tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : CLAIR OBSCUR - Sans Titre, 1992

CLAIR OBSCUR

Sans Titre, 1992

MusicCD
ClassicalDark WaveGothicMinimalUnclassifiable

[75/100]   

Infrastition
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Next to the aforementioned "Rock", "Sans Titre, 1992" is the other album by French coldwave-band Clair Obscur which has been reissued on Infrastition, again in beautiful large digipack and limited to 500 copies.

"Sans Titre, 1992" is perhaps the most anti-Clair Obscur that has been ever made.

Just like on "Rock", the band wanted to seek some unexplored horizons that ended up in an album with a rather subdued atmosphere where there's of course some space left for experiment. For example, in "Drive Me to the Beach" the French conversation is taken from Jean-Luc Godard's "Masculin, Féminin" or are the lyrics from "Ich weiss (nicht)" the verses from Die Lorelei by Heinrich Heine.

Art for art’s sake? Not really as you can just relax in your chair and dream away on its beauty, not giving a damn what’s it all about.

The most weird song is opener “Amore (la solution)” which sounds like Italo-pop from Umberto Tozzi, we kid you not! Of course it’s only the beginning and after some minutes you hear the typical Clair Obscur, they perhaps even took it a bit further on here.

There’s the ridiculous pop on “Stop”, the almost neo-classical piece “Tirésias” or the Erik Satie-inspired little gem that “O soleil” is and somewhere in this album you’ll even hear some bagpipes.

“Sans Titre, 1992” is indeed not the greatest classic Clair Obscur has ever made but it shows how varied this band was (or is). Sometimes bizarre, sometimes beautiful, sometimes just interesting but most of the time a beautiful fairy tale made in a motherless world.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Een paar dagen eerder bespraken we “Rock” van deze Franse coldwaveband en nu is er ook "Sans Titre, 1992" "Sans Titre, 1992" werd oorspronkelijk (zoals de titel zelf zegt) uitgebracht in 1992 en is nu terug door Infrastition op de markt gegooid. Net als “Rock” (en de twee voorgaande reissues "Antigone" & "The Pilgrim's Progress") weeral in een prachtige digipack op slechts 500 exemplaren.

Je zou best kunnen stellen dat "Sans Titre, 1992" het meest anti-Clair Obscur album is dat deze Fransen ooit hebben uitgebracht. Net als bij “Rock” had deze avant-gardistische bende nood aan het zoeken naar nieuwe horizonten, wat resulteerde in een eerder gezapige plaat waar de nodige plaats gelaten werd voor wat experiment.
Zo zijn bijvoorbeeld de Franse dialogen in "Drive Me to the Beach" genomen uit Jean-Luc Godard’s "Masculin, Féminin" of zijn de teksten van "Ich weiss (nicht)" gewoon de versen van Die Lorelei van Heinrich Heine.
Moeilijk doen om moeilijk te doen? Niet echt, want je kan evengoed in je luie zetel wegzakken en je laten meeslepen door de schoonheid van de muziek en je geen moer aantrekken van waar het nu in feite allemaal om draait.

Het meest aparte nummer is zonder twijfel opener “Amore (la solution)” dat veel weg heeft van de Italopop waar Umberto Tozzi een patent lijkt op te hebben. We menen het!
Gelukkig duurt dit geintje slechts enkele minuten want vrij vlug nadien krijgen we de typische Clair Obscur-stijl voorgeschoteld, ook al drijven ze het hier een beetje verder.
Zo is er de riduculeuze pop van“Stop”, is “Tirésias” net geen klassiek of is het prachtige “O Soleil” duidelijk geinspireerd door Erik Satie, en dan hebben we het niet eens over de doedelzakken die ergens middenin dit album opduiken.

 “Sans Titre, 1992” is inderdaad niet meteen het grootste Clair Obscur-album bij uitstek, maar het toont wel aan hoe gevarieerd deze groep kan zijn..
Soms een beetje bizar, soms mooi, soms gewoonweg interessant en eigenlijk het meest van al een wondermooi sprookje in een harteloze wereld.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


 

Next reviews
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
REZUREX • Dance of the dead
INCITE • Dare to dance
SKOLD • Anomie
ASK THE DUST • Covers And Stuff
DEADCIBEL • Klondike
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife

 

Other reviews from CLAIR OBSCUR
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith