tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : CLAIR OBSCUR - Sans Titre, 1992

CLAIR OBSCUR

Sans Titre, 1992

MusicCD
ClassicalDark WaveGothicMinimalUnclassifiable

[75/100]   

Infrastition
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Next to the aforementioned "Rock", "Sans Titre, 1992" is the other album by French coldwave-band Clair Obscur which has been reissued on Infrastition, again in beautiful large digipack and limited to 500 copies.

"Sans Titre, 1992" is perhaps the most anti-Clair Obscur that has been ever made.

Just like on "Rock", the band wanted to seek some unexplored horizons that ended up in an album with a rather subdued atmosphere where there's of course some space left for experiment. For example, in "Drive Me to the Beach" the French conversation is taken from Jean-Luc Godard's "Masculin, Féminin" or are the lyrics from "Ich weiss (nicht)" the verses from Die Lorelei by Heinrich Heine.

Art for art’s sake? Not really as you can just relax in your chair and dream away on its beauty, not giving a damn what’s it all about.

The most weird song is opener “Amore (la solution)” which sounds like Italo-pop from Umberto Tozzi, we kid you not! Of course it’s only the beginning and after some minutes you hear the typical Clair Obscur, they perhaps even took it a bit further on here.

There’s the ridiculous pop on “Stop”, the almost neo-classical piece “Tirésias” or the Erik Satie-inspired little gem that “O soleil” is and somewhere in this album you’ll even hear some bagpipes.

“Sans Titre, 1992” is indeed not the greatest classic Clair Obscur has ever made but it shows how varied this band was (or is). Sometimes bizarre, sometimes beautiful, sometimes just interesting but most of the time a beautiful fairy tale made in a motherless world.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Een paar dagen eerder bespraken we “Rock” van deze Franse coldwaveband en nu is er ook "Sans Titre, 1992" "Sans Titre, 1992" werd oorspronkelijk (zoals de titel zelf zegt) uitgebracht in 1992 en is nu terug door Infrastition op de markt gegooid. Net als “Rock” (en de twee voorgaande reissues "Antigone" & "The Pilgrim's Progress") weeral in een prachtige digipack op slechts 500 exemplaren.

Je zou best kunnen stellen dat "Sans Titre, 1992" het meest anti-Clair Obscur album is dat deze Fransen ooit hebben uitgebracht. Net als bij “Rock” had deze avant-gardistische bende nood aan het zoeken naar nieuwe horizonten, wat resulteerde in een eerder gezapige plaat waar de nodige plaats gelaten werd voor wat experiment.
Zo zijn bijvoorbeeld de Franse dialogen in "Drive Me to the Beach" genomen uit Jean-Luc Godard’s "Masculin, Féminin" of zijn de teksten van "Ich weiss (nicht)" gewoon de versen van Die Lorelei van Heinrich Heine.
Moeilijk doen om moeilijk te doen? Niet echt, want je kan evengoed in je luie zetel wegzakken en je laten meeslepen door de schoonheid van de muziek en je geen moer aantrekken van waar het nu in feite allemaal om draait.

Het meest aparte nummer is zonder twijfel opener “Amore (la solution)” dat veel weg heeft van de Italopop waar Umberto Tozzi een patent lijkt op te hebben. We menen het!
Gelukkig duurt dit geintje slechts enkele minuten want vrij vlug nadien krijgen we de typische Clair Obscur-stijl voorgeschoteld, ook al drijven ze het hier een beetje verder.
Zo is er de riduculeuze pop van“Stop”, is “Tirésias” net geen klassiek of is het prachtige “O Soleil” duidelijk geinspireerd door Erik Satie, en dan hebben we het niet eens over de doedelzakken die ergens middenin dit album opduiken.

 “Sans Titre, 1992” is inderdaad niet meteen het grootste Clair Obscur-album bij uitstek, maar het toont wel aan hoe gevarieerd deze groep kan zijn..
Soms een beetje bizar, soms mooi, soms gewoonweg interessant en eigenlijk het meest van al een wondermooi sprookje in een harteloze wereld.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


 

Next reviews
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
REZUREX • Dance of the dead
INCITE • Dare to dance
SKOLD • Anomie
ASK THE DUST • Covers And Stuff
DEADCIBEL • Klondike
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife

 

Other reviews from CLAIR OBSCUR
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)