tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed

COLIN TREVORROW

Safety Not Guaranteed

Movie
Comedy

[67/100]   

A-Film
22/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

In case you might doubt it: they still do make movies in America that are not about superheroes. Pictures about people like you and me. Once in a while such pictures can reach a bigger audience. Just think of examples like: Juno, Seventeen, Ruby Sparks, Thank You For Smoking, Sunshine Cleaning or Little Miss Sunshine. And yes, Safety Not Guaranteed is made by the same producers as the last example. Meanwhile both director Colin Trevorrow and screenwriter Derek Connolly are busy making Jurassic World (the fourth part of Jurassic Park). But this picture is different though!

Darius (Aubrey Plaza) is a young woman who doesn’t believe in herself. She has no friends on Facebook, her father wonders why she’s still a virgin (hmm, exactly!) and also at work things aren’t going as expected. She works as an internship at a local paper from Seattle that is specialized in dumb stories. One day journalist Jeff (Jake Johnson) sees an interesting advert. Some weirdo is seeking an assistant for travelling in time. It’s even allowed to bring your own guns with, the only thing he can’t guarantee is safety. Jeff thinks this story is amazing. He wants to meet the man behind the ad, an investigation he makes with Darius and nerd Arnau (Karen Soni)

Even if it’s about timetravelling, this picture ain’t the next Back To The Future. This work by Trevorrow is just another fine indiemovie with lots of heartbreaking and absurd moments. You might feel at the end that you learned nothing, but you definitely know that you enjoyed 90 minutes of great cinema. At least that is if you like those Sundance-type of movies. Safety Not Guaranteed might perhaps miss that same magical touch from Juno, we were still charmed though by the presence of Aubrey Plaza. This Ellen Page-lookalike who we already saw earlier in Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is definitely one of the current talents to follow. Karan Soni also did o a great job. The finale of this movie is perhaps just too silly, we keep on recommending Safety Not Guaranteed anyway.

The movie is now out on both DVD and Blu-ray. In the Benelux it’s released by A-Film.

 

Didier BECU
22/12/2013


NL

Ook al zou je het niet meteen denken als je de Amerikaanse (en eigenlijk ook de Britse) pers leest, toch worden er over de Atlantische Oceaan nog films gemaakt die niet over superhelden gaan. Neen, begrijp ons niet verkeerd. Er is niks leukers dan één of andere gozer met een rode mantel door de lucht te zien zweven, maar soms verlangen we ook wel eens naar een verhaal over echte mensen. Personen van vlees bloed, het meisje dat naast jou kan wonen…of gewoon kortom: het soort prenten waarop het Filmfestival van Sundance een patent lijkt te hebben. Ieder jaar zit daar wel zo’n indiefilm tussen die een tikkeltje meer geluk heeft dan de rest en het grote publiek kan bereiken. Mooie illustraties daarvan zijn: Juno, Seventeen, Ruby Sparks, Thank You For Smoking, Sunshine Cleaning en natuurlijk ook de briljante Little Miss Sunshine. En kijk, het toeval wil dat Safety Not Guaranteed uit dezelfde producersstal als het laatste voorbeeld komt. Ondertussen is het broodje van regisseur Colin Trevorrow en scriptschrijver Derek Connolly volop gebakken, het duo is immers bezig aan het draaien van Jurassic World (jawel, de vierde Jurassic Park).

Safety Not Guaranteed is heel andere koek. Niet alleen is het budget heel wat minder dan dat van het dinosaurusverhaal, ook is deze prent een ideaal toonbeeld van kleine, maar fijne cinema! Darius (Aubrey Plaza) is een allesbehalve zekere meid. De bedeesde vrouw heeft geen vrienden op Facebook, haar vader stelt zich hardop vragen over het feit dat dochterlief nog steeds maagd is (tja!) en ook met haar carrière wil het niet echt lukken. Het enige baantje dat de brunette wel ligt is als stagiaire bij het roddelbladje uit Seattle. Een van haar collega’s is de zelfbewuste vrouwenloper Jeff (Jake Johnson) die een interessante advertentie heeft opgemerkt. Een of andere hansworst is namelijk op zoek naar een assistent(e) om hem te vergezellen op een reis in de tijd. De medereiziger mag zelfs zijn eigen wapens meebrengen, wel is de trip met de tijdsmachine geheel op eigen risico. Jeff vindt het vreemde aanbod boeiend genoeg om samen met Darius en de wereldvreemde Arnau (Karan Soni) om Jambers-gewijs op zoek te gaan naar de kerel achter de advertentie.

Ook al gaat het in deze film een heel klein beetje over tijdreizen moet je geen nieuwe Back To The Future verwachten. Neen, Safety Not Guaranteed is gewoon zo’n heerlijke kleine prent die bol staat van komische en hartverwarmende momenten. Na anderhalf uur heb je misschien wel de indruk dat je geen jota wijzer bent geworden (en dat is ook zo!), toch besef je dat je 90 minuten naar vermakelijke cinema hebt gekeken

Safety Not Guaranteed mist wellicht dat magische tintje dat bijv. soortgenoot Juno wel had, gelukkig wordt dat gemis mooi opgevangen door het knappe acteerwerk van Aubrey Plaza. Deze Ellen Page-lookalike die we eerder al in Scott Pilgrim vs. The World aan het werk zagen is één van de absoluut te volgen opkomende Hollywoodtalenten. Ook Karan Soni is als overijverige nerd te gek voor woorden. Misschien hadden de makers wat meer aan het volledig van de pot gerukte slot mogen sleutelen. Maar toch, hoe verweesd je op het einde ook achter blijft, is Safety Not Guaranteed desalniettemin een meer dan fijne aanrader.

Deze komedie (of hoe je hem ook mag noemen!) is vanaf nu zowel via A-Film op dvd als Blu-ray verkrijgbaar.

Didier BECU
22/12/2013


22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed 22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed 22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed 22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed 22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed 22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed 22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed 22/12/2013 : COLIN TREVORROW - Safety Not Guaranteed

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa