tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : CHIRON - The Best Of

CHIRON

The Best Of

MusicCD


[87/100]   

Wave Records
11/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Anyone who has ever listened to the legendary Australian gothic band Ikon must be familiar with the work and voice of Michael Aliani, as he was the voice of Ikon on their first two albums.

As you listen to Michael's project Chiron, which is the result of his collaboration with various artists, such as the original Ikon's bass player Dino Molinaro or Melbourne producer and DJ Robert Anthony, we are offered a lot of diversity in the work of Chiron, and if you have not been previously introduced to the band, The Best Of is a great opportunity to get to know this project.

The opening track Forgotten is taken from their first album Eve and you can hear a bit of Ikon there, as it is Michael's musical background, and of course, the voice! It is a track that you can describe as gothic rock and dark wave, as the first album still has that feel to it. The song is powerful in sound and Michael has always had an intense voice, a strong will and a lot of character in his performance. You will surely notice some nice guitar lines and arrangements.

But with the second track you can already feel the shift as Losing You is a track from their second release Slipping Away. Still dark but you can hear more of the electronic influence and some “scratching” from DJ Robert Anthony if you listen carefully; something you would not expect on such a track, but fits just perfectly.

One of my favourite tracks on this release is surely Point Of No Return that really has all the hit song qualities. Still it can be labelled as gothic rock, as Eve was still very much inspired by that genre. The great chorus and arrangements, flowing and very melodic guitar lines, great work on drums as well, and Michael's voice... what else could one need? The similar feel and equal quality persist on Close My Eyes and Ascent. Hate being the last track on Eve is there to announce the band's sound evolution, suggesting more electronic sounds in future; it is dark, more experimental and electronic, like some of the future work of Chiron. We can hear that shift towards a more experimental sound that flirts with electronica and more complex influences on Distorted; using elements from techno, again hearing a great contribution of Robert Anthony.

Crying In The Night is at the top of my list; such an emotional ballad with again many influences drawn from gothic rock mixed with more modern touch, utterly melancholic, great arrangements, and very emotional lyrics, and not to forget the so well played guitar solo!

I am still in doubts if Crying In The Night or Night In Cairo should win the first place on my Chiron top list. Night In Cairo is such a vibrant and vivid song, so alive, so melodic again, very danceable track, and the guitar is fighting for listener's attention with Michael's voice here, but sorry Michael, the guitar wins this time.

The last two tracks Love Is and Visions, taken from Slipping Away album again show the new direction of Chiron's sound evolution. They are more experimental, more electronic, but still keeping the dark feel. This time Michael shares his “space” with a beautiful female voice, and they work together just perfectly.

Marija BULJETA
11/02/2016


NL

Iedereen die ooit naar de legendarische Australische gothicband Ikon luisterde, zal de stem van Michael Aliani kennen, aangezien hij de stem van Ikon op het eerste twee albums was.

Als je luistert naar Michael's project Chiron, waarop hij samenwerkt met de originele Ikon-bassist Dino Molinaro en dj Robert Anthony, horen we heel wat afwisseling in Chiron, The Best Of is dan ook een geweldige kans om dit project te leren kennen.

Het openingsnummer Forgotten is afkomstig van het eerste album Eve en je kan daar wat Ikon in horen, want het heeft dezelfde muzikale achtergrond en natuurlijk ook Michaels stem! Het is een track die je kan omschrijven als gothicrock en dark wave. Het lied heeft een krachtig geluid en Michael heeft altijd een intense stem, een sterke wil en veel karakter. Ook de leuke gitaarlijnen en arrangementen zullen je zeker opvallen.

Maar in de tweede track, Losing You van de tweede release Slipping Away, merk je al een verschuiving. Het geluid is nog donker, maar je hoort meer de elektronische invloeden en het "scratchen" van dj Robert Anthony, wat je op een dergelijke track niet zou verwachten, maar het past gewoon perfect.

Een van mijn favoriete tracks op deze release is zeker Point Of No Return dat hitkwaliteit heeft. Toch kan het ook als gothicrock worden bestempeld, net zoals de rest van Eve. Een schitterende melodie, vloeiende en zeer melodieuze gitaarlijnen, geweldige drums en Michaels stem... wat heb je nog meer nodig? Een vergelijkbaar gevoel heb ik op Close My Eyes en Ascent. Hate, de laatste track op Eve, suggereert dat er meer elektronische geluiden zullen worden toegevoegd in de toekomst. Dat hoor je op Distorted; met behulp van techno-elementen, hoor je opnieuw een grote bijdrage van Robert Anthony.

Crying In The Night staat zeker in de top van mijn lijst; een emotionele ballade met wederom veel invloeden uit de gothicrock, weliswaar met een modern tintje, melancholisch, grote arrangementen, zeer emotionele teksten en niet te vergeten een goed gespeelde gitaarsolo!

Ik twijfel nog steeds of het nu Crying In The Night is of Night In Caïro die de eerste plaats in mijn Chiron-toplijst moet krijgen. Night In Cairo is wederom melodieus, maar deze zeer dansbare track is zo levendig! De gitaar vecht samen met Michaels stem om de aandacht van de luisteraar. Helaas, Michael, de gitaar wint deze keer.

De laatste twee tracks Love Is en Visions zijn afkomstig van het album Slipping Away en tonen opnieuw de nieuwe richting van Chiron. De songs zijn meer experimenteel, meer elektronisch, en toch blijft de donkere sfeer behouden. Op deze songs zingt Michael samen met een mooie vrouwenstem en ook dat werkt perfect.

Marija BULJETA
11/02/2016


Music reviews

07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac
13
07
HER OWN WORLD
A Different Kind Of Reality
05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video
18
07
Today, exactly 40 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
02
08
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast