tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHIRON - We Own The Night

CHIRON

We Own The Night

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro PopElectronics

[76/100]   

Third Verse
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

You might wonder why suddenly we review everything by the Australian goth band Ikon. We love that band, but there’s a story involved you simply have to hear. You see, Chiron is a gem not many people are aware of. And the band is from Australia. Even if we can build the fastest vehicles which can fly to Mars in no time, it’s not easy to get your hands on stuff from the Australian underground. But a good friend of mine brought the CD’s with her while on her way from London to Belgium. Her goal (and of Michael Aliani who is behind this project) was introducing you, the readers of Peek-A-Boo, to that wonderful world created by Chiron.

Maybe Michael is tired of it, but you have to do it, when you want to convince people (and that’s what he wants). He was involved in the first line-up of Ikon, in my humble opinion simply one of the greatest goth bands ever. Chiron is great too, but more obscure.

The latest CD by Chiron is called We own The Night, and it’s definitely a next step in the band’s career. Not only because of the female vocals by Tanya Lee, but also because Michael (and Robert Anthony) are flirting with electronics. In a way, it’s completely different from the old Chiron sound, but it stays dark nonetheless.

The opener Fury is probably one of the most intimate songs Chiron ever wrote, superb dark wave with Tanya Lee’s vocals. Once Wasted starts, it’s clear tat this album will contain some synthetic sounds. But that’s just the beginning as Energy and Free Spin (two songs that almost last 8 minutes) combine dark sounds with modern rave music. We even hear a touch of Eurodisco. Nothing wrong with that!

Kamikaze sounds like (well...) future pop. The beats are almost pure VNV Nation, but again with a sort of energy you only can associate with rave parties. A weird combination, but it works damn well!

A Voice is like a rest point between the beats. Deeper takes us again to the dance floor, an ideal preparation for the rhythms of the 11 minutes-long Slave.

We Own The Night is surely not Chiron as you know it, as this is a complete different (dance) side of the band. That’s what people call evolution, or just the will to try something else as too many bands make 20 albums of the same kind. Not Chiron.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Other reviews from CHIRON
CHIRON • Eve
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
CHIRON • The Best Of

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design