tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/08/2011 : CHRISTIAN WOLZ - Emotion15

CHRISTIAN WOLZ

Emotion15

MusicCD
ExperimentalUnclassifiable 31/08/2011, Tom PLOVIE

EN

You don’t listen to an album of the German vocal artist Christian Wolz when you want to read a book or enjoy a calm moment. Although Wolz’ incredible voice can sing like an angel, he often chooses his dark couterpart for musical expression. This new album is a soundboard of emotions and we should approach it that way. We are forced to face our dark sides, mostly through voice distortion supported by minimalistic and electronic music. Wolz doesn’t need words to tell us what the scale of human emotions looks, or sound like.

The opener, “Die Drei Tore”, starts with a rhythmic pulse on which the voice carefully tells us, in his own mystic language, the beginning of this musical journey. Layer by layer another voice is added: a whispering mantra-like verse, a shaman who casts out a demon, a howling scream for liberation,... On the following section there’s only place for dispair and isolation, created by screeching sounds or horrifying deep breathing. An exorcism is nearby. “Das Gefrorene Bewusstsein” reminds me of Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. This is probably the most intense track of the album. A harrowing expercience. “Philia” brings us some relief although another impatient, rhythmic pulse tells us there’s still no reconciliation to be found.

As the album progresses it becomes clear to me this isn’t a linear story. There’s no real beginning, middle piece or end to it. I have to be reminded that this is an album about emotions, where it’s all about associations and feeling things that can change very quickly. In that way this is an accomplished mission.

The voice as the most direct instrument of expression and emotions, that’s Wolz’ credo for the last twenty years. He still manages to take us by the throat and challenges us to experience music in a way little artists can do.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


NL

 

Een album van de Duitse stemkunstenaar Christian Wolz beluister je niet wanneer je wilt genieten van een boek of een rustig moment. Hoewel Wolz’ stem kan klinken als een engel kiest hij vaker de kant van zijn illustere en donkere tegenhanger. Deze nieuwe plaat is een klankbord van emoties en zo moeten we ze ook benaderen. We worden geconfronteerd met onze duistere kanten: veelal door stemvervorming, ondersteund door minimalistische en electronische muziek. Wolz heeft geen woorden nodig om ons te vertellen hoe het menselijk scala aan emoties eruit ziet, of klinkt.

De opener, “Die Drei Tore”, begint met een ritmische puls waarop de stem, in zijn eigen mystieke taal, ons voorzichtig het begin vertelt van deze muzikale reis. Laag na laag wordt een andere stem toegevoegd: een fluisterende mantra, een sjamaan die zijn demonen uitdrijft, een huilende schreeuw om bevrijding,... De dreigende puls wordt tot het eind aangehouden.

Daaropvolgend komen we terecht in een plaats waar wanhoop en isolatie klinkt. Een schurend en aanhoudend zwaar gehijg zorgt voor een claustrofobisch gevoel. Het geluid van een langgerekte duiveluitdrijving. “Das gefrorene Bewusstsein” herinnert me aan Diamanda Galas’ Vena Cava. Het gefluister, de kilte van de woorden, de repetitieve en vaak uitgespuwde klinkers, de verwarrende stemmen,... Dit is ongetwijfeld het meest intensieve nummer. “Philia” brengt wat licht binnenin deze duistere wereld, kabbelend water incluis. Alhoewel, de track eindigd als een vurige stammendans op een broeierige avond. De laatste geesten worden uitgedreven.

Doorheen het album wordt het me steeds duidelijker dat dit geen lineair verhaal is. Er is geen sprake van een begin, midden en slot. Ik word eraan herinnerd dat dit een album is over gevoelens, waar alles draait rond associaties. Gevoelens zijn wispelturig en kunnen vlug omslaan. Bij de verklanking hiervan is Wolz geslaagd. Angst, woede, vertwijfeling, opluchting, onmacht, haat, berusting,... we krijgen het allemaal te horen én te verwerken.

De stem als het meest directe instrument van uitdrukking en emoties. Dat is reeds twintig jaar lang Wolz’ credo. Hij blijft erin slagen om ons bij de keel te grijpen en ons uit te dagen om deze confrontatie aan te gaan. Dit alles zorgt voor een muzikale ervaring die ons weinig artiesten kunnen bieden.

Tom PLOVIE
31/08/2011


Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses