tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

05/01/2015 : CINEMUERTE - Dhist EP

CINEMUERTE

Dhist EP

MusicCD (EP)
Rock

[70/100]   

Raging Planet
05/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Portuguese band (founded in 2002) from Lisbon. They were already supported My Chemical Romance and Him. On their previous album ( Aurora Core, 2008) they worked together with Moonspell-guitarist Ricardo Amorim; there was even a song that was written by Ribeiro (also Moonspell). Since 2011 a new album is announced, but for now we have to do it with this EP.

The five songs are mostly rock, while the singing is between Guesh Patti and Siouxsie. The opening track Dog starts pretty good, but after the intro it becomes lesser, just because it's all too chaotic. Her voice sounds better when she sings quieter. Heaven's Not Too Far is average, but Here Without You sounds pretty nice: a rock ballad with a beautiful structure. In Shining in the shadows the vocals are again pretty good. The last song, The Park, starts as a ballad, but evolves into a vicious rock song. Conclusion: One very good song, two nice ones and two to forget.

This EP is meritorious, but the songs are too mediocre to stand out, while they also have a lack of individuality, so I fear that this EP won’t change a lot for them.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2015


NL

Een Portugese band (opgericht in 2002) uit Lisbon. Ze stonden reeds in het voorprogramma van My Chemical Romance en Him. Op hun vorige cd (Aurora Core uit 2008) werkten ze o.a. met de gitarist van Moonspell (Ricardo Amorim), er stond trouwens ook een nummer op dat was geschreven door Ribeiro (ook Moonspell). Al sedert 2011 wordt een nieuw album aangekondigd, maar voorlopig moeten we het met deze ep stellen.

De 5 songs zijn grotendeels in een rocksaus gedrenkt. De zang situeert zich tussen Guesh Patti en Siouxsie. Het openingsnummer Dog begint vrij goed, maar na de intro wordt het minder, gewoon omdat het allemaal wat te chaotisch is. Haar stem klinkt ook beter wanneer ze rustiger zingt. Heaven’ s Not Too Far is matig uitgewerkt, maar Here Without You klinkt best aardig: Een mooi opgebouwde rockballad. In Shining shadows komt de zang opnieuw goed tot zijn recht. Het laatste nummer The Park begint als een ballad, maar evolueert tot een venijnige rocksong. Conclusie: eén heel goede song, twee aardige en twee om te vergeten.

De drums zijn wel heel vooraan gemixt en dat stoort het totaalgeluid bij momenten. Deze ep is verdienstelijk, maar de songs zijn te middelmatig om op te vallen in de massa. Tevens ontbreekt het aan eigenheid in hun werk, daarom vrees ik dat ze met deze ep geen hoge ogen zullen gooien. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/01/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven