tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DADE CITY DAYS - VHS

DADE CITY DAYS

VHS

MusicCD
Shoegaze

[82/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze in Italian. You nod no, because you don’t understand the language? Well, even the Italians hardly know what Dade City Days is singing about. It is not so important after all, as music is an universal language, from the first notes on you will understand what this trio wants to say.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin and Michele Testi had a common love for The Raveonettes, Modern English and The Soft Moon, and that’s how Dade City Days was founded. And yes, they make shoegaze too! After a few projects (including a cover of a Type O Negative song on a compilation on Darkitalia), this is the debut of this band from Bologna.

VHS contains ten tracks, and even though we don’t understand a word, it is clear that these three have a penchant for film (they even use samples from Coppola’s The Virgin Suicides and Mauvais Sang by Leos Carax).

Musically, this is perfect shoegaze. The guitars are played vibrantly, it is melodic, and of course, full of melancholy. When we think of Italian shoegaze, we automatically think of Swiss Dark Nights. And yes, this debut is released on the label that brought you Ash Code.

Perhaps this band limits itself by using the Italian language. But did anyone ever think that he/she would dance on Turkish post-punk by She Past Away one day? Long live Italian shoegaze! Dade City Days is a must for fans of say, Schonwald (and yes, Italians too!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shoegaze in het Italiaans. Je knikt neen, want je begrijpt de taal niet? Nou, troost je, zelfs de Italianen weten nauwelijks waarover Dade City Days het heeft. Het is ook allemaal niet zo belangrijk omdat muziek een universele taal is, en vanaf de eerste noten zal je wel snappen wat het trio je wil bijbrengen.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin en Michele Testi hadden een gemeenschappelijke liefde voor The Raveonettes, Modern English en The Soft Moon, en daaruit is Dade City Days gegroeid. En jawel, ook zij maken shoegaze! Na een paar projecten (zoals een cover van een Type O Negative-song die op een compilatie van Darkitalia is beland) is er nu het debuut van deze band uit Bologna.

Op VHS vind je tien tracks, en ook al begrijpen we er geen snars van, is het duidelijk dat deze drie een voorliefde voor film hebben (men gebruikt zelfs samples uit prenten als The Virgin Suicides van Coppola of Mauvais Sang van Leos Carax).

Muzikaal gezien is dit perfecte shoegaze. De gitaren zijn loeihard, maar het blijft steeds melodieus en natuurlijk zit het vol melancholie. Wie tegenwoordig Italiaanse shoegaze zegt, denkt bijna automatisch aan Swiss Dark Nights. En jawel, ook dit debuut is uitgebracht op het label dat eerder al Ash Code bracht.

Misschien legt deze band zichzelf beperkingen op door het gebruik van de Italiaanse taal. Alhoewel, had er iemand gedacht dat je ooit op Turkse postpunk van She Past Away zou swingen? Leve de Italiaanse shoegaze dus! Dade City Days is een absolute aanrader voor fans van pakweg Schonwald (en ja, dat zijn toevallig ook weer Italianen!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell