tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

CRADLE OF FILTH

Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

Concert
04/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

After some doubts, I decided to see Cradle Of Filth at the Trix (venue in Antwerp-ed.) Indeed, doubts! A friend even refused to come with us. When they played there previously (February 2014, with Behemoth) Cradle Of Filth was quite crappy. We saw them last year at the Alcatraz Metal Fest, and yes: they didn't convince me either. I wouldn't say they sucked, but during the high pace sections they were a bit sloppy, just like if they had trouble to keep up with each other in the fiery parts. But I decided to give it a chance anyway. After all, the new album Hammer Of The Witches gets good reviews. And a concert inside, is usually better than one at a festival.

We arrived in Antwerp quite late and so, we didn't see Saille, a local Belgian black metal project, while we only could catch the end of Ne Obliviscaris'set. The Australian band seemed interesting. Black metal with some strong double bass drumming, topped with a violin. The venue wasn't completely filled, nice for me, as it was easy to choose a nice place in front of the stage, waiting for the headliners. 

During the tones of Humana Inspired Nightmare, the band members came on. The last one to mount the stage was frontman Dani Filth, the only remaining original member. He was wearing a mask with horns. On the back of the stage were crosses with horned skeletonsl. This classical intro was followed by Heaven Torn Assunder. The crowd was enthusiastic right from the start. After the killer track Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids, they played Blackest Magic In Practice. The new track was well received. Dani was happy with these reactions and said that Antwerp was much louder than gay Paris the evening before. Dani dedicated Deflowering The Maidenhead, Displeasuring The Godess (only Dani is able to come up with wicked titles like that) to a Belgian fan who recently committed suicide. The crowd answered with a circle pit. The majestic Queen Of Winter Throned ended the first part of the set.

As encores the band played classics as Nymphetamine and Her Ghost In The Fog. The Forest Whispers My Name ended a great show. Cradle Of Filth played stronger, better, harder and faster than the last time I saw them. It took some time, but this line up eventually sounds as tight as it should be. A neat performance enhanced with video projections, smoke and flames. The ambiance was there right from the start and was sustained throughout the show.

SETLIST CRADLE OF FILTH
Humana Inspired Nightmare (intro from Dusk And Her Embrace, 1996)
Heaven Torn Assunder (Dusk And Her Embrace, 1996)
Cruelty Brought Thee Orchids (Cruety And The Beast, 1998)
Blackest Magick In Practice (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Lord Abortion (Midian, 2000)
Right Wing Of The Garden Tryptich (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Malice Through The Looking Glass (Dusk And Her Embrae, 1996)
Deflowering The Maidenhead, Displeasuring The Godess (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Queen Of Winter Throned (V-Empire / Dark Faerytales In Phallusstein, 1996)

ENCORE
Walpurgis Eve (Intro Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Yours Immortally (Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)
Nymphetamine Fix (Nymphetamine, 2004)
Twisted Nails Of Faith (Cruelty And The Beast, 1998)
Her Ghost In The Fog (Midian, 2000)

EXTRA ENCORE
The Forest Whispers My Name (The Princaple Of Evil Made Flesh, 1993)
Blooding The Hounds (Outro Hammer Of The Witches, 2015)

If the setlists of the previous shows of this Inquisitional Tourture 2015 on the website www.setlist.fm are correct, Dani Filth must have been really happy with the reactions of the crowd in Antwerp, as they played a song extra in comparison to the other shows: The Forest Whispers My Name.

Benny CALUWE
04/11/2015


04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015) 04/11/2015 : CRADLE OF FILTH - Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang