerlijke strijd die je ziel in tweeën scheurt, het is de schizofrenie van ChameleonsVox: het plezier en de pijn. Looking Inwardly ging nog een stapje verder. Technisch is het post-punk, emotioneel daarentegen is het muziek die door je vlees snijdt, Marks teksten zijn de kartels van de messen die zich aan je huid vastklemmen.

An alarm bell ringing, pulled from my sleep by invisible hands, the distant sound of a lady singing... Perfume Garden, de perfectie, dit is zoals muziek moet klinken.

De meeste songs die Mark brengt komen uit de eerste twee albums, maar er was ook plaats voor een splinternieuwe track: Dangerous Land, waarmee de Chameleons-frontman aantoonde dat hij nog lang niet aan het einde van zijn Latijn is. Natuurlijk niet.

Toegegeven, ik had gehoopt dat er meer materiaal uit Strange Times (dat perfecte derde album) zou worden gespeeld, maar De Kreun moest het stellen met Mad Jack en Souls In Isolation. Surrounded by fears, too many crowds, too many tears, from too many clowns. Wat moet je daar nog aan toevoegen, niet?

Bijna was het afgelopen, maar natuurlijk moest Second Skin nog worden gespeeld. Een fan kroop op het podium en met de gepaste gebaren zong hij ieder woord van de tekst. It's like you fail to make the connection, you know how vital it is or when something slips through your fingers you know how precious it is. Well you reach the point where you know, it's only your second skin. Mark zag hoe de fan volledig opging in de tekst, hij glunderde en zijn glimlach zei genoeg: we begrijpen elkaar, makker!

Het optreden werd afgesloten met Singing Rule Britannia: Working class heroes mean nothing to me, I'm a working class zero, I'm chained to the tree of life. Neen, Mark, één van de weinige (levende) helden die telt, dat ben jij!

De band kwam nog eens terug, hoe kon het ook anders en Marks ogen glunderden: neen, hij is niet de superster die hij zou moeten zijn, maar de honderden fans keken hem recht in de ogen met groot respect.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself