tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/11/2015 : CRIMSON SCARLET - Collection: 2011-2014

CRIMSON SCARLET

Collection: 2011-2014

MusicVinyl
Gothic RockPost PunkPunk

[78/100]   

Symphony of Destruction
11/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

There is no prize for guessing what Crimson Scarlet’s latest release, Collection 2011-2014, does. You get two 7”s and a EP released by 3.5 Californian Post Punk Rockers. That’s seven original tracks plus cover's of Joy Division and Pink Turns Blue.

The female vocals remind me a little of 45 Grave. I really like the fat bass sound which is accompanied by metalic guitars and drums. The lyrics are darkly poetic, touching on religion, death, the supernatural and human struggle.

For me, it’s the kind of solid release to put on while having a few beers with your mates and enjoy in the knowledge you won’t have to get up and skip any tracks. Good stuff!

Limited to 350 hand screened copies.

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


NL

Collection 2011-2014 is de laatste release van Crimson Scarlet en het is ongelooflijk wat je er allemaal op vindt. Je krijgt twee singles en een ep van deze Californische postpunkrockers, en bovenop de zeven originele tracks, word je ook nog verwend met een cover van Joy Division en Pink Turns Blue.

De vrouwelijke zang doet me wat aan 45 Grave denken. Ik hou echt van het vette basgeluid dat gecombineerd wordt met de metaalachtige gitaren en drums. De teksten zijn donker en gaan over religie, de dood, het bovennatuurlijke en de menselijke strijd.

Voor mij is dit het soort release dat je het opzet als je met wat vrienden van een paar biertjes wil genieten en geen zin hebt om uit je zetel te komen omdat je een nummer wil overslaan! Schitterend materiaal, maar wees vlug want er zijn maar 350 exemplaren!

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


 

Next reviews
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
MERCURY REV • Brussels, Botanique (08/11/2015)
DE BRASSERS • Brussels, Magasin 4 (07/11/2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
SPECTRA*PARIS • License To Kill
RANK • PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses