tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : CLUB 8 - Pleasure

CLUB 8

Pleasure

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Labrador Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Indie pop fans probably already have heard of Club 8: the Swedish duo Johan and Karolina Kornstedt Angerhard. They have been around since 1995, and made in that same year three home recordings that were sent to their favorite labels. The response was huge, and yhe start of their career. In those days they combined bossa nova with both pop and dance. After a while, they dropped the bossa nova element, and today we hear indie pop with dance elements. In November, they release their ninth album Pleasure.

The music consists mainly of keys and synths. Just as the artwork, the music is very stylish. Karolina has a nice voice to listen to, and the songs are well structured: melodic with a glimpse of ethereal elements. The single Love Dies is a midtempo song that sounds a bit like Portishead (but without the trip hop). Skin has a higher tempo and this song goes even more into the direction of the dance floor.

The term indie pop does not really fit for their music because they ultimately choose for electro pop like Robyn, The Modern, Ladytron, La Roux or Chvrches. A really great album! Pleasure? With such an album, definitely!

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Fans van indiepop zullen misschien al van Club 8 hebben gehoord: het Zweedse duo Karolina Komstedt and Johan Angerhard. Ze bestaan al sedert 1995 en maakten in dat jaar een drietal thuisopnames om die vervolgens naar hun favoriete labels te sturen. De respons was enorm, en meteen ook de start van hun carrière. In die dagen combineerden ze bossa nova met zowel pop als dance. Na een tijdje lieten ze de bossa nova vallen, en vandaag horen we indiepop met danselementen. In november brengen ze hun negende album Pleasure uit.

De muziek bestaat voornamelijk uit keys en synths. Net zoals het artwork is het allemaal heel stijlvol. Karolina heeft een aangename stem om naar te luisteren en de nummers zijn goed opgebouwd: melodisch met daarin een glimp etherische elementen. Er is tevens veel aandacht voor de sfeer. De single Love Dies is een midtempo nummer dat een beetje als Portishead klinkt (maar dan wel zonder de trip hop). Op Skin jagen ze het tempo een beetje op en gaan ze nog nadrukkelijker in de richting van de dansvloer. Acht nummers lang een plezier voor het oor.

De term indiepop past niet echt meer voor hun muziek, omdat ze uiteindelijk voor electro hebben gekozen zoals we die kennen van bijv. Robyn, The Modern, Ladytron, La Roux of Chvrches. Modern, catchy en met voldoende diepgang!

Een heel fijne plaat! Pleasure? Met zo’ n album zeker en vast!

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation