tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/05/2011 : COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA - Vernes-Monde

COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA

Vernes-Monde

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesNeoclassical

[92/100]   

Prikosnovnie
06/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Hurray! Collection d'Arnell-Andréa has a newborn! Since its inception late eighties, I follow this exciting band centered around Chloé St. Liphard & Jean-Christophe d'Arnell. Over the years, they could always fascinate me, although their latest creations tend increasingly to a guitaresque sort of darkwave. 

Fortunately, on Vernes-Monde they chose to place the violin, cello and acoustic guitars back in the foreground, and thus deliver a more neo-classical album. The melancholy is overwhelming and Chloé's heavenly voice makes your mind drift far away. Drifting too far away. To make this review possible I had to re-listen to this record again and again, since my thoughts strayed ever further into the magical forest on the bleak shore that mask the poems and images of Vernes-Monde. 

After several years of good but not excellent records, Jean-Christophe and Chloé finally did it again for me. I think this CD is also meticulously prepared. Not just the trackorder upto the grande finale "Vernes-Monde", but the tonality and structure of each song and the beautiful illustrated booklet testify of a very handsome and strong production. 

It is nice to stay at Vernes-Monde, where CDAA has figured out perfectly which paths should be followed. I would say: dare to (finally) take that walk through their forest! 

 

L'eau des mares 
Où s'endort 
La memoire des Acores 
Alanguit la mort 

L'eau des mares 
Trouble encore 
Regards les corps et les 
The vase et d'aurore 

Une vie eau sombre où perdre 
Vernes-monde infini 

Une vie eau sombre où perdre 
Vase et tombs et l'oubli 

(From 'Vernes-Monde') 

Ward DE PRINS
06/05/2011


NL

Hoera! Collection d’Arnell-Andréa heeft een nieuwe boreling! Al sinds hun prille begin eind jaren tachtig volg ik dit boeiende gezelschap rondom Chloé St Liphard & Jean-Christophe d’Arnell. Doorheen de jaren konden ze me steeds weer boeien, al neigen hun laatste creaties steeds meer naar een gitareske darkwave.

Gelukkig wordt op Vernes-Monde ervoor gekozen om de violen, cello en akoestische gitaar terug sterk op de voorgrond te plaatsen, en zo een meer neo-klassiek plaatje af te leveren. De melancholie druipt eraf en de hemelse stem van Cloé doet je in gedachten ver afdrijven. Té ver afdrijven, zodat ik voor deze recensie het plaatje continu opnieuw moest opzetten daar mijn gedachten steeds verder afdwaalden in het feeërieke bos aan de sombere waterkant, dat de gedichten en beelden van Vernes-Monde verhult.

Na enkele jaren van goede doch niet uitmuntende muziekjes weten Jean-Christophe en Chloé mij weer helemaal in te pakken. De CD is volgens mij ook minutieus voorbereid. Niet alleen de opbouw van de nummers tot de grande finale, Vernes-Monde, maar ook de tonaliteit en opbouw van elk nummer alsook het mooie geïllustreerde boekje getuigen van een uitermate knappe productie.

Het is goed vertoeven in Vernes-Monde, waar CDAA perfect heeft uitgestippeld welke paden betreden moeten worden. Ik zou zeggen: waag je (eindelijk) aan die boswandeling!

 

L'eau des mares
Où s'endort
La mémoire des acores
Alanguit la mort

L'eau des mares
Trouble encore
Les regards et les corps
De vase et d'aurore

Une eau sombre où perdre vie
Vernes-monde infini

Une eau sombre où perdre vie
Vase et tombes et l'oubli

(uit ‘Vernes-Monde’)

Ward DE PRINS
06/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?
SUZERAIN • Midnight In The Drawn City
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth

 

Other reviews from COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12th May 2012 with A Challenge of Honour and Skeptical Minds

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween