tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country

CHRIS BRINKER

Bad Country

Movie


[55/100]   

SONY SPHE
08/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

With its many swamps, Louisana used to be the ideal playground for various tough action movies. The story from Bad Country doesn't come from the mind of some writer, but everything's based on true facts. Even if the movie consists of a cast that host stars like Willem Dafoe, Matt Dillon and Tom Berenger, the movie was banned to the DVD-market. The truth is that this movie isn't the best one in Dafoe's excellent career. You can say it's an enjoyable (albeit forgettable) action thriller that survives because of its magnificent performances, but no one who's surprised by that!


Detective Bud Carter (Willem Dafoe) from Baton Rouge is one of the hard kind. He considers it as a normal thing that you can drive and drink. Due to his good work, his chiefs let him. His newest challenge is to arrest contract killer Jesse Weiland (Matt Dillon). When Jesse got behind bars he has the heartbreaking choice: becoming a rat and betray his mates or rotting away in his cell. Jess opts for freedom and becomes an informant. A quite dangerous job...


The movie is directed by the deceased Chris Brinker who is known as producer from The Boondock Saints, an action movie that now has become cult. Nothing good from the dead, but we can't erase the fact that Brinker isn't a brilliant director. His style can be best compared with that from the late Walter Hill. Brutal action takes over the logic of the story. Luckily enough there are excellent performances, even if Dafoe deserves better.


Those who like brutal action can now purchase Bad Country that is out on DVD

Didier BECU
08/04/2014


NL

Met zijn talrijke moerassen is Louisana al meerdere malen het ideale decor geweest van keiharde actiefilms. Nochtans is het verhaal uit Bad Country niet door één of andere scenarist verzonnen, alles is gebaseerd op waargebeurde feiten. Ondanks een cast die bestaat uit ronkende namen als Willem Dafoe, Matt Dillon en Tom Berenger werd deze misdaadfilm rechtstreeks naar de dvd-markt verbannen. De waarheid is dat deze productie net niet het niveau haalt van een bioscoopfilm bereikt. Als actiethriller mag je hem gerust bij de grote hoop leggen, ofschoon alle eer naar de acteurs toekomt. Nu ja, echt verrassend is dat niet, want we moeten wellicht geen lezer nog van het feit overtuigen dat Dafoe een rasacteur is.


Rechercheur Bud Carter (Willem Dafoe) uit Baton Rouge is er één van de harde soort. Hij vindt het normaal om achter het stuur een fles sterke drank te kraken, toch laten de bazen hem met gerust omdat hij een kei in zijn vak is. Zijn nieuwste opdracht bestaat erin om huurmoordenaar Jesse Weiland (Matt Dillon) te arresteren. Als hij opgepakt wordt staat Jesse voor de hartverscheurende keuze: of hij wordt een rat die zijn makkers verraadt of hij rot weg in de cel. Jesse wil best nog wat van de buitenlucht genieten en opteert daarom om informant te worden. Een allesbehalve gemakkelijke klus....


De film is geregisseerd door de onlangs overleden Chris Brinker die we vooral kennen door de ondertussen tot cultfilm verheven misdaadthriller The Boondock Saints. Over de doden niks dan goeds, toch kun je het feit dat Brinker geen goede filmmaker geenszins verloochenen. Zijn stijl kun je het best vergelijken met het latere (en dus inferieure) werk van Walter Hill. Brutale actie die primeert op de logica van het verhaal dus. Gelukkig zijn er de uitmuntende vertolkingen, ofschoon Dafoe heel wat beter verdient dan deze routineuze actieprent.


Voor de liefhebbers van wapengekletter is Bad Country nu op Sony uitgebracht, alleen op dvd.

Didier BECU
08/04/2014


08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country 08/04/2014 : CHRIS BRINKER - Bad Country

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap