tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CLAUDIA BRUCKEN - Combined

CLAUDIA BRUCKEN

Combined

MusicCD
New wavePop
ZTT
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

In 1985 Propaganda probably made with A Perfect Wish perhaps the most perfect pop album ever. However, the secret key of the success of the band that featured Die Krupps synthesist Ralf Dörper was Claudia Brücken’s voice. When she left the band, the next album 1234 was one of the biggest flops ever. You can blame it on the stupid title, but Propganda simply was Claudia Brücken and her husband Paul Morley: the former NME-journalist who founded with Trevor Horn and Jill Sinclair the influential label ZTT (Zang Tumb Tuum) which was the home of Art of Noise and Frankie Goes To Hollywood.

After she left Propaganda, Claudia collaborated with Thomas Leer and formed Act. The album Laughter, Tears And Rage was a decent one that even contained one of the most perfect pop songs ever (Snobbery And Decay), but it failed completely. In fact, after Propaganda, the whole career of Claudia was something that could have been, but never happened.

Her solo album Love:And A Million Other Things on which she played the role of some Euro disco queen was completely ignored too, because the team at Island Records which was supposed to promote her album was fired when it was released. And so, no one knew Claudia had an album out.

Even if Claudia almost became invisble, she always remained an icon and worked with legends like Andy Bell of Erasure and Martin L. Gore. There was even a small hope that Propaganda would be reunited, but it were plans only. Later she formed Onetwo with her new lover, Paul Humphreys of OMD. Again, no one really cared about it.

Claudia Brücken became the underground artist who was once at the big top. All her material is worth checking out, even if it’s not that easy to find it all. Combined is an excellent compilation that features the best songs of every period of her career. It goes from the dark cinematic pop of Dr. Mabuse to the cheesy disco of Absolut(e).

This album contains two remarkable covers: David Bowie’s This Is Not America and Roy Orbison’s epic masterpiece In Dreams.

A compilation with no greatest hits (simply because there are none), but all songs you absolutely need to hear.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain