tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country

CHRIS BRINKER

Bad Country

Movie


[55/100]   

SONY SPHE
08/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

With its many swamps, Louisana used to be the ideal playground for various tough action movies. The story from Bad Country doesn't come from the mind of some writer, but everything's based on true facts. Even if the movie consists of a cast that host stars like Willem Dafoe, Matt Dillon and Tom Berenger, the movie was banned to the DVD-market. The truth is that this movie isn't the best one in Dafoe's excellent career. You can say it's an enjoyable (albeit forgettable) action thriller that survives because of its magnificent performances, but no one who's surprised by that!


Detective Bud Carter (Willem Dafoe) from Baton Rouge is one of the hard kind. He considers it as a normal thing that you can drive and drink. Due to his good work, his chiefs let him. His newest challenge is to arrest contract killer Jesse Weiland (Matt Dillon). When Jesse got behind bars he has the heartbreaking choice: becoming a rat and betray his mates or rotting away in his cell. Jess opts for freedom and becomes an informant. A quite dangerous job...


The movie is directed by the deceased Chris Brinker who is known as producer from The Boondock Saints, an action movie that now has become cult. Nothing good from the dead, but we can't erase the fact that Brinker isn't a brilliant director. His style can be best compared with that from the late Walter Hill. Brutal action takes over the logic of the story. Luckily enough there are excellent performances, even if Dafoe deserves better.


Those who like brutal action can now purchase Bad Country that is out on DVD

Didier BECU
08/04/2014


NL

Met zijn talrijke moerassen is Louisana al meerdere malen het ideale decor geweest van keiharde actiefilms. Nochtans is het verhaal uit Bad Country niet door één of andere scenarist verzonnen, alles is gebaseerd op waargebeurde feiten. Ondanks een cast die bestaat uit ronkende namen als Willem Dafoe, Matt Dillon en Tom Berenger werd deze misdaadfilm rechtstreeks naar de dvd-markt verbannen. De waarheid is dat deze productie net niet het niveau haalt van een bioscoopfilm bereikt. Als actiethriller mag je hem gerust bij de grote hoop leggen, ofschoon alle eer naar de acteurs toekomt. Nu ja, echt verrassend is dat niet, want we moeten wellicht geen lezer nog van het feit overtuigen dat Dafoe een rasacteur is.


Rechercheur Bud Carter (Willem Dafoe) uit Baton Rouge is er één van de harde soort. Hij vindt het normaal om achter het stuur een fles sterke drank te kraken, toch laten de bazen hem met gerust omdat hij een kei in zijn vak is. Zijn nieuwste opdracht bestaat erin om huurmoordenaar Jesse Weiland (Matt Dillon) te arresteren. Als hij opgepakt wordt staat Jesse voor de hartverscheurende keuze: of hij wordt een rat die zijn makkers verraadt of hij rot weg in de cel. Jesse wil best nog wat van de buitenlucht genieten en opteert daarom om informant te worden. Een allesbehalve gemakkelijke klus....


De film is geregisseerd door de onlangs overleden Chris Brinker die we vooral kennen door de ondertussen tot cultfilm verheven misdaadthriller The Boondock Saints. Over de doden niks dan goeds, toch kun je het feit dat Brinker geen goede filmmaker geenszins verloochenen. Zijn stijl kun je het best vergelijken met het latere (en dus inferieure) werk van Walter Hill. Brutale actie die primeert op de logica van het verhaal dus. Gelukkig zijn er de uitmuntende vertolkingen, ofschoon Dafoe heel wat beter verdient dan deze routineuze actieprent.


Voor de liefhebbers van wapengekletter is Bad Country nu op Sony uitgebracht, alleen op dvd.

Didier BECU
08/04/2014


08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide