tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

CHAMELEONS VOX

Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Post-punk is back, and how! But new gods like Editors or Interpol would not exist without certain bands from the past. The Chameleons is a perfect example, well since 2009 actually ChameleonsVox. During the recent European tour, Mark Burgess was in Kortrijk to prove that he still belongs to the top. The man from Manchester did, and how!

First we saw Flesh & Fell. After all these years Pierre Goudesone, Laurence and Laurent Castelain Stelleman are still around. The Brussels band just released a new single on Out Of Line (Poker Joker), and later this year an new CD will appear. It is obvious that this band does not want to reinvent itself, but simply builds on what it created in the 80s: rock-solid new wave with a strong rock 'n roll influence. The audience enjoyed the sometimes rough set. Usually the audience goes to the bar during the performance of the support act, but not in the case of Flesh & Fell. The venue was quite filled!The band did not need to do a warm-up.

Chameleons. The first track was Don’t Fall. Everything was good: the tight drums of Yves Altana, the perfect guitar sound by Neil Dwerryhouse and Chris Oliver, and of course the always modest, but brilliant Mark Burgess. The venue went crazy, faces beamed as people heard the voice of an old comrade who helped them in good and bad times. Standing up, falling down, that’s the life of a Chameleons fan in a nutshell. And no, Mark, we never will know what tomorrow brings, except that The Chameleons will always be the best band ever. Not allowed to say such things in a review? Oh, countless music fans ignored them…talking about crimes!

The public was just recovering from the steamroller Don’t Fall, when Mark sang: I shake my head and shiver. They smile and then stab my back As They shake my hand. Please say welcome to the ghosts and let’s go crazy on Monkeyland. A hero on stage, the master of melancholy.

This madness, this laughter, outward feelings I can’t control, those coloured lights are leading me. It's in you. It's in me. You shouldn’t say anything more about Pleasure And Pain. The inner struggle that tears your soul apart, the schizophrenia of ChameleonsVox: pleasure and pain.

Looking Inwardly went one step further. Technically, this is post-punk, emotionally however, it is music that cuts through your flesh, Marks lyrics are the cartels of the knives that cling on to your skin.

An alarm bell ringing, pulled from my sleep by invisible hands, the distant sound of a lady singing... Perfume Garden, perfection, this is how music should sound. Most songs were taken from the first two albums, but there was also room for a brand new track: Dangerous Land, on which the Chameleons frontman showed that he is far from the end of his tether. Of course not.

Admittedly, I hoped they woud play more material of Strange Times (which is indeed that perfect third album), but we only got Mad Jack and Souls In Isolation. Surrounded by fears, too many crowds, too many tears, from too many clowns. What can you add to that, right?

The concert was nearly over, but of course Second Skin had to be played. A fan climbed on stage and with the appropriate gestures, he sang every word of the text. It's like you fail to make the connection, you know how vital it is or when something slips through your fingers you know how precious it is. Well you reach the point where you know, it's only your second skin. Mark saw the fan, and his smile said it all: we understand each other, buddy!

The gig ended with Singing Rule Britannia: Working class Heroes mean nothing to me , I'm a working class zero , I'm chained to the tree of life. No, Mark, one of the few (living) heroes that count is you!

The band once again returned and Mark's eyes beamed: no, he is not the superstar he should have been, but tonight the hundreds of fans looked him straight in the eyes with great respect.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Postpunk is weer helemaal terug, en hoe! Maar zonder sommige bands uit het verleden zouden nieuwe goden als Editors of Interpol niet bestaan. The Chameleons is een goed voorbeeld, nou ja sinds 2009 ChameleonsVox. Tijdens de recente Europese toer stond Mark Burgess ook in Kortrijk om te bewijzen dat hij ondanks zijn 56 lentes nog altijd tot de top behoort. Dat deed de man uit Manchester, en hoe!

Eerst was het de beurt aan Flesh & Fell. Pierre Goudesone, Laurence Castelain en Laurent Stelleman zijn na al die jaren nog steeds bezig. De Brusselse band heeft net een nieuwe single uit op Out Of Line (Poker Joker), en later dit jaar verschijnt er tevens een nieuwe cd. Het is overduidelijk dat deze band geen behoefte heeft om zich opnieuw uit te vinden. Hij bouwt gewoon voort op dat waarin hij goed was in de jaren 80: oerdegelijke new wave met een sterke rock ’n rollinvloed. Het publiek genoot dan ook met volle teugen van deze soms ruige set. Meestal zie je het publiek tijdens het optreden van de supportact naar de bar hollen, maar niet bij Flesh & Fell: de zaal zat tijdens de melancholische waverock van dit trio meer dan aardig vol, en dat gun je dit trio!

Chameleons had geen zin in een opwarmertje. Als eerste track werd voor Don’t Fall gekozen. Alles zat goed: de strakke drums van Yves Altana, het perfecte gitaargeluid van Neil Dwerryhouse en Chris Oliver, en natuurlijk de altijd bescheiden, maar geniale Mark Burgess. De zaal barstte meteen uit zijn voegen, gezichten glunderden want ze hoorden de stem van een oude kameraad die hun in goede en slechte tijden had leren vallen, maar vooral liet opstaan. Seeing faces where there shouldn't be faces, No-one's ever certain what tomorrow brings. Neen, Mark, behalve het feit dat The Chameleons altijd de beste band zal zijn, weten we inderdaad niet wat er ons morgen te wachten staat. Mag je dat niet zeggen? Och, ontelbare muziekfans hebben deze band niet eens een kans gegeven...dat is zo veel erger!

We waren nog maar net bekomen van de pletwals Don’t Fall, of Mark zong: I shake my head and shiver. They smile and then stab my back as they shake my hand. Verwelkom de geesten en dans je gek op Monkeyland. De zaal gaf zich volledig. Een held op het podium... de meester van de melancholie.

This madness, this laughter, outward feelings I can’t control, those coloured lights are leading me. It's in you. It's in me. Meer moet je over Pleasure And Pain niet vertellen. De innerlijke strijd die je ziel in tweeën scheurt, het is de schizofrenie van ChameleonsVox: het plezier en de pijn. Looking Inwardly ging nog een stapje verder. Technisch is het post-punk, emotioneel daarentegen is het muziek die door je vlees snijdt, Marks teksten zijn de kartels van de messen die zich aan je huid vastklemmen.

An alarm bell ringing, pulled from my sleep by invisible hands, the distant sound of a lady singing... Perfume Garden, de perfectie, dit is zoals muziek moet klinken.

De meeste songs die Mark brengt komen uit de eerste twee albums, maar er was ook plaats voor een splinternieuwe track: Dangerous Land, waarmee de Chameleons-frontman aantoonde dat hij nog lang niet aan het einde van zijn Latijn is. Natuurlijk niet.

Toegegeven, ik had gehoopt dat er meer materiaal uit Strange Times (dat perfecte derde album) zou worden gespeeld, maar De Kreun moest het stellen met Mad Jack en Souls In Isolation. Surrounded by fears, too many crowds, too many tears, from too many clowns. Wat moet je daar nog aan toevoegen, niet?

Bijna was het afgelopen, maar natuurlijk moest Second Skin nog worden gespeeld. Een fan kroop op het podium en met de gepaste gebaren zong hij ieder woord van de tekst. It's like you fail to make the connection, you know how vital it is or when something slips through your fingers you know how precious it is. Well you reach the point where you know, it's only your second skin. Mark zag hoe de fan volledig opging in de tekst, hij glunderde en zijn glimlach zei genoeg: we begrijpen elkaar, makker!

Het optreden werd afgesloten met Singing Rule Britannia: Working class heroes mean nothing to me, I'm a working class zero, I'm chained to the tree of life. Neen, Mark, één van de weinige (levende) helden die telt, dat ben jij!

De band kwam nog eens terug, hoe kon het ook anders en Marks ogen glunderden: neen, hij is niet de superster die hij zou moeten zijn, maar de honderden fans keken hem recht in de ogen met groot respect.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : CHAMELEONS VOX - Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

Music reviews

13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED