tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

06/01/2016 : CRYSTAL SODA CREAM - Rationale Arbeitsschritte

CRYSTAL SODA CREAM

Rationale Arbeitsschritte

Music7 inch
Cold WaveNeue Deutsche WellePost Punk

[84/100]   

KIM Records
06/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Everything returns one day, even Neue Deutsche Welle. With a name like Crystal Soda Cream, you might suspect some sugar-sweet pop that makes you sick, but this post-punk band from Vienna is rather one that makes you feel alive. Two years ago this trio released the album Escape From Vienna on Totally Wired Records, and now there is a brand new single on KIM Records.

The sound of the band is often compared to the cold wave period of The Cure (you can hear that on the B-side Eyeline Statues that could have been a Pornography track), but the flipside Rationale Arbeitsschritte is something completely different. Dark post-punk with a nod to the German punk noise of Malaria!

This single could have been released in 1981, but it is a new band. With some luck Crystal Soda Cream can play next to Ash Code or She Past Away. Quite sublime!

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


NL

Alles keert ooit terug, zelfs de Neue Deutsche Welle. Met een naam als Crystal Soda Cream verwacht je misschien eerder zeemzoete pop die je misselijk maakt, maar deze postpunkband uit Wenen is er eerder eentje die je wakker schudt. Twee jaar geleden bracht dit trio op Totally Wired Records de lp Escape From Vienna uit, en nu is er een gloednieuwe single op KIM Records.

Het geluid van de band wordt vaak vergeleken met de coldwaveperiode van The Cure (en dat hoor je zonder twijfel op het B-kantje Eyeline Statues dat zo op Pornography kan), maar Rationale Arbeitsschritte is toch iets helemaal anders. Donkere postpunk met een knipoog naar het Duitse punklawaai van Malaria!

Deze single kon met het grootste gemak in 1981 uitgebracht zijn, maar het gaat wel degelijk om een nieuwe band. Met wat geluk kan Crystal Soda Cream meespelen in de mooie vijver van Ash Code of She Past Away. Tamelijk subliem dus!

 

 

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


 

Next reviews
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
THE MARY HART ATTACK • Ghent, The Video 04/01/16
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems
KABAK • Avu
MOTH • First Second
SOULSAVERS • Kubrick
JORIS LAARMAN • Joris Laarman Lab (Groningen, Groninger Museum, until/tot 10/04/2016)
BRIAN JAMES • The Guitar That Dripped Blood
LUCA BANDINI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf