tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DADE CITY DAYS - VHS

DADE CITY DAYS

VHS

MusicCD
Shoegaze

[82/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze in Italian. You nod no, because you don’t understand the language? Well, even the Italians hardly know what Dade City Days is singing about. It is not so important after all, as music is an universal language, from the first notes on you will understand what this trio wants to say.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin and Michele Testi had a common love for The Raveonettes, Modern English and The Soft Moon, and that’s how Dade City Days was founded. And yes, they make shoegaze too! After a few projects (including a cover of a Type O Negative song on a compilation on Darkitalia), this is the debut of this band from Bologna.

VHS contains ten tracks, and even though we don’t understand a word, it is clear that these three have a penchant for film (they even use samples from Coppola’s The Virgin Suicides and Mauvais Sang by Leos Carax).

Musically, this is perfect shoegaze. The guitars are played vibrantly, it is melodic, and of course, full of melancholy. When we think of Italian shoegaze, we automatically think of Swiss Dark Nights. And yes, this debut is released on the label that brought you Ash Code.

Perhaps this band limits itself by using the Italian language. But did anyone ever think that he/she would dance on Turkish post-punk by She Past Away one day? Long live Italian shoegaze! Dade City Days is a must for fans of say, Schonwald (and yes, Italians too!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shoegaze in het Italiaans. Je knikt neen, want je begrijpt de taal niet? Nou, troost je, zelfs de Italianen weten nauwelijks waarover Dade City Days het heeft. Het is ook allemaal niet zo belangrijk omdat muziek een universele taal is, en vanaf de eerste noten zal je wel snappen wat het trio je wil bijbrengen.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin en Michele Testi hadden een gemeenschappelijke liefde voor The Raveonettes, Modern English en The Soft Moon, en daaruit is Dade City Days gegroeid. En jawel, ook zij maken shoegaze! Na een paar projecten (zoals een cover van een Type O Negative-song die op een compilatie van Darkitalia is beland) is er nu het debuut van deze band uit Bologna.

Op VHS vind je tien tracks, en ook al begrijpen we er geen snars van, is het duidelijk dat deze drie een voorliefde voor film hebben (men gebruikt zelfs samples uit prenten als The Virgin Suicides van Coppola of Mauvais Sang van Leos Carax).

Muzikaal gezien is dit perfecte shoegaze. De gitaren zijn loeihard, maar het blijft steeds melodieus en natuurlijk zit het vol melancholie. Wie tegenwoordig Italiaanse shoegaze zegt, denkt bijna automatisch aan Swiss Dark Nights. En jawel, ook dit debuut is uitgebracht op het label dat eerder al Ash Code bracht.

Misschien legt deze band zichzelf beperkingen op door het gebruik van de Italiaanse taal. Alhoewel, had er iemand gedacht dat je ooit op Turkse postpunk van She Past Away zou swingen? Leve de Italiaanse shoegaze dus! Dade City Days is een absolute aanrader voor fans van pakweg Schonwald (en ja, dat zijn toevallig ook weer Italianen!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu