tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : COLD COLD GROUND - This side of depravity

COLD COLD GROUND

This side of depravity

MusicCD
IndustrialMetal

[83/100]   

Danse Macabre
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Just as you’re thinking that you've seen everything in every genre, you get something like Cold Cold Ground who are prove here that indusmetal still can sound fresh.

With their debut album, "This side of depravity", these Finns can immediately got released by Danse Macabre and needless to say this opens lots of opportunities.

They think their attitude comes close to that of those Droogies from “A Clockwork Orange”.

And yes these are the kind of gentlemen who don’t care about manners - songtitles like "Die with a dick in your mouth" or "Pigs" need no further explanation.

Hauptmann D, Nooz, Mr Bunny and Monsieur Beau have already supported KMFDM and Project Pitchfork and these two bands sort of sum up Cold Cold Ground in a nutshell.

Their indusmetal-guitars may sound quite American but they sure know how to write a proper melody, just listen to an indusballad like “Disintegrating” that deserves the thumbs-up.

"This side of depravity" is a perfect combination of ten songs which feels like a brutal uppercut but at the same time is an album full of melody.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Net op het moment dat je gedacht had dat je het bij alle genres alles al eens eerder hebt gehoord, komt uit de indusmetalhoek de naam Cold Cold Ground opdraven.

Deze Finnen zitten met hun "This side of depravity"-debuut meteen op het befaamde Danse Macabre-label en met zo’n deal hebben ze natuurlijk ook meteen alle troeven in handen.

Zelf vinden de Finnen dat ze qua attitude aardig aanleunen bij wat de Droogies uit A Clockwork Orange voorstelden.

En inderdaad, het zijn niet het soort heren die een blad voor hun mond willen nemen waarbij titels die klinken als "Die with a dick in your mouth" of "Pigs" geen verdere uitleg hoeven te krijgen.

In eigen land waren Hauptmann D, Nooz, Mr Bunny en Monsieur Beau reeds te zien als support van KMFDM en Project Pitchfork en eigenlijk heb je met deze twee eigenlijk Cold Cold Ground in een notedop.

De indusmetalgitaren klinken op en top Amerikaans maar het goede aan deze Cold Cold Ground is dat ze verdomd goed weten hoe ze een melodie in elkaar moeten boksen en op afsluiter “Disintegrating” krijg je er zelfs meteen een indusballad te horen die de volle duim verdienen.

"This side of depravity" is een prachtige aaneenschakeling geworden van tien nummers die als een mokerslag aankomen, maar tegelijkertijd vol melodie staan.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse