tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DADE CITY DAYS - VHS

DADE CITY DAYS

VHS

MusicCD
Shoegaze

[82/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze in Italian. You nod no, because you don’t understand the language? Well, even the Italians hardly know what Dade City Days is singing about. It is not so important after all, as music is an universal language, from the first notes on you will understand what this trio wants to say.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin and Michele Testi had a common love for The Raveonettes, Modern English and The Soft Moon, and that’s how Dade City Days was founded. And yes, they make shoegaze too! After a few projects (including a cover of a Type O Negative song on a compilation on Darkitalia), this is the debut of this band from Bologna.

VHS contains ten tracks, and even though we don’t understand a word, it is clear that these three have a penchant for film (they even use samples from Coppola’s The Virgin Suicides and Mauvais Sang by Leos Carax).

Musically, this is perfect shoegaze. The guitars are played vibrantly, it is melodic, and of course, full of melancholy. When we think of Italian shoegaze, we automatically think of Swiss Dark Nights. And yes, this debut is released on the label that brought you Ash Code.

Perhaps this band limits itself by using the Italian language. But did anyone ever think that he/she would dance on Turkish post-punk by She Past Away one day? Long live Italian shoegaze! Dade City Days is a must for fans of say, Schonwald (and yes, Italians too!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shoegaze in het Italiaans. Je knikt neen, want je begrijpt de taal niet? Nou, troost je, zelfs de Italianen weten nauwelijks waarover Dade City Days het heeft. Het is ook allemaal niet zo belangrijk omdat muziek een universele taal is, en vanaf de eerste noten zal je wel snappen wat het trio je wil bijbrengen.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin en Michele Testi hadden een gemeenschappelijke liefde voor The Raveonettes, Modern English en The Soft Moon, en daaruit is Dade City Days gegroeid. En jawel, ook zij maken shoegaze! Na een paar projecten (zoals een cover van een Type O Negative-song die op een compilatie van Darkitalia is beland) is er nu het debuut van deze band uit Bologna.

Op VHS vind je tien tracks, en ook al begrijpen we er geen snars van, is het duidelijk dat deze drie een voorliefde voor film hebben (men gebruikt zelfs samples uit prenten als The Virgin Suicides van Coppola of Mauvais Sang van Leos Carax).

Muzikaal gezien is dit perfecte shoegaze. De gitaren zijn loeihard, maar het blijft steeds melodieus en natuurlijk zit het vol melancholie. Wie tegenwoordig Italiaanse shoegaze zegt, denkt bijna automatisch aan Swiss Dark Nights. En jawel, ook dit debuut is uitgebracht op het label dat eerder al Ash Code bracht.

Misschien legt deze band zichzelf beperkingen op door het gebruik van de Italiaanse taal. Alhoewel, had er iemand gedacht dat je ooit op Turkse postpunk van She Past Away zou swingen? Leve de Italiaanse shoegaze dus! Dade City Days is een absolute aanrader voor fans van pakweg Schonwald (en ja, dat zijn toevallig ook weer Italianen!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat