tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : CLUB 8 - Pleasure

CLUB 8

Pleasure

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Labrador Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Indie pop fans probably already have heard of Club 8: the Swedish duo Johan and Karolina Kornstedt Angerhard. They have been around since 1995, and made in that same year three home recordings that were sent to their favorite labels. The response was huge, and yhe start of their career. In those days they combined bossa nova with both pop and dance. After a while, they dropped the bossa nova element, and today we hear indie pop with dance elements. In November, they release their ninth album Pleasure.

The music consists mainly of keys and synths. Just as the artwork, the music is very stylish. Karolina has a nice voice to listen to, and the songs are well structured: melodic with a glimpse of ethereal elements. The single Love Dies is a midtempo song that sounds a bit like Portishead (but without the trip hop). Skin has a higher tempo and this song goes even more into the direction of the dance floor.

The term indie pop does not really fit for their music because they ultimately choose for electro pop like Robyn, The Modern, Ladytron, La Roux or Chvrches. A really great album! Pleasure? With such an album, definitely!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Fans van indiepop zullen misschien al van Club 8 hebben gehoord: het Zweedse duo Karolina Komstedt and Johan Angerhard. Ze bestaan al sedert 1995 en maakten in dat jaar een drietal thuisopnames om die vervolgens naar hun favoriete labels te sturen. De respons was enorm, en meteen ook de start van hun carrière. In die dagen combineerden ze bossa nova met zowel pop als dance. Na een tijdje lieten ze de bossa nova vallen, en vandaag horen we indiepop met danselementen. In november brengen ze hun negende album Pleasure uit.

De muziek bestaat voornamelijk uit keys en synths. Net zoals het artwork is het allemaal heel stijlvol. Karolina heeft een aangename stem om naar te luisteren en de nummers zijn goed opgebouwd: melodisch met daarin een glimp etherische elementen. Er is tevens veel aandacht voor de sfeer. De single Love Dies is een midtempo nummer dat een beetje als Portishead klinkt (maar dan wel zonder de trip hop). Op Skin jagen ze het tempo een beetje op en gaan ze nog nadrukkelijker in de richting van de dansvloer. Acht nummers lang een plezier voor het oor.

De term indiepop past niet echt meer voor hun muziek, omdat ze uiteindelijk voor electro hebben gekozen zoals we die kennen van bijv. Robyn, The Modern, Ladytron, La Roux of Chvrches. Modern, catchy en met voldoende diepgang!

Een heel fijne plaat! Pleasure? Met zo’ n album zeker en vast!

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)