tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2011 : CHRISTIAN WOLZ - Emotion15

CHRISTIAN WOLZ

Emotion15

MusicCD
ExperimentalUnclassifiable 31/08/2011, Tom PLOVIE

EN

You don’t listen to an album of the German vocal artist Christian Wolz when you want to read a book or enjoy a calm moment. Although Wolz’ incredible voice can sing like an angel, he often chooses his dark couterpart for musical expression. This new album is a soundboard of emotions and we should approach it that way. We are forced to face our dark sides, mostly through voice distortion supported by minimalistic and electronic music. Wolz doesn’t need words to tell us what the scale of human emotions looks, or sound like.

The opener, “Die Drei Tore”, starts with a rhythmic pulse on which the voice carefully tells us, in his own mystic language, the beginning of this musical journey. Layer by layer another voice is added: a whispering mantra-like verse, a shaman who casts out a demon, a howling scream for liberation,... On the following section there’s only place for dispair and isolation, created by screeching sounds or horrifying deep breathing. An exorcism is nearby. “Das Gefrorene Bewusstsein” reminds me of Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. This is probably the most intense track of the album. A harrowing expercience. “Philia” brings us some relief although another impatient, rhythmic pulse tells us there’s still no reconciliation to be found.

As the album progresses it becomes clear to me this isn’t a linear story. There’s no real beginning, middle piece or end to it. I have to be reminded that this is an album about emotions, where it’s all about associations and feeling things that can change very quickly. In that way this is an accomplished mission.

The voice as the most direct instrument of expression and emotions, that’s Wolz’ credo for the last twenty years. He still manages to take us by the throat and challenges us to experience music in a way little artists can do.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


NL

 

Een album van de Duitse stemkunstenaar Christian Wolz beluister je niet wanneer je wilt genieten van een boek of een rustig moment. Hoewel Wolz’ stem kan klinken als een engel kiest hij vaker de kant van zijn illustere en donkere tegenhanger. Deze nieuwe plaat is een klankbord van emoties en zo moeten we ze ook benaderen. We worden geconfronteerd met onze duistere kanten: veelal door stemvervorming, ondersteund door minimalistische en electronische muziek. Wolz heeft geen woorden nodig om ons te vertellen hoe het menselijk scala aan emoties eruit ziet, of klinkt.

De opener, “Die Drei Tore”, begint met een ritmische puls waarop de stem, in zijn eigen mystieke taal, ons voorzichtig het begin vertelt van deze muzikale reis. Laag na laag wordt een andere stem toegevoegd: een fluisterende mantra, een sjamaan die zijn demonen uitdrijft, een huilende schreeuw om bevrijding,... De dreigende puls wordt tot het eind aangehouden.

Daaropvolgend komen we terecht in een plaats waar wanhoop en isolatie klinkt. Een schurend en aanhoudend zwaar gehijg zorgt voor een claustrofobisch gevoel. Het geluid van een langgerekte duiveluitdrijving. “Das gefrorene Bewusstsein” herinnert me aan Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. Het gefluister, de kilte van de woorden, de repetitieve en vaak uitgespuwde klinkers, de verwarrende stemmen,... Dit is ongetwijfeld het meest intensieve nummer. “Philia” brengt wat licht binnenin deze duistere wereld, kabbelend water incluis. Alhoewel, de track eindigd als een vurige stammendans op een broeierige avond. De laatste geesten worden uitgedreven.

Doorheen het album wordt het me steeds duidelijker dat dit geen lineair verhaal is. Er is geen sprake van een begin, midden en slot. Ik word eraan herinnerd dat dit een album is over gevoelens, waar alles draait rond associaties. Gevoelens zijn wispelturig en kunnen vlug omslaan. Bij de verklanking hiervan is Wolz geslaagd. Angst, woede, vertwijfeling, opluchting, onmacht, haat, berusting,... we krijgen het allemaal te horen én te verwerken.

De stem als het meest directe instrument van uitdrukking en emoties. Dat is reeds twintig jaar lang Wolz’ credo. Hij blijft erin slagen om ons bij de keel te grijpen en ons uit te dagen om deze confrontatie aan te gaan. Dit alles zorgt voor een muzikale ervaring die ons weinig artiesten kunnen bieden.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl