tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CUTTING CREW - Add To Your Favourites

CUTTING CREW

Add To Your Favourites

MusicCD
BluesRock

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A first single that becomes a world hit can be a dream or a nightmare that haunts you forever. I do not know what it meant for Cutting Crew, the fact is that they have never equaled the success of I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight. It's not that they stopped, as the second album The Scattering (1989) is generally more appreciated then the debut Broadcast (1986). Did you know that Nick Van Eede (songwriter and vocalist) worked with Mika, Marillion and Cher? After a handful of albums and some hiatus, Cutting Crew is back. After more than ten years, Add To Favourites is their fifth album.

What do we hear on this album? A mature band with songs that are somewhere between Van Morrison, Robert Cray Band and Gary Moore. It certainly is not an album with songs like I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight. No pop/rock album, but melodic and mature songs with fine vocals, sax and bluesy guitar work.

The opener and also the first single, Till The Money Runs Out, has a nice flow, beautiful vocals and a catchy chorus. Biggest Mistake of My Life has the same characteristics. Some songs contain a lot of blues guitars: Looking For a Friend or the magnificent ballad As Far As I Can See. Only For You is a ballad with a moody slide guitar, a delicate piano sound and horns. The lyrics are honest love songs.

Cutting Crew will not score a world hit with this album, but it creates honest, traditional music. For me, this is the best album they have made so far. I Just Died in Your Arms remains a classic because I have sentimental memories about it... But musically, Add To Your Favourites gives me more pleasure than Broadcast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Een wereldhit scoren met je eerste single lijkt soms een droom en in het andere geval soms een beetje een nachtmerrie die je je hele carrière blijft achtervolgen. Ik weet niet welke van de twee voor Cutting Crew geldt, feit is dat ze het succes van I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight nooit meer hebben geëvenaard. Het is niet dat ze niet verder deden. Hun tweede album The Scattering (1989) wordt algemeen hoger ingeschat dan hun debuut Broadcast (1986). Wie wist trouwens dat zanger Nick Van Eede al samenwerkte met Mika, Marillion en Cher? Na een handvol albums en wat rustpauzes, is Cutting Crew opnieuw bezig. En na ruim tien jaar is er nu hun vijfde album Add To Favourites.

Wat krijgen we te horen op dit album? Een volwassen band met nummers die zich ergens tussen Van Morrison, Robert Cray Band en Gary Moore nestelen. Wat is het zeker niet? Een album met nummers zoals I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight. Geen pop/rockalbum dus, maar wel melodieuze en volwassen songs met fijne zang, sax en bluesachtig gitaarwerk.

De opener en tevens de eerste single, Till The Money Runs Out, heeft een leuke flow, mooie samenzang, een catchy refrein en blazers. Ook Biggest Mistake of My Life heeft die kenmerken. Sommige songs klinken nogal bluesy zoals Looking For a Friend of de magnifieke ballade As Far As I Can See. Only For You is een ballade met een stemmige slidegitaar, fijne piano en blazers. De teksten zijn eerlijke liefdesliedjes en de zang is zowel degelijk als geschikt.

Cutting Crew zal met dit album geen wereldhit scoren, maar wie van eerlijke, traditionele muziek houdt, moet weten dat dit het beste album is dat ze tot dusver hebben gemaakt. I Just Died in Your Arms blijft voor mij een wereldsong en niet alleen omdat ik er sentimentele jeugdherinneringen aan heb overgehouden, maar muzikaal kan Add to Your Favourites mij misschien nog meer plezieren dan Broadcast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo