tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : CLAIR OBSCUR - Sans Titre, 1992

CLAIR OBSCUR

Sans Titre, 1992

MusicCD
ClassicalDark WaveGothicMinimalUnclassifiable

[75/100]   

Infrastition
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Next to the aforementioned "Rock", "Sans Titre, 1992" is the other album by French coldwave-band Clair Obscur which has been reissued on Infrastition, again in beautiful large digipack and limited to 500 copies.

"Sans Titre, 1992" is perhaps the most anti-Clair Obscur that has been ever made.

Just like on "Rock", the band wanted to seek some unexplored horizons that ended up in an album with a rather subdued atmosphere where there's of course some space left for experiment. For example, in "Drive Me to the Beach" the French conversation is taken from Jean-Luc Godard's "Masculin, Féminin" or are the lyrics from "Ich weiss (nicht)" the verses from Die Lorelei by Heinrich Heine.

Art for art’s sake? Not really as you can just relax in your chair and dream away on its beauty, not giving a damn what’s it all about.

The most weird song is opener “Amore (la solution)” which sounds like Italo-pop from Umberto Tozzi, we kid you not! Of course it’s only the beginning and after some minutes you hear the typical Clair Obscur, they perhaps even took it a bit further on here.

There’s the ridiculous pop on “Stop”, the almost neo-classical piece “Tirésias” or the Erik Satie-inspired little gem that “O soleil” is and somewhere in this album you’ll even hear some bagpipes.

“Sans Titre, 1992” is indeed not the greatest classic Clair Obscur has ever made but it shows how varied this band was (or is). Sometimes bizarre, sometimes beautiful, sometimes just interesting but most of the time a beautiful fairy tale made in a motherless world.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Een paar dagen eerder bespraken we “Rock” van deze Franse coldwaveband en nu is er ook "Sans Titre, 1992" "Sans Titre, 1992" werd oorspronkelijk (zoals de titel zelf zegt) uitgebracht in 1992 en is nu terug door Infrastition op de markt gegooid. Net als “Rock” (en de twee voorgaande reissues "Antigone" & "The Pilgrim's Progress") weeral in een prachtige digipack op slechts 500 exemplaren.

Je zou best kunnen stellen dat "Sans Titre, 1992" het meest anti-Clair Obscur album is dat deze Fransen ooit hebben uitgebracht. Net als bij “Rock” had deze avant-gardistische bende nood aan het zoeken naar nieuwe horizonten, wat resulteerde in een eerder gezapige plaat waar de nodige plaats gelaten werd voor wat experiment.
Zo zijn bijvoorbeeld de Franse dialogen in "Drive Me to the Beach" genomen uit Jean-Luc Godard’s "Masculin, Féminin" of zijn de teksten van "Ich weiss (nicht)" gewoon de versen van Die Lorelei van Heinrich Heine.
Moeilijk doen om moeilijk te doen? Niet echt, want je kan evengoed in je luie zetel wegzakken en je laten meeslepen door de schoonheid van de muziek en je geen moer aantrekken van waar het nu in feite allemaal om draait.

Het meest aparte nummer is zonder twijfel opener “Amore (la solution)” dat veel weg heeft van de Italopop waar Umberto Tozzi een patent lijkt op te hebben. We menen het!
Gelukkig duurt dit geintje slechts enkele minuten want vrij vlug nadien krijgen we de typische Clair Obscur-stijl voorgeschoteld, ook al drijven ze het hier een beetje verder.
Zo is er de riduculeuze pop van“Stop”, is “Tirésias” net geen klassiek of is het prachtige “O Soleil” duidelijk geinspireerd door Erik Satie, en dan hebben we het niet eens over de doedelzakken die ergens middenin dit album opduiken.

 “Sans Titre, 1992” is inderdaad niet meteen het grootste Clair Obscur-album bij uitstek, maar het toont wel aan hoe gevarieerd deze groep kan zijn..
Soms een beetje bizar, soms mooi, soms gewoonweg interessant en eigenlijk het meest van al een wondermooi sprookje in een harteloze wereld.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


 

Next reviews
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
REZUREX • Dance of the dead
INCITE • Dare to dance
SKOLD • Anomie
ASK THE DUST • Covers And Stuff
DEADCIBEL • Klondike
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife

 

Other reviews from CLAIR OBSCUR
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire