tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2011 : CHRISTIAN WOLZ - Emotion15

CHRISTIAN WOLZ

Emotion15

MusicCD
ExperimentalUnclassifiable 31/08/2011, Tom PLOVIE

EN

You don’t listen to an album of the German vocal artist Christian Wolz when you want to read a book or enjoy a calm moment. Although Wolz’ incredible voice can sing like an angel, he often chooses his dark couterpart for musical expression. This new album is a soundboard of emotions and we should approach it that way. We are forced to face our dark sides, mostly through voice distortion supported by minimalistic and electronic music. Wolz doesn’t need words to tell us what the scale of human emotions looks, or sound like.

The opener, “Die Drei Tore”, starts with a rhythmic pulse on which the voice carefully tells us, in his own mystic language, the beginning of this musical journey. Layer by layer another voice is added: a whispering mantra-like verse, a shaman who casts out a demon, a howling scream for liberation,... On the following section there’s only place for dispair and isolation, created by screeching sounds or horrifying deep breathing. An exorcism is nearby. “Das Gefrorene Bewusstsein” reminds me of Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. This is probably the most intense track of the album. A harrowing expercience. “Philia” brings us some relief although another impatient, rhythmic pulse tells us there’s still no reconciliation to be found.

As the album progresses it becomes clear to me this isn’t a linear story. There’s no real beginning, middle piece or end to it. I have to be reminded that this is an album about emotions, where it’s all about associations and feeling things that can change very quickly. In that way this is an accomplished mission.

The voice as the most direct instrument of expression and emotions, that’s Wolz’ credo for the last twenty years. He still manages to take us by the throat and challenges us to experience music in a way little artists can do.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


NL

 

Een album van de Duitse stemkunstenaar Christian Wolz beluister je niet wanneer je wilt genieten van een boek of een rustig moment. Hoewel Wolz’ stem kan klinken als een engel kiest hij vaker de kant van zijn illustere en donkere tegenhanger. Deze nieuwe plaat is een klankbord van emoties en zo moeten we ze ook benaderen. We worden geconfronteerd met onze duistere kanten: veelal door stemvervorming, ondersteund door minimalistische en electronische muziek. Wolz heeft geen woorden nodig om ons te vertellen hoe het menselijk scala aan emoties eruit ziet, of klinkt.

De opener, “Die Drei Tore”, begint met een ritmische puls waarop de stem, in zijn eigen mystieke taal, ons voorzichtig het begin vertelt van deze muzikale reis. Laag na laag wordt een andere stem toegevoegd: een fluisterende mantra, een sjamaan die zijn demonen uitdrijft, een huilende schreeuw om bevrijding,... De dreigende puls wordt tot het eind aangehouden.

Daaropvolgend komen we terecht in een plaats waar wanhoop en isolatie klinkt. Een schurend en aanhoudend zwaar gehijg zorgt voor een claustrofobisch gevoel. Het geluid van een langgerekte duiveluitdrijving. “Das gefrorene Bewusstsein” herinnert me aan Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. Het gefluister, de kilte van de woorden, de repetitieve en vaak uitgespuwde klinkers, de verwarrende stemmen,... Dit is ongetwijfeld het meest intensieve nummer. “Philia” brengt wat licht binnenin deze duistere wereld, kabbelend water incluis. Alhoewel, de track eindigd als een vurige stammendans op een broeierige avond. De laatste geesten worden uitgedreven.

Doorheen het album wordt het me steeds duidelijker dat dit geen lineair verhaal is. Er is geen sprake van een begin, midden en slot. Ik word eraan herinnerd dat dit een album is over gevoelens, waar alles draait rond associaties. Gevoelens zijn wispelturig en kunnen vlug omslaan. Bij de verklanking hiervan is Wolz geslaagd. Angst, woede, vertwijfeling, opluchting, onmacht, haat, berusting,... we krijgen het allemaal te horen én te verwerken.

De stem als het meest directe instrument van uitdrukking en emoties. Dat is reeds twintig jaar lang Wolz’ credo. Hij blijft erin slagen om ons bij de keel te grijpen en ons uit te dagen om deze confrontatie aan te gaan. Dit alles zorgt voor een muzikale ervaring die ons weinig artiesten kunnen bieden.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart