tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHIRON - We Own The Night

CHIRON

We Own The Night

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro PopElectronics

[76/100]   

Third Verse
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

You might wonder why suddenly we review everything by the Australian goth band Ikon. We love that band, but there’s a story involved you simply have to hear. You see, Chiron is a gem not many people are aware of. And the band is from Australia. Even if we can build the fastest vehicles which can fly to Mars in no time, it’s not easy to get your hands on stuff from the Australian underground. But a good friend of mine brought the CD’s with her while on her way from London to Belgium. Her goal (and of Michael Aliani who is behind this project) was introducing you, the readers of Peek-A-Boo, to that wonderful world created by Chiron.

Maybe Michael is tired of it, but you have to do it, when you want to convince people (and that’s what he wants). He was involved in the first line-up of Ikon, in my humble opinion simply one of the greatest goth bands ever. Chiron is great too, but more obscure.

The latest CD by Chiron is called We own The Night, and it’s definitely a next step in the band’s career. Not only because of the female vocals by Tanya Lee, but also because Michael (and Robert Anthony) are flirting with electronics. In a way, it’s completely different from the old Chiron sound, but it stays dark nonetheless.

The opener Fury is probably one of the most intimate songs Chiron ever wrote, superb dark wave with Tanya Lee’s vocals. Once Wasted starts, it’s clear tat this album will contain some synthetic sounds. But that’s just the beginning as Energy and Free Spin (two songs that almost last 8 minutes) combine dark sounds with modern rave music. We even hear a touch of Eurodisco. Nothing wrong with that!

Kamikaze sounds like (well...) future pop. The beats are almost pure VNV Nation, but again with a sort of energy you only can associate with rave parties. A weird combination, but it works damn well!

A Voice is like a rest point between the beats. Deeper takes us again to the dance floor, an ideal preparation for the rhythms of the 11 minutes-long Slave.

We Own The Night is surely not Chiron as you know it, as this is a complete different (dance) side of the band. That’s what people call evolution, or just the will to try something else as too many bands make 20 albums of the same kind. Not Chiron.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Other reviews from CHIRON
CHIRON • Eve
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
CHIRON • The Best Of

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked