tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : COLLAPSE - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)

COLLAPSE

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)

Concert
Jazz 09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

On Friday 25th March 2016, Alain Deval's band Collapse played at the Jazzzolder in Mechelen. The quartet showcased a delightful blend of free jazz and bebop, concentrating on the latest album Bal Folk (2014). In Collapse's musical adventure, you clearly hear both the influences of the great Miles Davis and John Zorn.

Alain Deval's tight, highly accurate and extremely intense and hectic percussion is the backbone of Collapse's sound, which goes hand in hand with the vivid and lively trumpet and sublime tenor sax by Jean-Paul Estiévenart and Steven Delannoye. The well known top bass player Yannick Peeters supported the sound in a very subtle way.

That Friday, Collapse took the audience on a trip into its diverse musical universe where there's room for multi-layered complex compositions, more conventional sounds and even a real tear jerker.

The band opened with Bal Folk, title track of the album, which perfectly represents the album's overall sound and shows how the band plays with song structures and compositions. The song builds up slowly and develops, working to a climax with a great outburst of the horns section, accompanied by hectic drums and subtle bass. Bal Folk was an instant favorite of mine. The same goes for Crinkle, but the absolute highlight in the set was Lente, a composition by Yannick Peeters, featuring a humble melancholic tenor sax, a vibrant sax-trumpet duel, a great trumpet solo by Estiévenart and Delannoye. Amazing and very beautiful.

But let's not forget to mention Reboot and especially the almost 'unearthly' composition Hopscotsch with its chaotic and desperate horns.

Big thumbs up for the wonderful 'ballad' Close And Hope: melancholic and moody vibes all over!

The Collapse gig at the Jazzzolder was a real treat. Time passed too quicky and before we knew, the band played the last and only encore: Film 09. Then it was all over. Already! But there is of course the wonderful album Bal Folk, released on the Igloo label and which you can listen to as much as you like.

Yes, I strongly recommend you to buy this little jewel!


Setlist Collapse:
Bal Folk / Lente / Reboot / Up the Hill // Do / Hopscoctsch / Crinkle / Close And Hope / Lump

Encore:
Film 09

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

Vrijdagavond 25 maart 2016 speelde Alain Devals Collapse in de Mechelse Jazzzolder. Mechelen werd getrakteerd op een fraaie en bijzonder aanstekelijke mix van bebop en free jazz, strak en tegelijkertijd heel erg open. John Zorn meets Miles Davis, zeg maar...

In het muzikale universum van Collapse geldt Devals hectisch en/of accuraat nauwgezet percussiewerk als leidraad, hand in hand met het vinnige trompetspel van Jean-Paul Estiévenart en de sublieme tenorsax van Steven Delannoye, vakkundig en subtiel ondersteund door de contrabas van de vermaarde en charmante Yannick Peeters.

Collapse nam ons mee in hun wonderlijke muzikale universum? waar steevast ruimte is voor meerlagige composities, traag en meanderend, dan weer vinnig? Conventioneel en toegankelijk, dan weer plagend en spelend met ritme en songstructuur. Met evengoed plaats voor een bloedmooie en melancholische 'smartlap'. Klasse!

Tijdens het optreden van Collapse kwam het album Bal Folk (2014) zo goed als volledig aan bod. Stuk voor stuk sterke composities. Albumopener Bal Folk werd ook de setopener, die al meteen knap etaleerde waartoe deze band in staat is: rustig aanvangend, om langzaam maar zeker volledig tot wasdom te komen en volledig te ontploffen. Een festijn van blazers en ritmesectie. Maar dat geldt zeer zeker ook voor het fantastische Crinkle, dat later in de set volgde.

Een andere favoriet van jullie verslaggever en hoogtepunt in de set was zonder twijfel Lente, een compositie van Yannick Peeters, met deemoedige sax en trompet, de bas van Peeters die op de voorgrond treedt, een geweldige trompetsolo van Estiévenart, een trompet-sax-duel van Estiévenart en Delannoye, die percussie!

Maar ook Reboot behoorde tot de uitschieters van de avond en is één van de toppers van het album, met een geweldige 'trompet-explosie'.

De filmische compositie Hopscotch klonk soms heel beklemmend en haast onaards en zat tegelijkertijd al diep in je nekvel met zijn zalige melancholische blazers.

Een absolute thumbs up voor het slepende Close and Hope, waarbij de trompet en sax de hoofdrol speelden, met zuinige maar aanwezige en pakkende bas- en percussiebegeleiding van Peeters en Deval. Deemoedig, weemoedig, melancholisch, mooi!

Het was geen straf om deze muzikanten aan het werk te zien en te horen. Toen Delannoye na Up the Hill de pauze aankondigde, kwam die veel te vroeg, ook al wees het tijdstip anders uit en toen met Film 09 de encore erop zat, had je ook het gevoel dat het veel te kort was geweest.

Het album kopen dus en nagenieten maar!

Een aanrader trouwens deze Bal Folk, uitgebracht op het Igloo-label.


Setlist Collapse:
Bal Folk / Lente / Reboot / Up the Hill // Do / Hopscoctsch / Crinkle / Close And Hope / Lump

Encore:
Film 09

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : COLLAPSE - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016) 09/12/2016 : COLLAPSE - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016) 09/12/2016 : COLLAPSE - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation