tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

CRADLE OF FILTH

Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

Concert
04/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

After some doubts, I decided to see Cradle Of Filth at the Trix (venue in Antwerp-ed.) Indeed, doubts! A friend even refused to come with us. When they played there previously (February 2014, with Behemoth) Cradle Of Filth was quite crappy. We saw them last year at the Alcatraz Metal Fest, and yes: they didn't convince me either. I wouldn't say they sucked, but during the high pace sections they were a bit sloppy, just like if they had trouble to keep up with each other in the fiery parts. But I decided to give it a chance anyway. After all, the new album Hammer Of The Witches gets good reviews. And a concert inside, is usually better than one at a festival.

We arrived in Antwerp quite late and so, we didn't see Saille, a local Belgian black metal project, while we only could catch the end of Ne Obliviscaris'set. The Australian band seemed interesting. Black metal with some strong double bass drumming, topped with a violin. The venue wasn't completely filled, nice for me, as it was easy to choose a nice place in front of the stage, waiting for the headliners. 

During the tones of Humana Inspired Nightmare, the band members came on. The last one to mount the stage was frontman Dani Filth, the only remaining original member. He was wearing a mask with horns. On the back of the stage were crosses with horned skeletonsl. This classical intro was followed by Heaven Torn Assunder. The crowd was enthusiastic right from the start. After the killer track Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids, they played Blackest Magic In Practice. The new track was well received. Dani was happy with these reactions and said that Antwerp was much louder than gay Paris the evening before. Dani dedicated Deflowering The Maidenhead, Displeasuring The Godess (only Dani is able to come up with wicked titles like that) to a Belgian fan who recently committed suicide. The crowd answered with a circle pit. The majestic Queen Of Winter Throned ended the first part of the set.

As encores the band played classics as Nymphetamine and Her Ghost In The Fog. The Forest Whispers My Name ended a great show. Cradle Of Filth played stronger, better, harder and faster than the last time I saw them. It took some time, but this line up eventually sounds as tight as it should be. A neat performance enhanced with video projections, smoke and flames. The ambiance was there right from the start and was sustained throughout the show.

SETLIST CRADLE OF FILTH
Humana Inspired Nightmare (intro from Dusk And Her Embrace, 1996)
Heaven Torn Assunder (Dusk And Her Embrace, 1996)
Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids (Cruety And The Beast, 1998)
Blackest Magick In Practice (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Lord Abortion (Midian, 2000)
Right Wing Of The Garden Tryptich (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Malice Through The Looking Glass (Dusk And Her Embrae, 1996)
Deflowering The Maidenhead, Displeasuring The Godess (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Queen Of Winter Throned (V-Empire / Dark Faerytales In Phallusstein, 1996)

ENCORE
Walpurgis Eve (Intro Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Yours Immortally (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Nymphetamine Fix (Nymphetamine, 2004)
Twisted Nails Of Faith (Cruelty And The Beast, 1998)
Her Ghost In The Fog (Midian, 2000)

EXTRA ENCORE
The Forest Whispers My Name (The Princaple Of Evil Made Flesh, 1993)
Blooding The Hounds (Outro Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)

If the setlists of the previous shows of this Inquisitional Tourture 2015 on the website www.setlist.fm are correct, Dani Filth must have been really happy with the reactions of the crowd in Antwerp, as they played a song extra in comparison to the other shows: The Forest Whispers My Name.

Benny CALUWE
04/11/2015


04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void