tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CUTTING CREW - Add To Your Favourites

CUTTING CREW

Add To Your Favourites

MusicCD
BluesRock

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A first single that becomes a world hit can be a dream or a nightmare that haunts you forever. I do not know what it meant for Cutting Crew, the fact is that they have never equaled the success of I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight. It's not that they stopped, as the second album The Scattering (1989) is generally more appreciated then the debut Broadcast (1986). Did you know that Nick Van Eede (songwriter and vocalist) worked with Mika, Marillion and Cher? After a handful of albums and some hiatus, Cutting Crew is back. After more than ten years, Add To Favourites is their fifth album.

What do we hear on this album? A mature band with songs that are somewhere between Van Morrison, Robert Cray Band and Gary Moore. It certainly is not an album with songs like I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight. No pop/rock album, but melodic and mature songs with fine vocals, sax and bluesy guitar work.

The opener and also the first single, Till The Money Runs Out, has a nice flow, beautiful vocals and a catchy chorus. Biggest Mistake of My Life has the same characteristics. Some songs contain a lot of blues guitars: Looking For a Friend or the magnificent ballad As Far As I Can See. Only For You is a ballad with a moody slide guitar, a delicate piano sound and horns. The lyrics are honest love songs.

Cutting Crew will not score a world hit with this album, but it creates honest, traditional music. For me, this is the best album they have made so far. I Just Died in Your Arms remains a classic because I have sentimental memories about it... But musically, Add To Your Favourites gives me more pleasure than Broadcast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Een wereldhit scoren met je eerste single lijkt soms een droom en in het andere geval soms een beetje een nachtmerrie die je je hele carrière blijft achtervolgen. Ik weet niet welke van de twee voor Cutting Crew geldt, feit is dat ze het succes van I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight nooit meer hebben geëvenaard. Het is niet dat ze niet verder deden. Hun tweede album The Scattering (1989) wordt algemeen hoger ingeschat dan hun debuut Broadcast (1986). Wie wist trouwens dat zanger Nick Van Eede al samenwerkte met Mika, Marillion en Cher? Na een handvol albums en wat rustpauzes, is Cutting Crew opnieuw bezig. En na ruim tien jaar is er nu hun vijfde album Add To Favourites.

Wat krijgen we te horen op dit album? Een volwassen band met nummers die zich ergens tussen Van Morrison, Robert Cray Band en Gary Moore nestelen. Wat is het zeker niet? Een album met nummers zoals I Just Died In Your Arms Tonight. Geen pop/rockalbum dus, maar wel melodieuze en volwassen songs met fijne zang, sax en bluesachtig gitaarwerk.

De opener en tevens de eerste single, Till The Money Runs Out, heeft een leuke flow, mooie samenzang, een catchy refrein en blazers. Ook Biggest Mistake of My Life heeft die kenmerken. Sommige songs klinken nogal bluesy zoals Looking For a Friend of de magnifieke ballade As Far As I Can See. Only For You is een ballade met een stemmige slidegitaar, fijne piano en blazers. De teksten zijn eerlijke liefdesliedjes en de zang is zowel degelijk als geschikt.

Cutting Crew zal met dit album geen wereldhit scoren, maar wie van eerlijke, traditionele muziek houdt, moet weten dat dit het beste album is dat ze tot dusver hebben gemaakt. I Just Died in Your Arms blijft voor mij een wereldsong en niet alleen omdat ik er sentimentele jeugdherinneringen aan heb overgehouden, maar muzikaal kan Add to Your Favourites mij misschien nog meer plezieren dan Broadcast.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl