tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run

CHLOE ROBICHAUD

Sarah Prefers To Run

Movie
Arthouse

[82/100]   

Homescreen
27/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

With respect to the title of her film debut, director Chloé Robichaud made an easy choice. After all, Sarah Prefers to Run perfectly summarizes the content of the film as Sarah (Sophie Desmarais) only thinks about running. It is her passion, her life purpose. About all the other things in life, the young woman just doesn’t care. Sarah is, to say the least, an introverted woman. She hardly says a word, andshe can’t express her feelings (if she has them). It is Sarah's dream to go to Montreal to join the expensive McGill University, that has a prestigious athletics program. Her mother does not like the idea and refuses to pay a penny, because according to her, runners have no future. Ultimately Sarah chooses for a very questionable solution: she marries Antoine ( Jean-Sébastien Courchesne). She doesn’t love him at all, but she gets a scholarship.

An easy title, but certainly not an easy subject, because Robichaud choose a protagonist who barely speaks a word, everything falls on the shoulder of lead actress Sophie Desmarais and her own cinematic skills. It seems an impossible task, but they both succeed. Of course, the viewer also has to make an effort. You never enter Sarah’s head, simply because she doesn't allow it. She has doubts about everything (even her sexual life), the only thing she knows is that she wants to run.

Sarah Prefers to Run is minimalist art house that is influenced by Xavier Dolan without being a copy. On The contrary. Brilliant cinema, now out on DVD by Homescreen.

Didier BECU
27/01/2015


NL

Voor het bedenken van een filmtitel voor haar debuut, heeft regisseuse Chloé Robichaud het zichzelf gemakkelijk gemaakt. Sarah Prefers to Run vat immers perfect samen met de inhoud van de film: Sarah (Sophie Desmarais) denkt alleen maar aan hardlopen. Het is haar passie, haar levensdoel en alle andere dingen kunnen de jonge vrouw maar weinig schelen. Sarah is op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt een introverte vrouw. Ze zegt nauwelijks een woord en haar gevoelens (als ze die al heeft) kan ze helemaal niet uiten. Het is Sarahs grote droom om naar het verre Montreal te trekken en zich te laten inschrijven aan de peperdure McGill University, die een prestigieus atletiekprogramma heeft. Haar moeder vindt het idee maar niks en weigert een cent te betalen omdat je volgens haar als hardloopster sowieso geen toekomst hebt. Uiteindelijk kiest Sarah voor een zeer bedenkelijke oplossing: ze gaat een schijnhuwelijk aan met Antoine (Jean-Sébastien Courchesne) zodat ze kan genieten van een studiebeurs.

Een gemakkelijke titel, maar zeker geen eenvoudige opdracht. Doordat Robichaud kiest voor een protagoniste die nauwelijks een woord spreekt, komt alles op de schouder van hoofdrolspeelster Sophie Desmarais en haar eigen cinematografische aanpak terecht. Het lijkt een onmogelijke opdracht, maar beide slagen erin. Natuurlijk wordt er ook van de kijker een inspanning verwacht. Nooit kan je doordringen tot Sarahs hoofd, gewoonweg omdat ze dat zelf niet toelaat. Ze twijfelt aan alles (zelfs aan haar seksuele geaardheid), het enige wat ze wel weet is dat ze wil lopen.

Sarah Prefers to Run is minimalistische arthouse die beïnvloed is door Xavier Dolan zonder dat er sprake is van een kopie. Integendeel. Briljante cinema, nu uit op dvd via Homescreen.

Didier BECU
27/01/2015


27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run 27/01/2015 : CHLOE ROBICHAUD - Sarah Prefers To Run

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire