tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : CLAN OF XYMOX - The Darkest Hour

CLAN OF XYMOX

The Darkest Hour

MusicCD
ElectroGothicIndustrialNew wave

[83/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

“The darkest hour” has become the 13thalbum in the 30 years of Clan Of Xymox. It sounds incredible and it seems like this band still have more than enough artistic skill to produce an album to watch out for.

The funniest thing (and probably their secret) is that every album tends to be different, even if “dark” and “melancholic” are the keywords in them all. The newest child from Ronny features ten tracks and will be released on his birthday, 20thMay.

Highlights such as “She did not answer” (reminiscent of the synthpop-grandeur that “Twist Of Shadows” is) and “Tears ago” are the kind of tracks where Clan Of Xymox proves again, that they are masters in danceable songs with an ultimate melancholic feel. “Delete” and “My chicane” are similar to the industrial-goth tracks we could hear on their previous album “In love we trust”. A Xymox record wouldn’t be complete without an instrumental gem and this time the title track “The darkest hour” gets this honour.

There will certainly be people around who’ll state that once again this album is not a “Medusa”, but those same people have missed two decades of Xymox history. Still, we have another album to fill our summer with great wave songs and even if it might not be the best Xymox album ever, we recommend it from the heart and without any doubt Xymox fans can’t wait to hear the newest tracks from the king of melancholy.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

“The darkest hour” is ondertussen reeds het dertiende album in 30 jaar Clan Of Xymox geworden en ook al lijkt het ongelooflijk, nog steeds ziet het er niet naar uit dat deze groep aan artistieke ademsnood lijdt, integendeel!

Nu ja, er zullen wel altijd mensen zijn die zullen beweren dat dit album geen “Medusa” geworden is maar dat zijn dan ook mensen die bijna twee decennia Xymoxgeschiedenis gemist hebben want sinds de comeback-album “Hidden Faces” was het duidelijk dat het brein achter de groep, Ronny Moorings, respect had voor zijn verleden maar dat hij het ook in een hedendaags electro-indusjasje wilde omzetten.

Het leuke (en waarschijnlijk ook het geheim) aan het Xymox verhaal is dat deze groep op iedere cd anders uit de hoek komt, ook al blijven de sleutelwoorden “donker” en “melancholish” heten.

Ronny’s nieuwste boreling (uitgebracht op diens verjaardag, 20 mei) bevat wederom tien tracks.

Absolute uitschieters zijn “She did not answer” dat “Twist Of Shadows”-momenten oproept maar het is vooral “Tears ago” die met de eer van best track gaat lopen want voor de honderste keer (of is het nu meer?) bewijzen Xymox dat zij bijna een monopolierecht hebben op dansbare nummers die bol staan van de melancholie.

Met “Delete” of “My chicane” krijgen we dan weer de meer indus-achtige goth nummers te horen zoals we die kennen van de voorganger “In love we trust”.

En wat zou een Xymoxplaat waard zijn zonder een instrumentaal pareltje? Deze keer is dat titeltrack “The darkest hour” die met de eer gaat lopen, wat er ons eigenlijk doet aan denken dat het geen gek idee zou zijn om eens een cd uit te brengen van alle instrumentale nummertjes die deze band ooit gemaakt heeft.

Nu goed, we zijn in ieder geval weer gevoed voor een zomer lang melancholie en ook al is het niet de beste Xymoxplaat aller tijden, het blijft weliswaar een tip waarbij de Xymoxfans ongetwijfeld weer staan te watertanden om de nieuwe nummers van de koning van de melancholie te horen.

Uiteraard staat Clan Of Xymox op Shadowplayfestival.

Clan Of Xymox

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked

 

Other reviews from CLAN OF XYMOX
CLAN OF XYMOX • Frankfurt, Das Bett (13/02/2016)
CLAN OF XYMOX • Forever in love with Medusa
CLAN OF XYMOX • Kindred Spirits

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)