tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/07/2011 : CLAIR OBSCUR - Sans Titre, 1992

CLAIR OBSCUR

Sans Titre, 1992

MusicCD
ClassicalDark WaveGothicMinimalUnclassifiable

[75/100]   

Infrastition
07/07/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Next to the aforementioned "Rock", "Sans Titre, 1992" is the other album by French coldwave-band Clair Obscur which has been reissued on Infrastition, again in beautiful large digipack and limited to 500 copies.

"Sans Titre, 1992" is perhaps the most anti-Clair Obscur that has been ever made.

Just like on "Rock", the band wanted to seek some unexplored horizons that ended up in an album with a rather subdued atmosphere where there's of course some space left for experiment. For example, in "Drive Me to the Beach" the French conversation is taken from Jean-Luc Godard's "Masculin, Féminin" or are the lyrics from "Ich weiss (nicht)" the verses from Die Lorelei by Heinrich Heine.

Art for art’s sake? Not really as you can just relax in your chair and dream away on its beauty, not giving a damn what’s it all about.

The most weird song is opener “Amore (la solution)” which sounds like Italo-pop from Umberto Tozzi, we kid you not! Of course it’s only the beginning and after some minutes you hear the typical Clair Obscur, they perhaps even took it a bit further on here.

There’s the ridiculous pop on “Stop”, the almost neo-classical piece “Tirésias” or the Erik Satie-inspired little gem that “O soleil” is and somewhere in this album you’ll even hear some bagpipes.

“Sans Titre, 1992” is indeed not the greatest classic Clair Obscur has ever made but it shows how varied this band was (or is). Sometimes bizarre, sometimes beautiful, sometimes just interesting but most of the time a beautiful fairy tale made in a motherless world.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


NL

Een paar dagen eerder bespraken we “Rock” van deze Franse coldwaveband en nu is er ook "Sans Titre, 1992" "Sans Titre, 1992" werd oorspronkelijk (zoals de titel zelf zegt) uitgebracht in 1992 en is nu terug door Infrastition op de markt gegooid. Net als “Rock” (en de twee voorgaande reissues "Antigone" & "The Pilgrim's Progress") weeral in een prachtige digipack op slechts 500 exemplaren.

Je zou best kunnen stellen dat "Sans Titre, 1992" het meest anti-Clair Obscur album is dat deze Fransen ooit hebben uitgebracht. Net als bij “Rock” had deze avant-gardistische bende nood aan het zoeken naar nieuwe horizonten, wat resulteerde in een eerder gezapige plaat waar de nodige plaats gelaten werd voor wat experiment.
Zo zijn bijvoorbeeld de Franse dialogen in "Drive Me to the Beach" genomen uit Jean-Luc Godard’s "Masculin, Féminin" of zijn de teksten van "Ich weiss (nicht)" gewoon de versen van Die Lorelei van Heinrich Heine.
Moeilijk doen om moeilijk te doen? Niet echt, want je kan evengoed in je luie zetel wegzakken en je laten meeslepen door de schoonheid van de muziek en je geen moer aantrekken van waar het nu in feite allemaal om draait.

Het meest aparte nummer is zonder twijfel opener “Amore (la solution)” dat veel weg heeft van de Italopop waar Umberto Tozzi een patent lijkt op te hebben. We menen het!
Gelukkig duurt dit geintje slechts enkele minuten want vrij vlug nadien krijgen we de typische Clair Obscur-stijl voorgeschoteld, ook al drijven ze het hier een beetje verder.
Zo is er de riduculeuze pop van“Stop”, is “Tirésias” net geen klassiek of is het prachtige “O Soleil” duidelijk geinspireerd door Erik Satie, en dan hebben we het niet eens over de doedelzakken die ergens middenin dit album opduiken.

 “Sans Titre, 1992” is inderdaad niet meteen het grootste Clair Obscur-album bij uitstek, maar het toont wel aan hoe gevarieerd deze groep kan zijn..
Soms een beetje bizar, soms mooi, soms gewoonweg interessant en eigenlijk het meest van al een wondermooi sprookje in een harteloze wereld.

 

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2011


 

Next reviews
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
REZUREX • Dance of the dead
INCITE • Dare to dance
SKOLD • Anomie
ASK THE DUST • Covers And Stuff
DEADCIBEL • Klondike
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?
ULTERIOR • Wild in wildlife

 

Other reviews from CLAIR OBSCUR
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna