tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER - A Village: Natural Light

CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER

A Village: Natural Light

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[68/100]   

Tapete Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not that we underestimate the musical knowledge of our readers, but with a high possibility we dare to say that most have never heard of Christian Kjellvander. We neither, until the German label Tapete released his latest album A Village: Natural Light. It is not the work of a prodigy because this Swede has been twenty years in the music scene and played with bands like Loosegoats and Songs Of Soil.

Since 2002 he is playing solo and at a first listen it seems like Stuart A. Staples is playing a joke with us. Is this the new record of Staples under a pseudonym? Kjellvander’s voice very much sounds like the Tindersticks frontman.

However, the compositions on A Village: Natural Light are just a bit too light. Everything sounds nice and is done with a dark Nick Cave atmosphere, which sometimes results in an excellent desert rock song like Always With The Horses or the jazzy Staghorn Sumac, but you can not deny the fact that we’re dealing with someone who is too much in love with his idols. Fans of this kind of music, who want to have everything in their collection, can throw this disc in their basket.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Niet dat we de muziekkennis van onze lezers onderschatten, maar met de grootste waarschijnlijkheid durven we toch te beweren dat het merendeel nog nooit van Christian Kjellvander heeft gehoord. Wij ook niet, tot het Duitse Tapete-label zijn nieuwste plaat A Village: Natural Light uitbracht. Het gaat niet om één of ander nieuw te ontdekken wonderkind, want deze Zweed zit al twintig jaar in het vak en speelde bij bands als Loosegoats en Songs Of Soil.

Sinds 2002 is hij op het solopad en tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt lijkt het wel alsof Stuart A. Staples ons in het ootje wil nemen. Is dit de nieuwe plaat van Staples onder één of ander pseudoniem? Kjellvanders stem lijkt in ieder geval als twee druppels water op die van de Tindersticks-frontman.

Alleen klinken de composities op A Village: Natural Light net iets te gewoontjes. Alles is mooi en met een donker Nick Cave-sfeertje georkestreerd, met soms knappe resultaten als de desertrock van Always With The Horses of het jazzachtige Staghorn Sumac, toch kun je er niet omheen dat dit het werk van een copycat is. Fans van dit soort muziek, die alles in huis willen hebben, kunnen het schijfje zonder veel nadenken in het winkelmandje gooien.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway