tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CROOKED MAN - Crooked Man

CROOKED MAN

Crooked Man

MusicCD
ElectronicsFunk/Soul

[74/100]   

DFA Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sheffield and electronic sounds always were a perfect marriage. Crooked Man is the alter ego of Richard Barratt (aka DJ Parrot) who worked on this debut album with Clock DVA member Michael Ward, David Lewin and Stephen Singleton, who was in ABC.

If you have to believe the stories, Richard was a farmer boy whose life changed completely when he heard The Human League and Cabaret Voltaire. Because he couldn’t find any events he want to go to, he started organizing his own Jive Turkey parties with Winston Hazel in 1985 and he became one of the most successful DJs of Sheffield.

Later he collaborated with Richard H. Kirk of Cabaret Voltaire and formed The Sweet Exorcist that released the first LP on Warp. Afterwards Parrot worked for various labels, but he was mainly active as a producer (from Richard Hawley to Roisin Murphy). And now he’s back as Crooked Man.

The debut on DFA shows you all sides of the dance floor and even though all the songs are overwhelmed by beats, the soulful dance remains highly suitable for the living room.

Dance music with tight beats that almost sound like fireworks. Often you can hear influences from funk and soul, but you also hear the icy industrial Sheffield beats.

Crooked Man is a bit commercial, but also an aural adventure. Ideal for dance lovers who are not afraid of some of funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sheffield en elektronische klanken, het bleek altijd een ideaal huwelijk. Crooked Man is het alter ego van Richard Barratt (ook wel DJ Parrot) en op zijn debuut werkte hij samen met Clock DVA-man Michael Ward, David Lewin en Stephen Singleton, die ooit nog bij ABC zat.

Als je de verhaaltjes mag geloven, was Richard een plattelandsjongen wiens leven compleet veranderde toen hij voor het eerst The Human League en Cabaret Voltaire hoorde. Omdat hij nergens op feestjes terechtkon, organiseerde hij vanaf 1985 zijn eigen Jive Turkey-fuiven. Hij deed dat samen met Winston Hazel en hij werd één van de grootste dj’s van Sheffield.

Later werkten hij met Richard H. Kirk van Cabaret Voltaire samen in The Sweet Exorcist, die de allereerste lp op Warp zou uitbrengen. Nadien werkte Parrot nog voor allerlei labels, maar hij was vooral als producer actief (van Richard Hawley tot Roisin Murphy). En nu dus als Crooked Man.

Het debuut op DFA laat je werkelijk alle kanten van de dansvloer zien en hoewel alle songs door beats worden overstelpt, blijft de soulachtige dance uiterst geschikt voor de huiskamer.

Dansmuziek die door merg en been gaat met weemoedige, strakke beats die bijna als vuurpijlen klinken. Vaak hoor je invloeden van funk en soul, maar je hoort er tevens de ijskoude industrial beats van Sheffield in.

Crooked Man is wel wat commercieel, maar zeker ook een auditief avontuur. Ideaal voor danceliefhebbers die niet vies zijn van wat funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald