tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/05/2011 : COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA - Vernes-Monde

COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA

Vernes-Monde

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesNeoclassical

[92/100]   

Prikosnovnie
06/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Hurray! Collection d'Arnell-Andréa has a newborn! Since its inception late eighties, I follow this exciting band centered around Chloé St. Liphard & Jean-Christophe d'Arnell. Over the years, they could always fascinate me, although their latest creations tend increasingly to a guitaresque sort of darkwave. 

Fortunately, on Vernes-Monde they chose to place the violin, cello and acoustic guitars back in the foreground, and thus deliver a more neo-classical album. The melancholy is overwhelming and Chloé's heavenly voice makes your mind drift far away. Drifting too far away. To make this review possible I had to re-listen to this record again and again, since my thoughts strayed ever further into the magical forest on the bleak shore that mask the poems and images of Vernes-Monde. 

After several years of good but not excellent records, Jean-Christophe and Chloé finally did it again for me. I think this CD is also meticulously prepared. Not just the trackorder upto the grande finale "Vernes-Monde", but the tonality and structure of each song and the beautiful illustrated booklet testify of a very handsome and strong production. 

It is nice to stay at Vernes-Monde, where CDAA has figured out perfectly which paths should be followed. I would say: dare to (finally) take that walk through their forest! 

 

L'eau des mares 
Où s'endort 
La memoire des Acores 
Alanguit la mort 

L'eau des mares 
Trouble encore 
Regards les corps et les 
The vase et d'aurore 

Une vie eau sombre où perdre 
Vernes-monde infini 

Une vie eau sombre où perdre 
Vase et tombs et l'oubli 

(From 'Vernes-Monde') 

Ward DE PRINS
06/05/2011


NL

Hoera! Collection d’Arnell-Andréa heeft een nieuwe boreling! Al sinds hun prille begin eind jaren tachtig volg ik dit boeiende gezelschap rondom Chloé St Liphard & Jean-Christophe d’Arnell. Doorheen de jaren konden ze me steeds weer boeien, al neigen hun laatste creaties steeds meer naar een gitareske darkwave.

Gelukkig wordt op Vernes-Monde ervoor gekozen om de violen, cello en akoestische gitaar terug sterk op de voorgrond te plaatsen, en zo een meer neo-klassiek plaatje af te leveren. De melancholie druipt eraf en de hemelse stem van Cloé doet je in gedachten ver afdrijven. Té ver afdrijven, zodat ik voor deze recensie het plaatje continu opnieuw moest opzetten daar mijn gedachten steeds verder afdwaalden in het feeërieke bos aan de sombere waterkant, dat de gedichten en beelden van Vernes-Monde verhult.

Na enkele jaren van goede doch niet uitmuntende muziekjes weten Jean-Christophe en Chloé mij weer helemaal in te pakken. De CD is volgens mij ook minutieus voorbereid. Niet alleen de opbouw van de nummers tot de grande finale, Vernes-Monde, maar ook de tonaliteit en opbouw van elk nummer alsook het mooie geïllustreerde boekje getuigen van een uitermate knappe productie.

Het is goed vertoeven in Vernes-Monde, waar CDAA perfect heeft uitgestippeld welke paden betreden moeten worden. Ik zou zeggen: waag je (eindelijk) aan die boswandeling!

 

L'eau des mares
Où s'endort
La mémoire des acores
Alanguit la mort

L'eau des mares
Trouble encore
Les regards et les corps
De vase et d'aurore

Une eau sombre où perdre vie
Vernes-monde infini

Une eau sombre où perdre vie
Vase et tombes et l'oubli

(uit ‘Vernes-Monde’)

Ward DE PRINS
06/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?
SUZERAIN • Midnight In The Drawn City
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth

 

Other reviews from COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12th May 2012 with A Challenge of Honour and Skeptical Minds

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life