tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - The Dancer

COCAINE PISS

The Dancer

MusicCD
HardcoreRiot Grrrl

[89/100]   

Hypertension Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

14 tracks in 22 minutes. That can only be the Liège formation Cocaine Piss. Not everyone understands it (bad luck then!), but in no time the group of front woman Aurélie Poppins has become a cult band. Renowned music mags even dare to write that this band is the future of Belgian music. Obviously big words that will frown some eyebrows, but those who saw these noisemakers on stage, certainly know why such superlatives are used. Cocaine Piss is a bomb, and just like the name suggests: pure sex!

Unfortunately, not every sublime live band is brilliant on record. Cocaine Piss is, the group even had Steve Albini as a producer. Along with the Big Black legend, Cocaine Piss recorded its debut in February.

And yes, The Dancer is undoubtedly the best noise album you'll hear this year. Cocaine Piss provokes, Happiness is just about masturbating and they invent titles like Sex Weirdos. Not your everyday stuff, but they do it damn well. Because of Aurélie’s loud voice you often think of Bikini Kill, and that feels good!

The Dancer is not exactly the kind of record that makes you look like a good citizen (who wants to be one anyway!) Those who like to rebel and want to kick some ass know what to listen to. We use the term ingeniously done. Already with one foot in the list of the ten best of 2016.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

14 tracks in 22 minuten. Dat kan alleen maar de Luikse formatie Cocaine Piss zijn. Niet iedereen begrijpt het (dikke pech dan!), maar het groepje rond frontvrouw Aurélie Poppins is in een recordtijd tot een cultband van jewelste uitgegroeid. Gerenommeerde muziekbladen durven wel eens beweren dat deze Luikenaars de toekomst van de Belgische muziek zijn. Het zijn natuurlijk woorden die heel wat wenkbrauwen doen fronzen, maar wie ooit deze lawaaimakers op een podium zag, weet beslist waarom men dergelijke superlatieven gebruikt: Cocaine Piss is een bom, en net als de naam laat vermoeden: pure seks!

Helaas kan niet iedere sublieme liveband zich op plaat bevestigen. Cocaine Piss kan dat wel, de groep mocht zelfs rekenen op noisekoning Steve Albini als producer. Samen met de voormalige frontman van Big Black nam Cocaine Piss in februari dit debuut op.

En jawel, The Dancer is zonder twijfel en overdrijven de lekkerste noiseplaat die je dit jaar zal horen. Cocaine Piss shokeert graag, zo gaat Happiness gewoon over masturberen of bedenken ze songs met titels als Sex Weirdos. Niet alledaags, maar ze doen het verdomme goed. Door Aurélies schreeuwerige stem denk je wel eens aan Bikini Kill en dat doet deugd! Neen, The Dancer is niet meteen het soort plaatje waarmee je bij de brave burger goede punten scoort. Wie graag rebelleert en eens lekker tegen de schenen wil schoppen heeft zijn band dus gevonden. Wij gebruiken in ieder geval het woord geniaal goed. Nu al met één been in het lijstje van de beste tien van 2016.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete