tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER - A Village: Natural Light

CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER

A Village: Natural Light

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[68/100]   

Tapete Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not that we underestimate the musical knowledge of our readers, but with a high possibility we dare to say that most have never heard of Christian Kjellvander. We neither, until the German label Tapete released his latest album A Village: Natural Light. It is not the work of a prodigy because this Swede has been twenty years in the music scene and played with bands like Loosegoats and Songs Of Soil.

Since 2002 he is playing solo and at a first listen it seems like Stuart A. Staples is playing a joke with us. Is this the new record of Staples under a pseudonym? Kjellvander’s voice very much sounds like the Tindersticks frontman.

However, the compositions on A Village: Natural Light are just a bit too light. Everything sounds nice and is done with a dark Nick Cave atmosphere, which sometimes results in an excellent desert rock song like Always With The Horses or the jazzy Staghorn Sumac, but you can not deny the fact that we’re dealing with someone who is too much in love with his idols. Fans of this kind of music, who want to have everything in their collection, can throw this disc in their basket.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Niet dat we de muziekkennis van onze lezers onderschatten, maar met de grootste waarschijnlijkheid durven we toch te beweren dat het merendeel nog nooit van Christian Kjellvander heeft gehoord. Wij ook niet, tot het Duitse Tapete-label zijn nieuwste plaat A Village: Natural Light uitbracht. Het gaat niet om één of ander nieuw te ontdekken wonderkind, want deze Zweed zit al twintig jaar in het vak en speelde bij bands als Loosegoats en Songs Of Soil.

Sinds 2002 is hij op het solopad en tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt lijkt het wel alsof Stuart A. Staples ons in het ootje wil nemen. Is dit de nieuwe plaat van Staples onder één of ander pseudoniem? Kjellvanders stem lijkt in ieder geval als twee druppels water op die van de Tindersticks-frontman.

Alleen klinken de composities op A Village: Natural Light net iets te gewoontjes. Alles is mooi en met een donker Nick Cave-sfeertje georkestreerd, met soms knappe resultaten als de desertrock van Always With The Horses of het jazzachtige Staghorn Sumac, toch kun je er niet omheen dat dit het werk van een copycat is. Fans van dit soort muziek, die alles in huis willen hebben, kunnen het schijfje zonder veel nadenken in het winkelmandje gooien.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down