tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER - A Village: Natural Light

CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER

A Village: Natural Light

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[68/100]   

Tapete Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not that we underestimate the musical knowledge of our readers, but with a high possibility we dare to say that most have never heard of Christian Kjellvander. We neither, until the German label Tapete released his latest album A Village: Natural Light. It is not the work of a prodigy because this Swede has been twenty years in the music scene and played with bands like Loosegoats and Songs Of Soil.

Since 2002 he is playing solo and at a first listen it seems like Stuart A. Staples is playing a joke with us. Is this the new record of Staples under a pseudonym? Kjellvander’s voice very much sounds like the Tindersticks frontman.

However, the compositions on A Village: Natural Light are just a bit too light. Everything sounds nice and is done with a dark Nick Cave atmosphere, which sometimes results in an excellent desert rock song like Always With The Horses or the jazzy Staghorn Sumac, but you can not deny the fact that we’re dealing with someone who is too much in love with his idols. Fans of this kind of music, who want to have everything in their collection, can throw this disc in their basket.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Niet dat we de muziekkennis van onze lezers onderschatten, maar met de grootste waarschijnlijkheid durven we toch te beweren dat het merendeel nog nooit van Christian Kjellvander heeft gehoord. Wij ook niet, tot het Duitse Tapete-label zijn nieuwste plaat A Village: Natural Light uitbracht. Het gaat niet om één of ander nieuw te ontdekken wonderkind, want deze Zweed zit al twintig jaar in het vak en speelde bij bands als Loosegoats en Songs Of Soil.

Sinds 2002 is hij op het solopad en tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt lijkt het wel alsof Stuart A. Staples ons in het ootje wil nemen. Is dit de nieuwe plaat van Staples onder één of ander pseudoniem? Kjellvanders stem lijkt in ieder geval als twee druppels water op die van de Tindersticks-frontman.

Alleen klinken de composities op A Village: Natural Light net iets te gewoontjes. Alles is mooi en met een donker Nick Cave-sfeertje georkestreerd, met soms knappe resultaten als de desertrock van Always With The Horses of het jazzachtige Staghorn Sumac, toch kun je er niet omheen dat dit het werk van een copycat is. Fans van dit soort muziek, die alles in huis willen hebben, kunnen het schijfje zonder veel nadenken in het winkelmandje gooien.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'
08
02
Interview with Douglas P. / Death In June released + new video 'Fall Apart'.
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 47-Today!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'
24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice
12
02
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
11
02
GARY NUMAN
Cars