tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : CHIRON - The Best Of

CHIRON

The Best Of

MusicCD


[87/100]   

Wave Records
11/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Anyone who has ever listened to the legendary Australian gothic band Ikon must be familiar with the work and voice of Michael Aliani, as he was the voice of Ikon on their first two albums.

As you listen to Michael's project Chiron, which is the result of his collaboration with various artists, such as the original Ikon's bass player Dino Molinaro or Melbourne producer and DJ Robert Anthony, we are offered a lot of diversity in the work of Chiron, and if you have not been previously introduced to the band, The Best Of is a great opportunity to get to know this project.

The opening track Forgotten is taken from their first album Eve and you can hear a bit of Ikon there, as it is Michael's musical background, and of course, the voice! It is a track that you can describe as gothic rock and dark wave, as the first album still has that feel to it. The song is powerful in sound and Michael has always had an intense voice, a strong will and a lot of character in his performance. You will surely notice some nice guitar lines and arrangements.

But with the second track you can already feel the shift as Losing You is a track from their second release Slipping Away. Still dark but you can hear more of the electronic influence and some “scratching” from DJ Robert Anthony if you listen carefully; something you would not expect on such a track, but fits just perfectly.

One of my favourite tracks on this release is surely Point Of No Return that really has all the hit song qualities. Still it can be labelled as gothic rock, as Eve was still very much inspired by that genre. The great chorus and arrangements, flowing and very melodic guitar lines, great work on drums as well, and Michael's voice... what else could one need? The similar feel and equal quality persist on Close My Eyes and Ascent. Hate being the last track on Eve is there to announce the band's sound evolution, suggesting more electronic sounds in future; it is dark, more experimental and electronic, like some of the future work of Chiron. We can hear that shift towards a more experimental sound that flirts with electronica and more complex influences on Distorted; using elements from techno, again hearing a great contribution of Robert Anthony.

Crying In The Night is at the top of my list; such an emotional ballad with again many influences drawn from gothic rock mixed with more modern touch, utterly melancholic, great arrangements, and very emotional lyrics, and not to forget the so well played guitar solo!

I am still in doubts if Crying In The Night or Night In Cairo should win the first place on my Chiron top list. Night In Cairo is such a vibrant and vivid song, so alive, so melodic again, very danceable track, and the guitar is fighting for listener's attention with Michael's voice here, but sorry Michael, the guitar wins this time.

The last two tracks Love Is and Visions, taken from Slipping Away album again show the new direction of Chiron's sound evolution. They are more experimental, more electronic, but still keeping the dark feel. This time Michael shares his “space” with a beautiful female voice, and they work together just perfectly.

Marija BULJETA
11/02/2016


NL

Iedereen die ooit naar de legendarische Australische gothicband Ikon luisterde, zal de stem van Michael Aliani kennen, aangezien hij de stem van Ikon op het eerste twee albums was.

Als je luistert naar Michael's project Chiron, waarop hij samenwerkt met de originele Ikon-bassist Dino Molinaro en dj Robert Anthony, horen we heel wat afwisseling in Chiron, The Best Of is dan ook een geweldige kans om dit project te leren kennen.

Het openingsnummer Forgotten is afkomstig van het eerste album Eve en je kan daar wat Ikon in horen, want het heeft dezelfde muzikale achtergrond en natuurlijk ook Michaels stem! Het is een track die je kan omschrijven als gothicrock en dark wave. Het lied heeft een krachtig geluid en Michael heeft altijd een intense stem, een sterke wil en veel karakter. Ook de leuke gitaarlijnen en arrangementen zullen je zeker opvallen.

Maar in de tweede track, Losing You van de tweede release Slipping Away, merk je al een verschuiving. Het geluid is nog donker, maar je hoort meer de elektronische invloeden en het "scratchen" van dj Robert Anthony, wat je op een dergelijke track niet zou verwachten, maar het past gewoon perfect.

Een van mijn favoriete tracks op deze release is zeker Point Of No Return dat hitkwaliteit heeft. Toch kan het ook als gothicrock worden bestempeld, net zoals de rest van Eve. Een schitterende melodie, vloeiende en zeer melodieuze gitaarlijnen, geweldige drums en Michaels stem... wat heb je nog meer nodig? Een vergelijkbaar gevoel heb ik op Close My Eyes en Ascent. Hate, de laatste track op Eve, suggereert dat er meer elektronische geluiden zullen worden toegevoegd in de toekomst. Dat hoor je op Distorted; met behulp van techno-elementen, hoor je opnieuw een grote bijdrage van Robert Anthony.

Crying In The Night staat zeker in de top van mijn lijst; een emotionele ballade met wederom veel invloeden uit de gothicrock, weliswaar met een modern tintje, melancholisch, grote arrangementen, zeer emotionele teksten en niet te vergeten een goed gespeelde gitaarsolo!

Ik twijfel nog steeds of het nu Crying In The Night is of Night In Caïro die de eerste plaats in mijn Chiron-toplijst moet krijgen. Night In Cairo is wederom melodieus, maar deze zeer dansbare track is zo levendig! De gitaar vecht samen met Michaels stem om de aandacht van de luisteraar. Helaas, Michael, de gitaar wint deze keer.

De laatste twee tracks Love Is en Visions zijn afkomstig van het album Slipping Away en tonen opnieuw de nieuwe richting van Chiron. De songs zijn meer experimenteel, meer elektronisch, en toch blijft de donkere sfeer behouden. Op deze songs zingt Michael samen met een mooie vrouwenstem en ook dat werkt perfect.

Marija BULJETA
11/02/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith