tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

CRADLE OF FILTH

Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

Concert
04/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

After some doubts, I decided to see Cradle Of Filth at the Trix (venue in Antwerp-ed.) Indeed, doubts! A friend even refused to come with us. When they played there previously (February 2014, with Behemoth) Cradle Of Filth was quite crappy. We saw them last year at the Alcatraz Metal Fest, and yes: they didn't convince me either. I wouldn't say they sucked, but during the high pace sections they were a bit sloppy, just like if they had trouble to keep up with each other in the fiery parts. But I decided to give it a chance anyway. After all, the new album Hammer Of The Witches gets good reviews. And a concert inside, is usually better than one at a festival.

We arrived in Antwerp quite late and so, we didn't see Saille, a local Belgian black metal project, while we only could catch the end of Ne Obliviscaris'set. The Australian band seemed interesting. Black metal with some strong double bass drumming, topped with a violin. The venue wasn't completely filled, nice for me, as it was easy to choose a nice place in front of the stage, waiting for the headliners. 

During the tones of Humana Inspired Nightmare, the band members came on. The last one to mount the stage was frontman Dani Filth, the only remaining original member. He was wearing a mask with horns. On the back of the stage were crosses with horned skeletonsl. This classical intro was followed by Heaven Torn Assunder. The crowd was enthusiastic right from the start. After the killer track Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids, they played Blackest Magic In Practice. The new track was well received. Dani was happy with these reactions and said that Antwerp was much louder than gay Paris the evening before. Dani dedicated Deflowering The Maidenhead, Displeasuring The Godess (only Dani is able to come up with wicked titles like that) to a Belgian fan who recently committed suicide. The crowd answered with a circle pit. The majestic Queen Of Winter Throned ended the first part of the set.

As encores the band played classics as Nymphetamine and Her Ghost In The Fog. The Forest Whispers My Name ended a great show. Cradle Of Filth played stronger, better, harder and faster than the last time I saw them. It took some time, but this line up eventually sounds as tight as it should be. A neat performance enhanced with video projections, smoke and flames. The ambiance was there right from the start and was sustained throughout the show.

SETLIST CRADLE OF FILTH
Humana Inspired Nightmare (intro from Dusk And Her Embrace, 1996)
Heaven Torn Assunder (Dusk And Her Embrace, 1996)
Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids (Cruety And The Beast, 1998)
Blackest Magick In Practice (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Lord Abortion (Midian, 2000)
Right Wing Of The Garden Tryptich (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Malice Through The Looking Glass (Dusk And Her Embrae, 1996)
Deflowering The Maidenhead, Displeasuring The Godess (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Queen Of Winter Throned (V-Empire / Dark Faerytales In Phallusstein, 1996)

ENCORE
Walpurgis Eve (Intro Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Yours Immortally (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Nymphetamine Fix (Nymphetamine, 2004)
Twisted Nails Of Faith (Cruelty And The Beast, 1998)
Her Ghost In The Fog (Midian, 2000)

EXTRA ENCORE
The Forest Whispers My Name (The Princaple Of Evil Made Flesh, 1993)
Blooding The Hounds (Outro Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)

If the setlists of the previous shows of this Inquisitional Tourture 2015 on the website www.setlist.fm are correct, Dani Filth must have been really happy with the reactions of the crowd in Antwerp, as they played a song extra in comparison to the other shows: The Forest Whispers My Name.

Benny CALUWE
04/11/2015


04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer
15
09
DAVID BOWIE
Absolute Beginners