tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

30/11/2015 : CULT CLUB - Never Enough

CULT CLUB

Never Enough

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[94/100]   

Domestica Records
30/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the choice of the name is a little bit unfortunate, because if you want to find something about Cult Club on the web, you're almost always staring at the group of Boy George. Nah good, the only thing these bands share is a fascination for the 80s.

Reportedly, Sally Jørgensen and László Antal met when they were listening to Axel F (the Beverly Hills Cop theme by Harold Faltermeyer). The two discovered that they’re both addicted to electro pop singles from the 80s and from that love Cult Club was born. Nice story, isn't it?

Domestica Records now releases the first maxi of this duo (limited to 350 copies) and it contains three songs: All The People and Never Enough (in a long and short version). Cult Club sounds amazing, even though you heard their minimal synth before in Sixth June. Is that a problem? Absolutely not, the songs are full of melancholy, they are melodic and after two spins you know they’re going to be wave classics! Highly recommended!

Didier BECU
30/11/2015


NL

De naam is misschien wat ongelukkig gekozen, want als je op het web iets te weten wil komen over Cult Club, zit je bijna steeds naar het groepje van Boy George te staren. Nu goed, het enige wat deze bands gemeen hebben is een fascinatie voor de jaren 80.

Naar verluidt hebben Sally Jørgensen en László Antal elkaar leren kennen toen ze naar Axel F (het Beverly Hills Cop-nummer van Harold Faltermeyer) zaten te luisteren. De twee bleken verslaafd te zijn aan electropopsingletjes uit de jaren 80 en uit die liefde is Cult Club ontstaan. Mooi, toch?

Domestica Records brengt nu de eerste maxi van dit duo uit (gelimiteerd tot 350 exemplaren) en er staan drie nummers op: All The People en Never Enough (in een lange en korte versie). Cult Club klinkt ronduit geweldig, ofschoon je hun minima synthgeluid al eens gehoord hebt bij Sixth June. Maar vinden wij dat erg? Absoluut niet, want die tracks zitten vol melancholie, ze zijn melodisch en na twee beluisteringen weet je dat het om waveklassiekers gaat! Absolute aanrader!

Didier BECU
30/11/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
03
0KONTROL
Gologramma
08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies