tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER - A Village: Natural Light

CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER

A Village: Natural Light

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[68/100]   

Tapete Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not that we underestimate the musical knowledge of our readers, but with a high possibility we dare to say that most have never heard of Christian Kjellvander. We neither, until the German label Tapete released his latest album A Village: Natural Light. It is not the work of a prodigy because this Swede has been twenty years in the music scene and played with bands like Loosegoats and Songs Of Soil.

Since 2002 he is playing solo and at a first listen it seems like Stuart A. Staples is playing a joke with us. Is this the new record of Staples under a pseudonym? Kjellvander’s voice very much sounds like the Tindersticks frontman.

However, the compositions on A Village: Natural Light are just a bit too light. Everything sounds nice and is done with a dark Nick Cave atmosphere, which sometimes results in an excellent desert rock song like Always With The Horses or the jazzy Staghorn Sumac, but you can not deny the fact that we’re dealing with someone who is too much in love with his idols. Fans of this kind of music, who want to have everything in their collection, can throw this disc in their basket.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Niet dat we de muziekkennis van onze lezers onderschatten, maar met de grootste waarschijnlijkheid durven we toch te beweren dat het merendeel nog nooit van Christian Kjellvander heeft gehoord. Wij ook niet, tot het Duitse Tapete-label zijn nieuwste plaat A Village: Natural Light uitbracht. Het gaat niet om één of ander nieuw te ontdekken wonderkind, want deze Zweed zit al twintig jaar in het vak en speelde bij bands als Loosegoats en Songs Of Soil.

Sinds 2002 is hij op het solopad en tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt lijkt het wel alsof Stuart A. Staples ons in het ootje wil nemen. Is dit de nieuwe plaat van Staples onder één of ander pseudoniem? Kjellvanders stem lijkt in ieder geval als twee druppels water op die van de Tindersticks-frontman.

Alleen klinken de composities op A Village: Natural Light net iets te gewoontjes. Alles is mooi en met een donker Nick Cave-sfeertje georkestreerd, met soms knappe resultaten als de desertrock van Always With The Horses of het jazzachtige Staghorn Sumac, toch kun je er niet omheen dat dit het werk van een copycat is. Fans van dit soort muziek, die alles in huis willen hebben, kunnen het schijfje zonder veel nadenken in het winkelmandje gooien.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless