tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/06/2011 : CUBS - The Whispering Woods

CUBS

The Whispering Woods

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / Tribal

[62/100]   

Rusted Rail
03/06/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

The Whispering Woodsis a musical project involving members of Phantom Dog Beneath The Moon, United Bible Studies, C Joynes, Plinth, Agitated Radio Pilot, Yawning Chasm, and individual musicians. The album was recorded in Ireland, England and Gambia.

The music grew out of improvisation and is made with various stringed instruments (guitar, cello, banjo, bouzouki), accordion and samples. There is little singing. Most tracks are instrumental, some with spoken word. The genre is folk with influences from world music.

The whole has a melancholic atmosphere.

However, this work can not convince me. The creators of the album miss the chance to deliver an original artistic product. A group of people sat together in order to have fun, making music. And that is how the album sounds. There is no much added value. The recording however has great potential. In my opinion, the crossover could be developed in a more profound and well thought-out way.

Bernadette ALLAERT
03/06/2011


NL

The Whispering Woods is een muzikaal project waarbij leden van Phantom Dog Beneath The Moon, United Bible Studies, C Joynes, Plinth, Agitated Radio Pilot, Yawning Chasm en individuele muzikanten bij elkaar werden gebracht. Het album werd opgenomen in Ierland, Engeland en Gambia.

De muziek ontstond uit improvisatie en wordt gemaakt met verschillende snaarinstrumenten (gitaar, cello, banjo, bouzouki), accordeon en samples. De meeste nummers zijn instrumentaal. Er wordt weinig gezongen en wanneer stemmen worden gebruikt wordt tekst gedebiteerd in parlando. Het is folk met invloeden uit de wereldmuziek.

Het geheel heeft een weemoedige sfeer.

Dit werk kan mij echter niet overtuigen. De makers van het album missen een kans om een origineel artistiek product af te leveren. Mensen zijn gaan samen zitten en hebben op een fijne manier muziek gemaakt. Zo klink het ook. Maar, er is weinig toegevoegde waarde. De opname heeft veel potentieel: de cross over mocht, wat mij betreft, diepgaander en meer doorwrocht worden uitgewerkt.

Bernadette ALLAERT
03/06/2011


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux