tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/05/2011 : COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA - Vernes-Monde

COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA

Vernes-Monde

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesNeoclassical

[92/100]   

Prikosnovnie
06/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Hurray! Collection d'Arnell-Andréa has a newborn! Since its inception late eighties, I follow this exciting band centered around Chloé St. Liphard & Jean-Christophe d'Arnell. Over the years, they could always fascinate me, although their latest creations tend increasingly to a guitaresque sort of darkwave. 

Fortunately, on Vernes-Monde they chose to place the violin, cello and acoustic guitars back in the foreground, and thus deliver a more neo-classical album. The melancholy is overwhelming and Chloé's heavenly voice makes your mind drift far away. Drifting too far away. To make this review possible I had to re-listen to this record again and again, since my thoughts strayed ever further into the magical forest on the bleak shore that mask the poems and images of Vernes-Monde. 

After several years of good but not excellent records, Jean-Christophe and Chloé finally did it again for me. I think this CD is also meticulously prepared. Not just the trackorder upto the grande finale "Vernes-Monde", but the tonality and structure of each song and the beautiful illustrated booklet testify of a very handsome and strong production. 

It is nice to stay at Vernes-Monde, where CDAA has figured out perfectly which paths should be followed. I would say: dare to (finally) take that walk through their forest! 

 

L'eau des mares 
Où s'endort 
La memoire des Acores 
Alanguit la mort 

L'eau des mares 
Trouble encore 
Regards les corps et les 
The vase et d'aurore 

Une vie eau sombre où perdre 
Vernes-monde infini 

Une vie eau sombre où perdre 
Vase et tombs et l'oubli 

(From 'Vernes-Monde') 

Ward DE PRINS
06/05/2011


NL

Hoera! Collection d’Arnell-Andréa heeft een nieuwe boreling! Al sinds hun prille begin eind jaren tachtig volg ik dit boeiende gezelschap rondom Chloé St Liphard & Jean-Christophe d’Arnell. Doorheen de jaren konden ze me steeds weer boeien, al neigen hun laatste creaties steeds meer naar een gitareske darkwave.

Gelukkig wordt op Vernes-Monde ervoor gekozen om de violen, cello en akoestische gitaar terug sterk op de voorgrond te plaatsen, en zo een meer neo-klassiek plaatje af te leveren. De melancholie druipt eraf en de hemelse stem van Cloé doet je in gedachten ver afdrijven. Té ver afdrijven, zodat ik voor deze recensie het plaatje continu opnieuw moest opzetten daar mijn gedachten steeds verder afdwaalden in het feeërieke bos aan de sombere waterkant, dat de gedichten en beelden van Vernes-Monde verhult.

Na enkele jaren van goede doch niet uitmuntende muziekjes weten Jean-Christophe en Chloé mij weer helemaal in te pakken. De CD is volgens mij ook minutieus voorbereid. Niet alleen de opbouw van de nummers tot de grande finale, Vernes-Monde, maar ook de tonaliteit en opbouw van elk nummer alsook het mooie geïllustreerde boekje getuigen van een uitermate knappe productie.

Het is goed vertoeven in Vernes-Monde, waar CDAA perfect heeft uitgestippeld welke paden betreden moeten worden. Ik zou zeggen: waag je (eindelijk) aan die boswandeling!

 

L'eau des mares
Où s'endort
La mémoire des acores
Alanguit la mort

L'eau des mares
Trouble encore
Les regards et les corps
De vase et d'aurore

Une eau sombre où perdre vie
Vernes-monde infini

Une eau sombre où perdre vie
Vase et tombes et l'oubli

(uit ‘Vernes-Monde’)

Ward DE PRINS
06/05/2011


 

Next reviews
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Have You Seen This Ghost?
SUZERAIN • Midnight In The Drawn City
CLAN OF XYMOX • The Darkest Hour
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside
KRYSTAL SYSTEM • Nuclear
MEDICATION • Judgement Day
16 VOLT • Beating Dead Horses
SOMNAMBULIST • Withered Land
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World
CULT OF YOUTH • Cult of Youth

 

Other reviews from COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 12th May 2012 with A Challenge of Honour and Skeptical Minds

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom