tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

12/11/2015 : CHRISTIAN DEATH - Eernegem, B52

CHRISTIAN DEATH

Eernegem, B52

Concert
Death Rock / Batcave 12/11/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

The American death rock band Christian Death unexpectedly visited the small, but well-known music club B52 in West Flanders, Belgium. Wednesday is not exactly the day most people had in mind to see a gig, but for Christian Death you can make an exception and the possible consequences will be arranged the day after.

It was since the 2007 album American Inquisition that the band had performed new material, but with the brand new album The Root Of All Evilution the time has finally come! For most fans, the album is still fresh and undiscovered. An ideal opportunity to (re)discover the band and the new album. Dressed in our finest black outfit, we went to the B52. Once there, it was immediately clear that you could reach the stage without any push.

The evening was started by the local heroes Psychogeneration. The band members all have experience in other bands with different influences and they brought a mix of various metal styles, but without a real line. I have heard some surprising things, but there was a lack of a real connection. The response of the audience wasn’t exactly overwhelming either. After saying Thank you, good night, they left the stage and everything was prepared for the act everybody had come to see.

A video wall was prepared and the instruments were placed on stage. All this was done fairly quickly, but despite that, the group arrived one hour too late! The video wall started, some tropical images appeared and with a kind of apocalyptic voice Valor began the opening track In The Garden Of Evilution. It looked pretty neat, and the audience was curiously looking forward to what would come next.

What happened then is something that I never experienced before, from the moment the guitars started, we were literally blown away by a wall of sound. The volume was so high that many people put their fingers in their ears and went a few steps backward. The new album is peppered with Eastern influences, so there are many quiet passages. During these, the audience was given some rest, but once the wall of sound started again, our ears almost started bleeding! The band continued to play as if nothing had happened, playing the first three songs of their new album one after another.

During Fema Coffins Valor explained the meaning of the song and talked about how Americans bury the homeless in specially made boxes (the Fema coffins). Or how rich America again treats the poor as slaves. He asked the public to say no this, it was clear that that the singer was really upset by it.

Then came the song that I personally was waiting for: Illuminazi, a title that needs no explanation and a song in pure Christian Death death rock style. One big downside, however, was again the too high volume that distorted the whole sound. And it has to be said, the vocals of Maitiri were not always of high quality.

Some people went to the nearby café as they couldn’t stand the noise any longer. After half of the new album was played, Valor asked what the public was expecting, to continue with the new album, or switch to some older songs. The answer immediately came, and was not totally unexpected.

To be honest, the quality of the sound was at times so poor that after She Never Woke Up, I decided to leave. I am convinced that if the noise would have been acceptable, that I would have seen a very nice gig. I don’t know whose responsibility it was, but I'm afraid that most visitors were simply disappointed. A concert that’s been killed by technique!

Ruben SAEY
12/11/2015


NL

De Amerikaanse deathrock band Christian Death bracht eerder onverwacht een bezoek aan de kleine, maar alom bekende muziekclub B52 in het West-Vlaamse Eernegem.

Een woensdagavond is nu niet meteen het moment dat de meeste mensen in gedachten hadden om naar een optreden te gaan, maar voor Christian Death kan je al eens een uitzondering maken en de eventuele gevolgen daarvan zullen de dag nadien wel aangepakt worden.

Het was van het in 2007 uitgebrachte album American Inquisition geleden dat de band nog met nieuw materiaal optrad, maar nu is er het nieuwe album The Root Of All Evilution. Het album is nog een verse en voor velen een nog te ontdekken plaat. Een mooie gelegenheid om zowel de band als het nieuwe album te (her)ontdekken. Met de mooiste zwarte outfit en onze puntschoenen aan trokken we vol verwachting naar de B52. Daar aangekomen was het meteen duidelijk dat we niet zouden moeten duwen om een plaatsje aan het podium te veroveren. De opkomst was recht evenredig met de ongelukkige datum.

De avond werd op gang getrokken door de lokale helden Psychogeneration. De bandleden hebben allemaal ervaring in andere bands met verschillende invloeden en zo werd er een mix van allerhande metalstijlen gebracht, zonder dat je er echt een lijn in kon trekken. Ik heb leuke, soms verrassende dingen gehoord, maar van een echte samenhang was er toch maar weinig sprake. Ook de respons van het publiek was eerder aan de lauwe kant. Na een Thank you, good night verlieten ze het podium, dat in gereedheid werd gebracht voor de act waarvoor het niet zo talrijke publiek was gekomen.

Een videowall werd klaargezet en instrumenten geïnstalleerd. Dit alles was vrij vlug geklaard, maar desondanks dat, liet de groep het publiek toch vrij lang wachtenn. Christian Death was voorzien voor negen uur, toch was het pas na tien uur dat de band het podium besteeg. De videowall werd gestart, er verschenen wat tropische beelden en Valor begon met een soort apocalyptische stem de openingstrack In The Garden Of Evilution. Dit zag er allemaal vrij netjes uit en het publiek, dat wat onwennig met het nieuwe materiaal, keek nieuwsgierig uit naar het vervolg van dit intro. Wat toen gebeurde, heb ik nog nooit eerder meegemaakt, van het moment dat de gitaren werden ingezet, werden we letterlijk weggeblazen door een wall of sound. Het volume stond zo hoog dat velen met de vingers in de oren enkele meters achteruitgingen. Het nieuwe album is doorspekt met oosterse invloeden zodat er heel wat rustige passages in zitten. Tijdens die passages kreeg het publiek even de tijd om te bekomen, maar keer op keer werd de geluidsmuur weer opgetrokken. Het ging werkelijk zo ver dat de oren pijn deden. De band bleef doorspelen alsof er niets aan de hand was en speelde op deze manier vlotjes de eerste drie nummers van het nieuwe album na elkaar.

Bij het vierde nummer Fema Coffins werd door Valor het begrip Fema Coffins aangeklaagd, of over hoe de dakloze Amerikanen in speciaal daarvoor gemaakte kisten (de zogenaamde Fema-kisten) vaak per vier worden begraven op een speciaal daarvoor ingericht Fema-kamp. Of hoe het rijke Amerika de minderbedeelden opnieuw als slaven behandelt. Aan de toon waarop hij zijn uitleg deed en het publiek duidelijk vroeg een luide neen stem te geven, was het duidelijk dat dit hem hoog zat. Het bleef niet bij deze ene interactie, er werd vanuit het publiek wat geroepen en er kwam meteen weer antwoord van Valor, wat erop wees dat hij er wel zin in had en niet zomaar een verplicht nummertje kwam doen.

Het nummer waar ik persoonlijk op wachtte was meteen ook het vervolg Illuminazi, een titel waar weinig uitleg bij nodig is en een nummer in ware Christian Death-deathrockstijl. Dat is een nummer waarvan ik denk dat ik het in de toekomst nog wel her en der zal horen. Één groot minpunt bleef zich echter steeds maar herhalen, het volume stond veel te hoog waardoor vele geluiden overstuurd waren en de muziek bij momenten niet om aan te horen was. Ook de zang van Maitiri was niet altijd even hoogstaand. De reactie van het publiek bleef niet uit. Druppelsgewijs zag je mensen hun toevlucht zoeken in de ietwat rustigere sfeer van het café. Na de helft van het nieuwe album te hebben gespeeld, vroeg zanger Valor wat het publiek verwachtte, doorgaan met het nieuwe album, of overschakelen op wat oudere nummers. Het antwoord kwam meteen, en niet totaal onverwacht.

Er werden meteen wat titels van ouder werk geschreeuwd en zo werd uit het rijke repertoire van de band verder getapt. Eerlijk is eerlijk, de kwaliteit van het geluid was bij momenten zo erbarmelijk dat ik het na She Never Woke Up voor bekeken hield. Ik ben ervan overtuigd dat indien het geluidsniveau aanvaardbaar was geweest, ik een heel mooi optreden zou hebben gezien. Ik weet niet wie verantwoordelijk was, maar ik vrees dat dit voor de meeste bezoekers een ferme domper op de avond was. Verschillende mensen hadden er een heel lange autorit voor over gehad en die keerden toch met gemengde gevoelens terug. Wat mij betreft was dit een optreden met veel potentie, maar dat werd door een foute techniek compleet de das omgedaan.

Ruben SAEY
12/11/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams