tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/11/2014 : CRAIG ARMSTRONG - It's Nearly Tomorrow

CRAIG ARMSTRONG

It's Nearly Tomorrow

MusicCD
DanceJazzTrip Hop

[70/100]   

BMG
02/11/2014, Paul PLEDGER

After contributing to the under-valued The Big Dish in the '80s, the revered Massive Attack in the '90s, composing several award-winning soundtracks ever since and dipping into classical AND pop for a string of solo albums, Scottish stalwart Armstrong returns with another sole effort, his first since 2004's Piano Works.

I say 'sole' - for this elegiac, melancholic and reflective collection, familiar vocalists Brett Anderson, James Grant (Love and Money), Jerry Burns and The Blue Nile's Paul Buchanan have been drafted in to realise Armstrong's romantic vision with instrumentalists Chris Botti (soft trumpet) and Vladislav Delay (Finnish glitchmeister) colouring in the edges.

Fans of his previous works The Space Between Us and As If To Nothing won't be disappointed - the 17 pieces (20 if you buy digital, boooo!) are comprised of minor-key balladry or rigidly thoughtful symphonic instrumentals searching for a soundtrack to an epic film or two. Violet, Outside and Early Sun are perhaps the highlights from the latter camp - what of the former? Paul Buchanan's fragile seemingly-whiskeyed tonsils soak two compositions with heartfelt intensity and the kind of sorrow that makes grown men lachrymose in a heartbeat - It's Not Alright is pure uncut sorrow with the merest trickle of hope amongst the regret.

Brett Anderson's Crash could grace a Suede album for sure and it's always a pleasure to hear the female equivalent to Buchanan, Jerry Burns, grace the album with a raw honeyed vocal on the pretty Powder with James Grant, although her solo stint on Dust steals the show somewhat.

Although a couple of the instrumentals are a tad mawkish, most of It's Nearly Tomorrow offers up sweetly composed indulgences that demand a quiet setting in which to listen, a spot of drinking down to the label and a warm fire to dry those inevitable tears.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
02/11/2014


 

Next reviews
ALLEZ ALLEZ • CLASSICS : Promises
BERNARDO BERTOLUCCI • Last Tango In Paris
JOHN FOXX & STEVE D'AGOSTINO • Evidence Of Time Travel
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
• Defiance Season 2
CHRYSALIDE • Personal Revolution
TOM BERNINGER • Mistaken for Strangers
DAVID MACKENZIE • Starred Up
LOST ELEGY • Watch Yer Back / Heavy Rain
JONAS GOVAERTS • Welp

 

Same genre: DANCE
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
THE INVISIBLE • Patience
DJ SHADOW • The Mountain Will Fall
MONOLITH • Domination
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation