tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/11/2015 : CRIMSON SCARLET - Collection: 2011-2014

CRIMSON SCARLET

Collection: 2011-2014

MusicVinyl
Gothic RockPost PunkPunk

[78/100]   

Symphony of Destruction
11/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

There is no prize for guessing what Crimson Scarlet’s latest release, Collection 2011-2014, does. You get two 7”s and a EP released by 3.5 Californian Post Punk Rockers. That’s seven original tracks plus cover's of Joy Division and Pink Turns Blue.

The female vocals remind me a little of 45 Grave. I really like the fat bass sound which is accompanied by metalic guitars and drums. The lyrics are darkly poetic, touching on religion, death, the supernatural and human struggle.

For me, it’s the kind of solid release to put on while having a few beers with your mates and enjoy in the knowledge you won’t have to get up and skip any tracks. Good stuff!

Limited to 350 hand screened copies.

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


NL

Collection 2011-2014 is de laatste release van Crimson Scarlet en het is ongelooflijk wat je er allemaal op vindt. Je krijgt twee singles en een ep van deze Californische postpunkrockers, en bovenop de zeven originele tracks, word je ook nog verwend met een cover van Joy Division en Pink Turns Blue.

De vrouwelijke zang doet me wat aan 45 Grave denken. Ik hou echt van het vette basgeluid dat gecombineerd wordt met de metaalachtige gitaren en drums. De teksten zijn donker en gaan over religie, de dood, het bovennatuurlijke en de menselijke strijd.

Voor mij is dit het soort release dat je het opzet als je met wat vrienden van een paar biertjes wil genieten en geen zin hebt om uit je zetel te komen omdat je een nummer wil overslaan! Schitterend materiaal, maar wees vlug want er zijn maar 350 exemplaren!

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


 

Next reviews
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
MERCURY REV • Brussels, Botanique (08/11/2015)
DE BRASSERS • Brussels, Magasin 4 (07/11/2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
SPECTRA*PARIS • License To Kill
RANK • PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same genre: PUNK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence