tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : CLAN OF XYMOX - The Darkest Hour

CLAN OF XYMOX

The Darkest Hour

MusicCD
ElectroGothicIndustrialNew wave

[83/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

“The darkest hour” has become the 13thalbum in the 30 years of Clan Of Xymox. It sounds incredible and it seems like this band still have more than enough artistic skill to produce an album to watch out for.

The funniest thing (and probably their secret) is that every album tends to be different, even if “dark” and “melancholic” are the keywords in them all. The newest child from Ronny features ten tracks and will be released on his birthday, 20thMay.

Highlights such as “She did not answer” (reminiscent of the synthpop-grandeur that “Twist Of Shadows” is) and “Tears ago” are the kind of tracks where Clan Of Xymox proves again, that they are masters in danceable songs with an ultimate melancholic feel. “Delete” and “My chicane” are similar to the industrial-goth tracks we could hear on their previous album “In love we trust”. A Xymox record wouldn’t be complete without an instrumental gem and this time the title track “The darkest hour” gets this honour.

There will certainly be people around who’ll state that once again this album is not a “Medusa”, but those same people have missed two decades of Xymox history. Still, we have another album to fill our summer with great wave songs and even if it might not be the best Xymox album ever, we recommend it from the heart and without any doubt Xymox fans can’t wait to hear the newest tracks from the king of melancholy.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

“The darkest hour” is ondertussen reeds het dertiende album in 30 jaar Clan Of Xymox geworden en ook al lijkt het ongelooflijk, nog steeds ziet het er niet naar uit dat deze groep aan artistieke ademsnood lijdt, integendeel!

Nu ja, er zullen wel altijd mensen zijn die zullen beweren dat dit album geen “Medusa” geworden is maar dat zijn dan ook mensen die bijna twee decennia Xymoxgeschiedenis gemist hebben want sinds de comeback-album “Hidden Faces” was het duidelijk dat het brein achter de groep, Ronny Moorings, respect had voor zijn verleden maar dat hij het ook in een hedendaags electro-indusjasje wilde omzetten.

Het leuke (en waarschijnlijk ook het geheim) aan het Xymox verhaal is dat deze groep op iedere cd anders uit de hoek komt, ook al blijven de sleutelwoorden “donker” en “melancholish” heten.

Ronny’s nieuwste boreling (uitgebracht op diens verjaardag, 20 mei) bevat wederom tien tracks.

Absolute uitschieters zijn “She did not answer” dat “Twist Of Shadows”-momenten oproept maar het is vooral “Tears ago” die met de eer van best track gaat lopen want voor de honderste keer (of is het nu meer?) bewijzen Xymox dat zij bijna een monopolierecht hebben op dansbare nummers die bol staan van de melancholie.

Met “Delete” of “My chicane” krijgen we dan weer de meer indus-achtige goth nummers te horen zoals we die kennen van de voorganger “In love we trust”.

En wat zou een Xymoxplaat waard zijn zonder een instrumentaal pareltje? Deze keer is dat titeltrack “The darkest hour” die met de eer gaat lopen, wat er ons eigenlijk doet aan denken dat het geen gek idee zou zijn om eens een cd uit te brengen van alle instrumentale nummertjes die deze band ooit gemaakt heeft.

Nu goed, we zijn in ieder geval weer gevoed voor een zomer lang melancholie en ook al is het niet de beste Xymoxplaat aller tijden, het blijft weliswaar een tip waarbij de Xymoxfans ongetwijfeld weer staan te watertanden om de nieuwe nummers van de koning van de melancholie te horen.

Uiteraard staat Clan Of Xymox op Shadowplayfestival.

Clan Of Xymox

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked

 

Other reviews from CLAN OF XYMOX
CLAN OF XYMOX • Frankfurt, Das Bett (13/02/2016)
CLAN OF XYMOX • Forever in love with Medusa
CLAN OF XYMOX • Kindred Spirits

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real