tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : COCAINE PISS - The Dancer

COCAINE PISS

The Dancer

MusicCD
HardcoreRiot Grrrl

[89/100]   

Hypertension Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

14 tracks in 22 minutes. That can only be the Liège formation Cocaine Piss. Not everyone understands it (bad luck then!), but in no time the group of front woman Aurélie Poppins has become a cult band. Renowned music mags even dare to write that this band is the future of Belgian music. Obviously big words that will frown some eyebrows, but those who saw these noisemakers on stage, certainly know why such superlatives are used. Cocaine Piss is a bomb, and just like the name suggests: pure sex!

Unfortunately, not every sublime live band is brilliant on record. Cocaine Piss is, the group even had Steve Albini as a producer. Along with the Big Black legend, Cocaine Piss recorded its debut in February.

And yes, The Dancer is undoubtedly the best noise album you'll hear this year. Cocaine Piss provokes, Happiness is just about masturbating and they invent titles like Sex Weirdos. Not your everyday stuff, but they do it damn well. Because of Aurélie’s loud voice you often think of Bikini Kill, and that feels good!

The Dancer is not exactly the kind of record that makes you look like a good citizen (who wants to be one anyway!) Those who like to rebel and want to kick some ass know what to listen to. We use the term ingeniously done. Already with one foot in the list of the ten best of 2016.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

14 tracks in 22 minuten. Dat kan alleen maar de Luikse formatie Cocaine Piss zijn. Niet iedereen begrijpt het (dikke pech dan!), maar het groepje rond frontvrouw Aurélie Poppins is in een recordtijd tot een cultband van jewelste uitgegroeid. Gerenommeerde muziekbladen durven wel eens beweren dat deze Luikenaars de toekomst van de Belgische muziek zijn. Het zijn natuurlijk woorden die heel wat wenkbrauwen doen fronzen, maar wie ooit deze lawaaimakers op een podium zag, weet beslist waarom men dergelijke superlatieven gebruikt: Cocaine Piss is een bom, en net als de naam laat vermoeden: pure seks!

Helaas kan niet iedere sublieme liveband zich op plaat bevestigen. Cocaine Piss kan dat wel, de groep mocht zelfs rekenen op noisekoning Steve Albini als producer. Samen met de voormalige frontman van Big Black nam Cocaine Piss in februari dit debuut op.

En jawel, The Dancer is zonder twijfel en overdrijven de lekkerste noiseplaat die je dit jaar zal horen. Cocaine Piss shokeert graag, zo gaat Happiness gewoon over masturberen of bedenken ze songs met titels als Sex Weirdos. Niet alledaags, maar ze doen het verdomme goed. Door Aurélies schreeuwerige stem denk je wel eens aan Bikini Kill en dat doet deugd! Neen, The Dancer is niet meteen het soort plaatje waarmee je bij de brave burger goede punten scoort. Wie graag rebelleert en eens lekker tegen de schenen wil schoppen heeft zijn band dus gevonden. Wij gebruiken in ieder geval het woord geniaal goed. Nu al met één been in het lijstje van de beste tien van 2016.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith