tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : CLUB 8 - Pleasure

CLUB 8

Pleasure

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Labrador Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Indie pop fans probably already have heard of Club 8: the Swedish duo Johan and Karolina Kornstedt Angerhard. They have been around since 1995, and made in that same year three home recordings that were sent to their favorite labels. The response was huge, and yhe start of their career. In those days they combined bossa nova with both pop and dance. After a while, they dropped the bossa nova element, and today we hear indie pop with dance elements. In November, they release their ninth album Pleasure.

The music consists mainly of keys and synths. Just as the artwork, the music is very stylish. Karolina has a nice voice to listen to, and the songs are well structured: melodic with a glimpse of ethereal elements. The single Love Dies is a midtempo song that sounds a bit like Portishead (but without the trip hop). Skin has a higher tempo and this song goes even more into the direction of the dance floor.

The term indie pop does not really fit for their music because they ultimately choose for electro pop like Robyn, The Modern, Ladytron, La Roux or Chvrches. A really great album! Pleasure? With such an album, definitely!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Fans van indiepop zullen misschien al van Club 8 hebben gehoord: het Zweedse duo Karolina Komstedt and Johan Angerhard. Ze bestaan al sedert 1995 en maakten in dat jaar een drietal thuisopnames om die vervolgens naar hun favoriete labels te sturen. De respons was enorm, en meteen ook de start van hun carrière. In die dagen combineerden ze bossa nova met zowel pop als dance. Na een tijdje lieten ze de bossa nova vallen, en vandaag horen we indiepop met danselementen. In november brengen ze hun negende album Pleasure uit.

De muziek bestaat voornamelijk uit keys en synths. Net zoals het artwork is het allemaal heel stijlvol. Karolina heeft een aangename stem om naar te luisteren en de nummers zijn goed opgebouwd: melodisch met daarin een glimp etherische elementen. Er is tevens veel aandacht voor de sfeer. De single Love Dies is een midtempo nummer dat een beetje als Portishead klinkt (maar dan wel zonder de trip hop). Op Skin jagen ze het tempo een beetje op en gaan ze nog nadrukkelijker in de richting van de dansvloer. Acht nummers lang een plezier voor het oor.

De term indiepop past niet echt meer voor hun muziek, omdat ze uiteindelijk voor electro hebben gekozen zoals we die kennen van bijv. Robyn, The Modern, Ladytron, La Roux of Chvrches. Modern, catchy en met voldoende diepgang!

Een heel fijne plaat! Pleasure? Met zo’ n album zeker en vast!

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You