tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CROOKED MAN - Crooked Man

CROOKED MAN

Crooked Man

MusicCD
ElectronicsFunk/Soul

[74/100]   

DFA Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Sheffield and electronic sounds always were a perfect marriage. Crooked Man is the alter ego of Richard Barratt (aka DJ Parrot) who worked on this debut album with Clock DVA member Michael Ward, David Lewin and Stephen Singleton, who was in ABC.

If you have to believe the stories, Richard was a farmer boy whose life changed completely when he heard The Human League and Cabaret Voltaire. Because he couldn’t find any events he want to go to, he started organizing his own Jive Turkey parties with Winston Hazel in 1985 and he became one of the most successful DJs of Sheffield.

Later he collaborated with Richard H. Kirk of Cabaret Voltaire and formed The Sweet Exorcist that released the first LP on Warp. Afterwards Parrot worked for various labels, but he was mainly active as a producer (from Richard Hawley to Roisin Murphy). And now he’s back as Crooked Man.

The debut on DFA shows you all sides of the dance floor and even though all the songs are overwhelmed by beats, the soulful dance remains highly suitable for the living room.

Dance music with tight beats that almost sound like fireworks. Often you can hear influences from funk and soul, but you also hear the icy industrial Sheffield beats.

Crooked Man is a bit commercial, but also an aural adventure. Ideal for dance lovers who are not afraid of some of funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Sheffield en elektronische klanken, het bleek altijd een ideaal huwelijk. Crooked Man is het alter ego van Richard Barratt (ook wel DJ Parrot) en op zijn debuut werkte hij samen met Clock DVA-man Michael Ward, David Lewin en Stephen Singleton, die ooit nog bij ABC zat.

Als je de verhaaltjes mag geloven, was Richard een plattelandsjongen wiens leven compleet veranderde toen hij voor het eerst The Human League en Cabaret Voltaire hoorde. Omdat hij nergens op feestjes terechtkon, organiseerde hij vanaf 1985 zijn eigen Jive Turkey-fuiven. Hij deed dat samen met Winston Hazel en hij werd één van de grootste dj’s van Sheffield.

Later werkten hij met Richard H. Kirk van Cabaret Voltaire samen in The Sweet Exorcist, die de allereerste lp op Warp zou uitbrengen. Nadien werkte Parrot nog voor allerlei labels, maar hij was vooral als producer actief (van Richard Hawley tot Roisin Murphy). En nu dus als Crooked Man.

Het debuut op DFA laat je werkelijk alle kanten van de dansvloer zien en hoewel alle songs door beats worden overstelpt, blijft de soulachtige dance uiterst geschikt voor de huiskamer.

Dansmuziek die door merg en been gaat met weemoedige, strakke beats die bijna als vuurpijlen klinken. Vaak hoor je invloeden van funk en soul, maar je hoort er tevens de ijskoude industrial beats van Sheffield in.

Crooked Man is wel wat commercieel, maar zeker ook een auditief avontuur. Ideaal voor danceliefhebbers die niet vies zijn van wat funk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected