tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CUTTING CREW - Add To Your Favourites

CUTTING CREW

Add To Your Favourites

MusicCD
BluesRock

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A first single that becomes a world hit can be a dream or a nightmare that haunts you forever. I do not know what it meant for Cutting Crew, the fact is that they have never equaled the success of I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight. It's not that they stopped, as the second album The Scattering (1989) is generally more appreciated then the debut Broadcast (1986). Did you know that Nick Van Eede (songwriter and vocalist) worked with Mika, Marillion and Cher? After a handful of albums and some hiatus, Cutting Crew is back. After more than ten years, Add To Favourites is their fifth album.

What do we hear on this album? A mature band with songs that are somewhere between Van Morrison, Robert Cray Band and Gary Moore. It certainly is not an album with songs like I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight. No pop/rock album, but melodic and mature songs with fine vocals, sax and bluesy guitar work.

The opener and also the first single, Till The Money Runs Out, has a nice flow, beautiful vocals and a catchy chorus. Biggest Mistake of My Life has the same characteristics. Some songs contain a lot of blues guitars: Looking For a Friend or the magnificent ballad As Far As I Can See. Only For You is a ballad with a moody slide guitar, a delicate piano sound and horns. The lyrics are honest love songs.

Cutting Crew will not score a world hit with this album, but it creates honest, traditional music. For me, this is the best album they have made so far. I Just Died in Your Arms remains a classic because I have sentimental memories about it... But musically, Add To Your Favourites gives me more pleasure than Broadcast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Een wereldhit scoren met je eerste single lijkt soms een droom en in het andere geval soms een beetje een nachtmerrie die je je hele carrière blijft achtervolgen. Ik weet niet welke van de twee voor Cutting Crew geldt, feit is dat ze het succes van I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight nooit meer hebben geëvenaard. Het is niet dat ze niet verder deden. Hun tweede album The Scattering (1989) wordt algemeen hoger ingeschat dan hun debuut Broadcast (1986). Wie wist trouwens dat zanger Nick Van Eede al samenwerkte met Mika, Marillion en Cher? Na een handvol albums en wat rustpauzes, is Cutting Crew opnieuw bezig. En na ruim tien jaar is er nu hun vijfde album Add To Favourites.

Wat krijgen we te horen op dit album? Een volwassen band met nummers die zich ergens tussen Van Morrison, Robert Cray Band en Gary Moore nestelen. Wat is het zeker niet? Een album met nummers zoals I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight. Geen pop/rockalbum dus, maar wel melodieuze en volwassen songs met fijne zang, sax en bluesachtig gitaarwerk.

De opener en tevens de eerste single, Till The Money Runs Out, heeft een leuke flow, mooie samenzang, een catchy refrein en blazers. Ook Biggest Mistake of My Life heeft die kenmerken. Sommige songs klinken nogal bluesy zoals Looking For a Friend of de magnifieke ballade As Far As I Can See. Only For You is een ballade met een stemmige slidegitaar, fijne piano en blazers. De teksten zijn eerlijke liefdesliedjes en de zang is zowel degelijk als geschikt.

Cutting Crew zal met dit album geen wereldhit scoren, maar wie van eerlijke, traditionele muziek houdt, moet weten dat dit het beste album is dat ze tot dusver hebben gemaakt. I Just Died in Your Arms blijft voor mij een wereldsong en niet alleen omdat ik er sentimentele jeugdherinneringen aan heb overgehouden, maar muzikaal kan Add to Your Favourites mij misschien nog meer plezieren dan Broadcast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden