tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

11/11/2015 : CRIMSON SCARLET - Collection: 2011-2014

CRIMSON SCARLET

Collection: 2011-2014

MusicVinyl
Gothic RockPost PunkPunk

[78/100]   

Symphony of Destruction
11/11/2015, Luki PUKI

EN

There is no prize for guessing what Crimson Scarlet’s latest release, Collection 2011-2014, does. You get two 7”s and a EP released by 3.5 Californian Post Punk Rockers. That’s seven original tracks plus cover's of Joy Division and Pink Turns Blue.

The female vocals remind me a little of 45 Grave. I really like the fat bass sound which is accompanied by metalic guitars and drums. The lyrics are darkly poetic, touching on religion, death, the supernatural and human struggle.

For me, it’s the kind of solid release to put on while having a few beers with your mates and enjoy in the knowledge you won’t have to get up and skip any tracks. Good stuff!

Limited to 350 hand screened copies.

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


NL

Collection 2011-2014 is de laatste release van Crimson Scarlet en het is ongelooflijk wat je er allemaal op vindt. Je krijgt twee singles en een ep van deze Californische postpunkrockers, en bovenop de zeven originele tracks, word je ook nog verwend met een cover van Joy Division en Pink Turns Blue.

De vrouwelijke zang doet me wat aan 45 Grave denken. Ik hou echt van het vette basgeluid dat gecombineerd wordt met de metaalachtige gitaren en drums. De teksten zijn donker en gaan over religie, de dood, het bovennatuurlijke en de menselijke strijd.

Voor mij is dit het soort release dat je het opzet als je met wat vrienden van een paar biertjes wil genieten en geen zin hebt om uit je zetel te komen omdat je een nummer wil overslaan! Schitterend materiaal, maar wees vlug want er zijn maar 350 exemplaren!

Luki PUKI
11/11/2015


 

Next reviews
HORTUS BOTANICUS • (NL, Leiden)
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
MERCURY REV • Brussels, Botanique (08/11/2015)
DE BRASSERS • Brussels, Magasin 4 (07/11/2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies
SPECTRA*PARIS • License To Kill
RANK • PLAN YOUR DOWNFALL
NEW ORDER • Brussels, AB (06/11/2015)
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes