tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHIRON - We Own The Night

CHIRON

We Own The Night

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro PopElectronics

[76/100]   

Third Verse
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

You might wonder why suddenly we review everything by the Australian goth band Ikon. We love that band, but there’s a story involved you simply have to hear. You see, Chiron is a gem not many people are aware of. And the band is from Australia. Even if we can build the fastest vehicles which can fly to Mars in no time, it’s not easy to get your hands on stuff from the Australian underground. But a good friend of mine brought the CD’s with her while on her way from London to Belgium. Her goal (and of Michael Aliani who is behind this project) was introducing you, the readers of Peek-A-Boo, to that wonderful world created by Chiron.

Maybe Michael is tired of it, but you have to do it, when you want to convince people (and that’s what he wants). He was involved in the first line-up of Ikon, in my humble opinion simply one of the greatest goth bands ever. Chiron is great too, but more obscure.

The latest CD by Chiron is called We own The Night, and it’s definitely a next step in the band’s career. Not only because of the female vocals by Tanya Lee, but also because Michael (and Robert Anthony) are flirting with electronics. In a way, it’s completely different from the old Chiron sound, but it stays dark nonetheless.

The opener Fury is probably one of the most intimate songs Chiron ever wrote, superb dark wave with Tanya Lee’s vocals. Once Wasted starts, it’s clear tat this album will contain some synthetic sounds. But that’s just the beginning as Energy and Free Spin (two songs that almost last 8 minutes) combine dark sounds with modern rave music. We even hear a touch of Eurodisco. Nothing wrong with that!

Kamikaze sounds like (well...) future pop. The beats are almost pure VNV Nation, but again with a sort of energy you only can associate with rave parties. A weird combination, but it works damn well!

A Voice is like a rest point between the beats. Deeper takes us again to the dance floor, an ideal preparation for the rhythms of the 11 minutes-long Slave.

We Own The Night is surely not Chiron as you know it, as this is a complete different (dance) side of the band. That’s what people call evolution, or just the will to try something else as too many bands make 20 albums of the same kind. Not Chiron.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SABATEL (CHESHIRE CAT, DEAR DEER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Other reviews from CHIRON
CHIRON • Eve
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
CHIRON • The Best Of

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real