tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER - A Village: Natural Light

CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER

A Village: Natural Light

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[68/100]   

Tapete Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Not that we underestimate the musical knowledge of our readers, but with a high possibility we dare to say that most have never heard of Christian Kjellvander. We neither, until the German label Tapete released his latest album A Village: Natural Light. It is not the work of a prodigy because this Swede has been twenty years in the music scene and played with bands like Loosegoats and Songs Of Soil.

Since 2002 he is playing solo and at a first listen it seems like Stuart A. Staples is playing a joke with us. Is this the new record of Staples under a pseudonym? Kjellvander’s voice very much sounds like the Tindersticks frontman.

However, the compositions on A Village: Natural Light are just a bit too light. Everything sounds nice and is done with a dark Nick Cave atmosphere, which sometimes results in an excellent desert rock song like Always With The Horses or the jazzy Staghorn Sumac, but you can not deny the fact that we’re dealing with someone who is too much in love with his idols. Fans of this kind of music, who want to have everything in their collection, can throw this disc in their basket.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Niet dat we de muziekkennis van onze lezers onderschatten, maar met de grootste waarschijnlijkheid durven we toch te beweren dat het merendeel nog nooit van Christian Kjellvander heeft gehoord. Wij ook niet, tot het Duitse Tapete-label zijn nieuwste plaat A Village: Natural Light uitbracht. Het gaat niet om één of ander nieuw te ontdekken wonderkind, want deze Zweed zit al twintig jaar in het vak en speelde bij bands als Loosegoats en Songs Of Soil.

Sinds 2002 is hij op het solopad en tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt lijkt het wel alsof Stuart A. Staples ons in het ootje wil nemen. Is dit de nieuwe plaat van Staples onder één of ander pseudoniem? Kjellvanders stem lijkt in ieder geval als twee druppels water op die van de Tindersticks-frontman.

Alleen klinken de composities op A Village: Natural Light net iets te gewoontjes. Alles is mooi en met een donker Nick Cave-sfeertje georkestreerd, met soms knappe resultaten als de desertrock van Always With The Horses of het jazzachtige Staghorn Sumac, toch kun je er niet omheen dat dit het werk van een copycat is. Fans van dit soort muziek, die alles in huis willen hebben, kunnen het schijfje zonder veel nadenken in het winkelmandje gooien.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell