tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DADE CITY DAYS - VHS

DADE CITY DAYS

VHS

MusicCD
Shoegaze

[82/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze in Italian. You nod no, because you don’t understand the language? Well, even the Italians hardly know what Dade City Days is singing about. It is not so important after all, as music is an universal language, from the first notes on you will understand what this trio wants to say.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin and Michele Testi had a common love for The Raveonettes, Modern English and The Soft Moon, and that’s how Dade City Days was founded. And yes, they make shoegaze too! After a few projects (including a cover of a Type O Negative song on a compilation on Darkitalia), this is the debut of this band from Bologna.

VHS contains ten tracks, and even though we don’t understand a word, it is clear that these three have a penchant for film (they even use samples from Coppola’s The Virgin Suicides and Mauvais Sang by Leos Carax).

Musically, this is perfect shoegaze. The guitars are played vibrantly, it is melodic, and of course, full of melancholy. When we think of Italian shoegaze, we automatically think of Swiss Dark Nights. And yes, this debut is released on the label that brought you Ash Code.

Perhaps this band limits itself by using the Italian language. But did anyone ever think that he/she would dance on Turkish post-punk by She Past Away one day? Long live Italian shoegaze! Dade City Days is a must for fans of say, Schonwald (and yes, Italians too!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shoegaze in het Italiaans. Je knikt neen, want je begrijpt de taal niet? Nou, troost je, zelfs de Italianen weten nauwelijks waarover Dade City Days het heeft. Het is ook allemaal niet zo belangrijk omdat muziek een universele taal is, en vanaf de eerste noten zal je wel snappen wat het trio je wil bijbrengen.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin en Michele Testi hadden een gemeenschappelijke liefde voor The Raveonettes, Modern English en The Soft Moon, en daaruit is Dade City Days gegroeid. En jawel, ook zij maken shoegaze! Na een paar projecten (zoals een cover van een Type O Negative-song die op een compilatie van Darkitalia is beland) is er nu het debuut van deze band uit Bologna.

Op VHS vind je tien tracks, en ook al begrijpen we er geen snars van, is het duidelijk dat deze drie een voorliefde voor film hebben (men gebruikt zelfs samples uit prenten als The Virgin Suicides van Coppola of Mauvais Sang van Leos Carax).

Muzikaal gezien is dit perfecte shoegaze. De gitaren zijn loeihard, maar het blijft steeds melodieus en natuurlijk zit het vol melancholie. Wie tegenwoordig Italiaanse shoegaze zegt, denkt bijna automatisch aan Swiss Dark Nights. En jawel, ook dit debuut is uitgebracht op het label dat eerder al Ash Code bracht.

Misschien legt deze band zichzelf beperkingen op door het gebruik van de Italiaanse taal. Alhoewel, had er iemand gedacht dat je ooit op Turkse postpunk van She Past Away zou swingen? Leve de Italiaanse shoegaze dus! Dade City Days is een absolute aanrader voor fans van pakweg Schonwald (en ja, dat zijn toevallig ook weer Italianen!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)