tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CROOKED MAN - Crooked Man

CROOKED MAN

Crooked Man

MusicCD
ElectronicsFunk/Soul

[74/100]   

DFA Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sheffield and electronic sounds always were a perfect marriage. Crooked Man is the alter ego of Richard Barratt (aka DJ Parrot) who worked on this debut album with Clock DVA member Michael Ward, David Lewin and Stephen Singleton, who was in ABC.

If you have to believe the stories, Richard was a farmer boy whose life changed completely when he heard The Human League and Cabaret Voltaire. Because he couldn’t find any events he want to go to, he started organizing his own Jive Turkey parties with Winston Hazel in 1985 and he became one of the most successful DJs of Sheffield.

Later he collaborated with Richard H. Kirk of Cabaret Voltaire and formed The Sweet Exorcist that released the first LP on Warp. Afterwards Parrot worked for various labels, but he was mainly active as a producer (from Richard Hawley to Roisin Murphy). And now he’s back as Crooked Man.

The debut on DFA shows you all sides of the dance floor and even though all the songs are overwhelmed by beats, the soulful dance remains highly suitable for the living room.

Dance music with tight beats that almost sound like fireworks. Often you can hear influences from funk and soul, but you also hear the icy industrial Sheffield beats.

Crooked Man is a bit commercial, but also an aural adventure. Ideal for dance lovers who are not afraid of some of funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sheffield en elektronische klanken, het bleek altijd een ideaal huwelijk. Crooked Man is het alter ego van Richard Barratt (ook wel DJ Parrot) en op zijn debuut werkte hij samen met Clock DVA-man Michael Ward, David Lewin en Stephen Singleton, die ooit nog bij ABC zat.

Als je de verhaaltjes mag geloven, was Richard een plattelandsjongen wiens leven compleet veranderde toen hij voor het eerst The Human League en Cabaret Voltaire hoorde. Omdat hij nergens op feestjes terechtkon, organiseerde hij vanaf 1985 zijn eigen Jive Turkey-fuiven. Hij deed dat samen met Winston Hazel en hij werd één van de grootste dj’s van Sheffield.

Later werkten hij met Richard H. Kirk van Cabaret Voltaire samen in The Sweet Exorcist, die de allereerste lp op Warp zou uitbrengen. Nadien werkte Parrot nog voor allerlei labels, maar hij was vooral als producer actief (van Richard Hawley tot Roisin Murphy). En nu dus als Crooked Man.

Het debuut op DFA laat je werkelijk alle kanten van de dansvloer zien en hoewel alle songs door beats worden overstelpt, blijft de soulachtige dance uiterst geschikt voor de huiskamer.

Dansmuziek die door merg en been gaat met weemoedige, strakke beats die bijna als vuurpijlen klinken. Vaak hoor je invloeden van funk en soul, maar je hoort er tevens de ijskoude industrial beats van Sheffield in.

Crooked Man is wel wat commercieel, maar zeker ook een auditief avontuur. Ideaal voor danceliefhebbers die niet vies zijn van wat funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap