tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/04/2011 : CONTREPOISON - ...Until next morning

CONTREPOISON

...Until next morning

MusicVinyl
Dark WaveExperimentalMinimal

[83/100]   

Avant! Records
23/04/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Fans of minimal music will certainly be aware of the little Italian Avant-label that publishes magnificent releases on a quite regular base. Mostly these are gems that have only been distributed by some DIY-label where only the freaky/die-hard fans have heard of.

This time label manager Andrea picked up Contrepoison, a musical project formed by Canadian Pierre-Marc Tremblay who used to play in more extreme bands.

Anyway, we consider this as the minimal side from Pierre-Marc and so far he released two tapes under this moniker.

Both "Around the Dragon's broken neck hangs the medal of St. Lazarus" and "Until Next morning" immediately were sold out.

Luckily enough Avant! Decided to give "Until Next Morning" a vinyl release, limited to 350 copies.

On this EP you can find four tracks that are analogue as analogue can be. Sad synths and drum machines that are sounding as if they want to accentuate the boredom that life can be.

Best track on here is without any doubt "Heartbeat" that has an magical 80’s-feel where as title song "Until Next Morning" comes quite close to the industrial sound from Cold Cave.

Many words where as the essence is that Avant published another fantastic release!

Didier BECU
23/04/2011


NL

Liefhebbers van het minimal genre zullen wellicht reeds gehoord hebben van het kleine Italiaanse label Avant dat regelmatig releases weet uit te brengen van het soort waar je meestal de vingers van aflikt.

Vaak zijn het releases die eerder in de underground in pure DIY-stijl zijn uitgebracht en later opgepikt werden door labelbaas Andrea.

Ook deze Contrepoison is daar een mooi voorbeeld van en staat voor de muzikale avonturen van de Canadees Pierre-Marc Tremblay die de afgelopen jaren in heel wat andere bands zat die je eerder onder de noemer extreem zou plaatsen.

Dit project is echter Pierre-Marc's ode aan de minimal scene.

De twee releases die deze Contrepoison tot nu toe uitgebracht heeft is "Around the Dragon's broken neck hangs the medal of St. Lazarus" en deze "Until Next morning", beide tapereleases die in een mum van tijd uitverkocht raakten.

Avant nam echter het gelukkig besluit om "Until Next Morning" als vinyl-EP terug her uit te brengen (gelimiteerd op 350 exemplaren).

Op deze EP vind je vier nummers in de meest analoge zin van het woord waarbij synthesizers meer droevig klinken dan ooit en waarbij het lijkt of de drummachines de verveling van het leven in de verf willen zetten.

Uitschieter is zonder twijfel "Heartbeat" dat een heerlijk 80's gevoel heeft terwijl, titeltrack "Until Next Morning" vrij dicht aanleunt bij het vroeger (industrieel) werk van Cold Cave.

Veel woorden om u te zeggen dat dit wederom een fantastische Avant-release is.

Didier BECU
23/04/2011


 

Next reviews
MZ.412 • Nordik Battle Signs
LADISLAV KLIMA • The Sufferings of Prince Sternenhoch | Het lijden van vorst Sternenhoch
NOSFERATU • Wonderland
MIKAEL HAFSTROM • The Rite (2010)
NACHTMAHR • Semper Fidelis
INCUBITE • Toxicum
MILLIPEDE • Powerless
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Credo
CHAINREACTOR • Insomniac
DURAN DURAN • All You Need Is Now

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
LUST FOR YOUTH • Solar Flare

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)