tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : CLAN OF XYMOX - The Darkest Hour

CLAN OF XYMOX

The Darkest Hour

MusicCD
ElectroGothicIndustrialNew wave

[83/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

“The darkest hour” has become the 13thalbum in the 30 years of Clan Of Xymox. It sounds incredible and it seems like this band still have more than enough artistic skill to produce an album to watch out for.

The funniest thing (and probably their secret) is that every album tends to be different, even if “dark” and “melancholic” are the keywords in them all. The newest child from Ronny features ten tracks and will be released on his birthday, 20thMay.

Highlights such as “She did not answer” (reminiscent of the synthpop-grandeur that “Twist Of Shadows” is) and “Tears ago” are the kind of tracks where Clan Of Xymox proves again, that they are masters in danceable songs with an ultimate melancholic feel. “Delete” and “My chicane” are similar to the industrial-goth tracks we could hear on their previous album “In love we trust”. A Xymox record wouldn’t be complete without an instrumental gem and this time the title track “The darkest hour” gets this honour.

There will certainly be people around who’ll state that once again this album is not a “Medusa”, but those same people have missed two decades of Xymox history. Still, we have another album to fill our summer with great wave songs and even if it might not be the best Xymox album ever, we recommend it from the heart and without any doubt Xymox fans can’t wait to hear the newest tracks from the king of melancholy.

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

“The darkest hour” is ondertussen reeds het dertiende album in 30 jaar Clan Of Xymox geworden en ook al lijkt het ongelooflijk, nog steeds ziet het er niet naar uit dat deze groep aan artistieke ademsnood lijdt, integendeel!

Nu ja, er zullen wel altijd mensen zijn die zullen beweren dat dit album geen “Medusa” geworden is maar dat zijn dan ook mensen die bijna twee decennia Xymoxgeschiedenis gemist hebben want sinds de comeback-album “Hidden Faces” was het duidelijk dat het brein achter de groep, Ronny Moorings, respect had voor zijn verleden maar dat hij het ook in een hedendaags electro-indusjasje wilde omzetten.

Het leuke (en waarschijnlijk ook het geheim) aan het Xymox verhaal is dat deze groep op iedere cd anders uit de hoek komt, ook al blijven de sleutelwoorden “donker” en “melancholish” heten.

Ronny’s nieuwste boreling (uitgebracht op diens verjaardag, 20 mei) bevat wederom tien tracks.

Absolute uitschieters zijn “She did not answer” dat “Twist Of Shadows”-momenten oproept maar het is vooral “Tears ago” die met de eer van best track gaat lopen want voor de honderste keer (of is het nu meer?) bewijzen Xymox dat zij bijna een monopolierecht hebben op dansbare nummers die bol staan van de melancholie.

Met “Delete” of “My chicane” krijgen we dan weer de meer indus-achtige goth nummers te horen zoals we die kennen van de voorganger “In love we trust”.

En wat zou een Xymoxplaat waard zijn zonder een instrumentaal pareltje? Deze keer is dat titeltrack “The darkest hour” die met de eer gaat lopen, wat er ons eigenlijk doet aan denken dat het geen gek idee zou zijn om eens een cd uit te brengen van alle instrumentale nummertjes die deze band ooit gemaakt heeft.

Nu goed, we zijn in ieder geval weer gevoed voor een zomer lang melancholie en ook al is het niet de beste Xymoxplaat aller tijden, het blijft weliswaar een tip waarbij de Xymoxfans ongetwijfeld weer staan te watertanden om de nieuwe nummers van de koning van de melancholie te horen.

Uiteraard staat Clan Of Xymox op Shadowplayfestival.

Clan Of Xymox

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


 

Next reviews
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth
JULIEN SOULIER & VINCENT FALLACARA • Rapsodies Emosexuelles
MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY • Untold world
CHROMAGAIN • Any colour we liked

 

Other reviews from CLAN OF XYMOX
CLAN OF XYMOX • Frankfurt, Das Bett (13/02/2016)
CLAN OF XYMOX • Forever in love with Medusa
CLAN OF XYMOX • Kindred Spirits

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut