tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2011 : CHRISTIAN WOLZ - Emotion15

CHRISTIAN WOLZ

Emotion15

MusicCD
ExperimentalUnclassifiable 31/08/2011, Tom PLOVIE

EN

You don’t listen to an album of the German vocal artist Christian Wolz when you want to read a book or enjoy a calm moment. Although Wolz’ incredible voice can sing like an angel, he often chooses his dark couterpart for musical expression. This new album is a soundboard of emotions and we should approach it that way. We are forced to face our dark sides, mostly through voice distortion supported by minimalistic and electronic music. Wolz doesn’t need words to tell us what the scale of human emotions looks, or sound like.

The opener, “Die Drei Tore”, starts with a rhythmic pulse on which the voice carefully tells us, in his own mystic language, the beginning of this musical journey. Layer by layer another voice is added: a whispering mantra-like verse, a shaman who casts out a demon, a howling scream for liberation,... On the following section there’s only place for dispair and isolation, created by screeching sounds or horrifying deep breathing. An exorcism is nearby. “Das Gefrorene Bewusstsein” reminds me of Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. This is probably the most intense track of the album. A harrowing expercience. “Philia” brings us some relief although another impatient, rhythmic pulse tells us there’s still no reconciliation to be found.

As the album progresses it becomes clear to me this isn’t a linear story. There’s no real beginning, middle piece or end to it. I have to be reminded that this is an album about emotions, where it’s all about associations and feeling things that can change very quickly. In that way this is an accomplished mission.

The voice as the most direct instrument of expression and emotions, that’s Wolz’ credo for the last twenty years. He still manages to take us by the throat and challenges us to experience music in a way little artists can do.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


NL

 

Een album van de Duitse stemkunstenaar Christian Wolz beluister je niet wanneer je wilt genieten van een boek of een rustig moment. Hoewel Wolz’ stem kan klinken als een engel kiest hij vaker de kant van zijn illustere en donkere tegenhanger. Deze nieuwe plaat is een klankbord van emoties en zo moeten we ze ook benaderen. We worden geconfronteerd met onze duistere kanten: veelal door stemvervorming, ondersteund door minimalistische en electronische muziek. Wolz heeft geen woorden nodig om ons te vertellen hoe het menselijk scala aan emoties eruit ziet, of klinkt.

De opener, “Die Drei Tore”, begint met een ritmische puls waarop de stem, in zijn eigen mystieke taal, ons voorzichtig het begin vertelt van deze muzikale reis. Laag na laag wordt een andere stem toegevoegd: een fluisterende mantra, een sjamaan die zijn demonen uitdrijft, een huilende schreeuw om bevrijding,... De dreigende puls wordt tot het eind aangehouden.

Daaropvolgend komen we terecht in een plaats waar wanhoop en isolatie klinkt. Een schurend en aanhoudend zwaar gehijg zorgt voor een claustrofobisch gevoel. Het geluid van een langgerekte duiveluitdrijving. “Das gefrorene Bewusstsein” herinnert me aan Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. Het gefluister, de kilte van de woorden, de repetitieve en vaak uitgespuwde klinkers, de verwarrende stemmen,... Dit is ongetwijfeld het meest intensieve nummer. “Philia” brengt wat licht binnenin deze duistere wereld, kabbelend water incluis. Alhoewel, de track eindigd als een vurige stammendans op een broeierige avond. De laatste geesten worden uitgedreven.

Doorheen het album wordt het me steeds duidelijker dat dit geen lineair verhaal is. Er is geen sprake van een begin, midden en slot. Ik word eraan herinnerd dat dit een album is over gevoelens, waar alles draait rond associaties. Gevoelens zijn wispelturig en kunnen vlug omslaan. Bij de verklanking hiervan is Wolz geslaagd. Angst, woede, vertwijfeling, opluchting, onmacht, haat, berusting,... we krijgen het allemaal te horen én te verwerken.

De stem als het meest directe instrument van uitdrukking en emoties. Dat is reeds twintig jaar lang Wolz’ credo. Hij blijft erin slagen om ons bij de keel te grijpen en ons uit te dagen om deze confrontatie aan te gaan. Dit alles zorgt voor een muzikale ervaring die ons weinig artiesten kunnen bieden.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


 

Next reviews
HATEMAGICK • Temple Of The Vampire
NADJA & TROUM • Dominium Visurgis
@C • Homem Fantasma
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P
LOS VIGILANTES • Los Vigilantes
BICHROM • Zeit-raum EP
VISION TALK • Distances
VENUS FLY TRAP • Nemesis
VOIDWORK • Basement / Kaos Limited Edition
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape

 

Other reviews from CHRISTIAN WOLZ
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • La Fore
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Ecencia
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + UNCLASSIFIABLE
APHEX TWIN • Syro
EMILIE AUTUMN • Fight Like A Girl
BEE MASK • Elegy For Beach Friday

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline