tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/07/2011 : CHEER-ACCIDENT - No Ifs, Ands or Dogs

CHEER-ACCIDENT

No Ifs, Ands or Dogs

MusicCD
Unclassifiable

[58/100]   

Cuneiform Records
28/07/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

No ifs, ands and Dogs is the 17th album by Cheer-Accident. The promo text announces a trip into a musical madhouse. They've been active musicians for many years, and the evocation of insanity make for an intriguing reason for me to take an interest in the result.

But, bear with me – I can’t make head or tail of it. This could have been an interesting concept album, but it is chaos. Some songs resemble choral singing, or rather community singing in an Irish pub. Other numbers belong to a (good old) rock musical or a musical full stop. Musical experimentation is not shirked but there is no one pattern, one concept. Repetitive pieces alternate with experiments in sound, which resolve into what might best be summarised as: noise. Things also happen at a vocal level: from no-nonsense songs to musical expression of a’s and o’s which belong to backing vocals of the tearjerker repertoire. This could have been a parody, and if it is, I have to admit: I did not understand.

This might be a nice record for the fans. I somewhat miss the point.

 

Bernadette ALLAERT
28/07/2011


NL

No Ifs, Ands en Dogs is het 17e album van Cheer-Accident. De promotekst kondigt een trip into a musical madhouse aan. De referentie al vele jaren actief te zijn als muzikanten en de aankondiging een evocatie van een gekkenhuis te zullen meemaken, zijn voor mij voldoende om met interesse uit te kijken naar het resultaat.

Sta mij echter toe – ik kan hier geen touw aan vastknopen. Dit zou een interessant conceptalbum kunnen zijn, maar het is een warboel. Sommige nummers lijken op koorzang of eerder de samenzang uit de Ierse pub. Andere nummers horen thuis in de (good old) rock musical of een musical tout court. Het muzikale experiment wordt niet geschuwd maar er wordt niet gekozen voor één patroon, één concept, hoe complex ook. Repetitieve stukken wisselen af met klankexperimenten en dat alles samen is: geluid. Ook vocaal gebeuren dingen: no-nonsense liedjes tot en met de verklankingen van a’s en o’s die we kennen van de backing vocals uit het schlagerrepertoire. Als dit een parodie is dan moet ik bekennen: ik heb dit niet begrepen.

Laat dit voor de fans een leuk plaatje zijn. Ik mis concept.

Bernadette ALLAERT
28/07/2011


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start