tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon

CLAUDE SAUTET

Garçon

MusicCD
ComedyDrama

[79/100]   

Path
01/08/2015, Didier BECU

Before the terrible term feelgood film was invented, there was the cinema of Claude Sautet. Even if his greatest masterpiece is a gangster film (Classe Tous Risques), Sautet tried to make our lives better by showing fragments from daily life in films like Les Choses De La Vie en César et Rosalie Sautet previously worked with Yves Montand, but the producers thought that it would not be so easy to persuade him for this project. In 1983 Montand was still the fave actor of Costa-Gavras, the grand master of French political thrillers. In his latest film Sautet wanted to tell the story of a man who works as a waiter in a brasserie after an unsuccessful career as a tap dancer and dreamsof starting his own playground for children. It is a story that many actors would reject, but Montand immediately agreed after he read the paper-thin script. Garçon is not Montand's best film, but undoubtedly one of his funniest!

The film was a bit overlooked in 1983 and was only a hit in France because Montand is an institution there. In times of restored versions on Blu-ray (and also by the current offerings in the cinema that are sad) we have the ability to rediscover great classics, Garçon is an ultimate example. For 90 minutes we are in the company of the sympathetic Alex (Yves Montand) who works day in and day out like a madman to serve the customers. The kitchen is a real cauldron and he can hardly stand the stress, but the customer is king and so Alex puts on a smile, even though his private life is a mess. He lives with his best friend and colleague Gilbert (Jacques Villeret), but he dreams of a relationship with Claire (Nicole Garcia), but that does not work out so well.

Garçon is a great movie on two fronts. The film feels like a splendid musical (even though not one word is sung), but it is also the time spirit that ensures some hilarity. We can hardly imagine it today, yet it was normal in 1983 that a waiter gave you a dish with in his other hand a cigarette. The script writers made sure that Montand always had nice company. Alex is penniless, even a bit old and lives with a colleague in a little apartment, yet young women fall for his charm. And we could go on for a while, but Garçon is simply delicious French cinema with a brilliant Montand, the kind of film that we miss in the cinema halls today.

Didier BECU
01/08/2015


01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon 01/08/2015 : CLAUDE SAUTET - Garçon

 

Next reviews
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
JONAH FOREE (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RYAN HUTMAN (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HENRY KING • The Bravados
CRISTIAN SOTO VANELLI (DIE BRAUT, NEURAL EMBRYONIC, XIAN TRANCE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIOTMILOO & FRIENDS • La Pierre Soudée
JACQUES DERAY • Le Marginal
ROBERT PALMER • Essential albums by Robert Palmer
MIST • The Loop of Love
BRIAN DE PALMA • Redacted

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna