tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

30/11/2015 : CULT CLUB - Never Enough

CULT CLUB

Never Enough

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[94/100]   

Domestica Records
30/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the choice of the name is a little bit unfortunate, because if you want to find something about Cult Club on the web, you're almost always staring at the group of Boy George. Nah good, the only thing these bands share is a fascination for the 80s.

Reportedly, Sally Jørgensen and László Antal met when they were listening to Axel F (the Beverly Hills Cop theme by Harold Faltermeyer). The two discovered that they’re both addicted to electro pop singles from the 80s and from that love Cult Club was born. Nice story, isn't it?

Domestica Records now releases the first maxi of this duo (limited to 350 copies) and it contains three songs: All The People and Never Enough (in a long and short version). Cult Club sounds amazing, even though you heard their minimal synth before in Sixth June. Is that a problem? Absolutely not, the songs are full of melancholy, they are melodic and after two spins you know they’re going to be wave classics! Highly recommended!

Didier BECU
30/11/2015


NL

De naam is misschien wat ongelukkig gekozen, want als je op het web iets te weten wil komen over Cult Club, zit je bijna steeds naar het groepje van Boy George te staren. Nu goed, het enige wat deze bands gemeen hebben is een fascinatie voor de jaren 80.

Naar verluidt hebben Sally Jørgensen en László Antal elkaar leren kennen toen ze naar Axel F (het Beverly Hills Cop-nummer van Harold Faltermeyer) zaten te luisteren. De twee bleken verslaafd te zijn aan electropopsingletjes uit de jaren 80 en uit die liefde is Cult Club ontstaan. Mooi, toch?

Domestica Records brengt nu de eerste maxi van dit duo uit (gelimiteerd tot 350 exemplaren) en er staan drie nummers op: All The People en Never Enough (in een lange en korte versie). Cult Club klinkt ronduit geweldig, ofschoon je hun minima synthgeluid al eens gehoord hebt bij Sixth June. Maar vinden wij dat erg? Absoluut niet, want die tracks zitten vol melancholie, ze zijn melodisch en na twee beluisteringen weet je dat het om waveklassiekers gaat! Absolute aanrader!

Didier BECU
30/11/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno