tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne

CHRISTOPHE HONORE

La Belle Personne

MovieMovie classics
Arthouse

[85/100]   

Filmfreaks
14/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We all know the gorgeous sexy looks from Léa Seydoux as a blue-haired woman in La Vie d’Adèle, but the French actress also made some gems before that deserved to be discovered. Therefore we dug in her filmographic past. What about La Belle Personne by Christophe Honoré for instance? A great arthouse production that is based upon the classic roman La Princesse de Clèves by Marie-Madeleine de La Fayette from 1678.

The adaption was a reaction to Nicolas Sarkozy who was back then one of the candidates for president. The politician couldn’t understand why such an old book was obligatory at school. It caused a small commotion and Honoré used the novel as the basic stone for the third part of his so-called Paris-trilogy (Dans Paris and Les Chansons D’amour). The director proved that today the subject is still hot and transformed the romantic (but tragic) love story to contemporary Paris.

The beautiful person is teenager Junie (Léa Seydoux). The sixteen-year old girl is shy, but with her looks she is wanted by every boy at school. In the end she chooses for Otto (Grégoire Leprince-Ringuet). It’s not an eternal love as there’s also teacher Nemours (Louis Garrel).

Don’t ask us why but in this movie it seems like a common thing that teachers sleep with their pupils. If you don’t ask too many questions on that matter then you can say that La Belle Personne is a touching love story that is perfectly directed by Christophe Honoré who later would make the (excellent) scandal movie Ma Mère with Isabelle Huppert and the French hit Les Bien-Aimés.

The stars of the movie however are the actors, not in the least because of the splendid chemical reaction between Louis Garrel (the beautiful guy whom you might know from The Dreamers by Bernardo Bertolucci) and the incredible Léa Seydoux who scored a César-nomination.

La Belle Personne is a touching, but very poetic movie that is similar to the work of Canadian wonder boy Xavier Dolan. Agreed, Léa Seydoux is the main reason why you give it a go, but the movie is also in a cinematographic way a winner!

The movie is still easy available on DVD on De Filmfreakdistributie.

Didier BECU
14/08/2014


NL

Sinds de Française met haar blauwe lokken op de poster van La Vie d’Adèle prijkte, weet iedereen hoe de adembenemende Léa Seydoux er uitziet. Misschien tijd om eens te grasduinen in haar rijke , maar wat onbekende filmverleden. La Belle Personne van Christophe Honoré bijvoorbeeld: een geslaagde arthouseproductie die losjes is gebaseerd op de klassieke roman La Princesse de Clèves van Marie-Madeleine de La Fayette uit 1678.

Deze adaptie was eigenlijk een veeg uit de pan naar Nicolas Sarkozy die toen nog presidentskandidaat was, omdat de rechtse politicus het land op zijn grondvesten deed daveren door te stellen dat hij het maar niet begreep waarom zo’n ouderwets boek in de Franse school nog verplichte lectuur was. In het derde deel van zijn Parijs-trilogie (Dans Paris en Les Chansons D’amour) bewees de cineast dat het onderwerp wel nog zeer actueel is en verplaatste het romantische (maar tragische) liefdesverhaal naar het Parijs van nu.

De mooie persoon in kwestie is scholierster Junie (Léa Seydoux). De zestienjarige dame is wel schuchter, maar brengt door haar knap uiterlijk het hoofd van iedere jongen op hol. Uiteindelijk valt zij in de armen van de Otto (Grégoire Leprince-Ringuet). Helaas voor hem zijn er kapers op de kust en wel leraar Nemours (Louis Garrel).

Blijkbaar is het de gewoonte in het Franse schooltje dat de leraars het met de studentes doen. Als je daar niet veel te vragen bij stelt dan is La Belle Personne een aangrijpend liefdesverhaal dat bovendien aantrekkelijk in beeld is gegoten door Christophe Honoré die later nog de schandaalfilm Ma Mère met Isabelle Huppert en de Franse superhit Les Bien-Aimés zou draaien.

Het zijn evenwel de acteurs die met de pluimen mogen gaan lopen, gewoonweg omdat er een magnifieke chemie is tussen Louis Garrel (de knapperd die doorbrak met The Dreamers van Bernardo Bertolucci) en de fantastische Léa Seydoux die er een César-nominatie aan overhield.

La Belle Personne is een ontroerende, maar tegelijkertijd ook poëtische film die gelijkenissen toont met het werk van wonderkind Xavier Dolan. Natuurlijk is Léa Seydoux letterlijk en figuurlijk het uithangbord van de film, maar ook wegens cinematografische pluspunten je aandacht meer dan waard.

De film is nog vlot te verkrijgen via De Filmfreakdistributie.

Didier BECU
14/08/2014


14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne 14/08/2014 : CHRISTOPHE HONORE - La Belle Personne

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger