tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon

CLAUDE SAUTET

Garçon

MusicCD
ComedyDrama

[79/100]   

Path
01/08/2015, Didier BECU

Before the terrible term feelgood film was invented, there was the cinema of Claude Sautet. Even if his greatest masterpiece is a gangster film (Classe Tous Risques), Sautet tried to make our lives better by showing fragments from daily life in films like Les Choses De La Vie en César et Rosalie Sautet previously worked with Yves Montand, but the producers thought that it would not be so easy to persuade him for this project. In 1983 Montand was still the fave actor of Costa-Gavras, the grand master of French political thrillers. In his latest film Sautet wanted to tell the story of a man who works as a waiter in a brasserie after an unsuccessful career as a tap dancer and dreamsof starting his own playground for children. It is a story that many actors would reject, but Montand immediately agreed after he read the paper-thin script. Garçon is not Montand's best film, but undoubtedly one of his funniest!

The film was a bit overlooked in 1983 and was only a hit in France because Montand is an institution there. In times of restored versions on Blu-ray (and also by the current offerings in the cinema that are sad) we have the ability to rediscover great classics, Garçon is an ultimate example. For 90 minutes we are in the company of the sympathetic Alex (Yves Montand) who works day in and day out like a madman to serve the customers. The kitchen is a real cauldron and he can hardly stand the stress, but the customer is king and so Alex puts on a smile, even though his private life is a mess. He lives with his best friend and colleague Gilbert (Jacques Villeret), but he dreams of a relationship with Claire (Nicole Garcia), but that does not work out so well.

Garçon is a great movie on two fronts. The film feels like a splendid musical (even though not one word is sung), but it is also the time spirit that ensures some hilarity. We can hardly imagine it today, yet it was normal in 1983 that a waiter gave you a dish with in his other hand a cigarette. The script writers made sure that Montand always had nice company. Alex is penniless, even a bit old and lives with a colleague in a little apartment, yet young women fall for his charm. And we could go on for a while, but Garçon is simply delicious French cinema with a brilliant Montand, the kind of film that we miss in the cinema halls today.

Didier BECU
01/08/2015


01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon

 

Next reviews
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
JONAH FOREE (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RYAN HUTMAN (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HENRY KING • The Bravados
CRISTIAN SOTO VANELLI (DIE BRAUT, NEURAL EMBRYONIC, XIAN TRANCE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIOTMILOO & FRIENDS • La Pierre Soudée
JACQUES DERAY • Le Marginal
ROBERT PALMER • Essential albums by Robert Palmer
MIST • The Loop of Love
BRIAN DE PALMA • Redacted

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)