tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - The Dancer

COCAINE PISS

The Dancer

MusicCD
HardcoreRiot Grrrl

[89/100]   

Hypertension Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

14 tracks in 22 minutes. That can only be the Liège formation Cocaine Piss. Not everyone understands it (bad luck then!), but in no time the group of front woman Aurélie Poppins has become a cult band. Renowned music mags even dare to write that this band is the future of Belgian music. Obviously big words that will frown some eyebrows, but those who saw these noisemakers on stage, certainly know why such superlatives are used. Cocaine Piss is a bomb, and just like the name suggests: pure sex!

Unfortunately, not every sublime live band is brilliant on record. Cocaine Piss is, the group even had Steve Albini as a producer. Along with the Big Black legend, Cocaine Piss recorded its debut in February.

And yes, The Dancer is undoubtedly the best noise album you'll hear this year. Cocaine Piss provokes, Happiness is just about masturbating and they invent titles like Sex Weirdos. Not your everyday stuff, but they do it damn well. Because of Aurélie’s loud voice you often think of Bikini Kill, and that feels good!

The Dancer is not exactly the kind of record that makes you look like a good citizen (who wants to be one anyway!) Those who like to rebel and want to kick some ass know what to listen to. We use the term ingeniously done. Already with one foot in the list of the ten best of 2016.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

14 tracks in 22 minuten. Dat kan alleen maar de Luikse formatie Cocaine Piss zijn. Niet iedereen begrijpt het (dikke pech dan!), maar het groepje rond frontvrouw Aurélie Poppins is in een recordtijd tot een cultband van jewelste uitgegroeid. Gerenommeerde muziekbladen durven wel eens beweren dat deze Luikenaars de toekomst van de Belgische muziek zijn. Het zijn natuurlijk woorden die heel wat wenkbrauwen doen fronzen, maar wie ooit deze lawaaimakers op een podium zag, weet beslist waarom men dergelijke superlatieven gebruikt: Cocaine Piss is een bom, en net als de naam laat vermoeden: pure seks!

Helaas kan niet iedere sublieme liveband zich op plaat bevestigen. Cocaine Piss kan dat wel, de groep mocht zelfs rekenen op noisekoning Steve Albini als producer. Samen met de voormalige frontman van Big Black nam Cocaine Piss in februari dit debuut op.

En jawel, The Dancer is zonder twijfel en overdrijven de lekkerste noiseplaat die je dit jaar zal horen. Cocaine Piss shokeert graag, zo gaat Happiness gewoon over masturberen of bedenken ze songs met titels als Sex Weirdos. Niet alledaags, maar ze doen het verdomme goed. Door Aurélies schreeuwerige stem denk je wel eens aan Bikini Kill en dat doet deugd! Neen, The Dancer is niet meteen het soort plaatje waarmee je bij de brave burger goede punten scoort. Wie graag rebelleert en eens lekker tegen de schenen wil schoppen heeft zijn band dus gevonden. Wij gebruiken in ieder geval het woord geniaal goed. Nu al met één been in het lijstje van de beste tien van 2016.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane