tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CROOKED MAN - Crooked Man

CROOKED MAN

Crooked Man

MusicCD
ElectronicsFunk/Soul

[74/100]   

DFA Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sheffield and electronic sounds always were a perfect marriage. Crooked Man is the alter ego of Richard Barratt (aka DJ Parrot) who worked on this debut album with Clock DVA member Michael Ward, David Lewin and Stephen Singleton, who was in ABC.

If you have to believe the stories, Richard was a farmer boy whose life changed completely when he heard The Human League and Cabaret Voltaire. Because he couldn’t find any events he want to go to, he started organizing his own Jive Turkey parties with Winston Hazel in 1985 and he became one of the most successful DJs of Sheffield.

Later he collaborated with Richard H. Kirk of Cabaret Voltaire and formed The Sweet Exorcist that released the first LP on Warp. Afterwards Parrot worked for various labels, but he was mainly active as a producer (from Richard Hawley to Roisin Murphy). And now he’s back as Crooked Man.

The debut on DFA shows you all sides of the dance floor and even though all the songs are overwhelmed by beats, the soulful dance remains highly suitable for the living room.

Dance music with tight beats that almost sound like fireworks. Often you can hear influences from funk and soul, but you also hear the icy industrial Sheffield beats.

Crooked Man is a bit commercial, but also an aural adventure. Ideal for dance lovers who are not afraid of some of funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sheffield en elektronische klanken, het bleek altijd een ideaal huwelijk. Crooked Man is het alter ego van Richard Barratt (ook wel DJ Parrot) en op zijn debuut werkte hij samen met Clock DVA-man Michael Ward, David Lewin en Stephen Singleton, die ooit nog bij ABC zat.

Als je de verhaaltjes mag geloven, was Richard een plattelandsjongen wiens leven compleet veranderde toen hij voor het eerst The Human League en Cabaret Voltaire hoorde. Omdat hij nergens op feestjes terechtkon, organiseerde hij vanaf 1985 zijn eigen Jive Turkey-fuiven. Hij deed dat samen met Winston Hazel en hij werd één van de grootste dj’s van Sheffield.

Later werkten hij met Richard H. Kirk van Cabaret Voltaire samen in The Sweet Exorcist, die de allereerste lp op Warp zou uitbrengen. Nadien werkte Parrot nog voor allerlei labels, maar hij was vooral als producer actief (van Richard Hawley tot Roisin Murphy). En nu dus als Crooked Man.

Het debuut op DFA laat je werkelijk alle kanten van de dansvloer zien en hoewel alle songs door beats worden overstelpt, blijft de soulachtige dance uiterst geschikt voor de huiskamer.

Dansmuziek die door merg en been gaat met weemoedige, strakke beats die bijna als vuurpijlen klinken. Vaak hoor je invloeden van funk en soul, maar je hoort er tevens de ijskoude industrial beats van Sheffield in.

Crooked Man is wel wat commercieel, maar zeker ook een auditief avontuur. Ideaal voor danceliefhebbers die niet vies zijn van wat funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem