tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DADE CITY DAYS - VHS

DADE CITY DAYS

VHS

MusicCD
Shoegaze

[82/100]   

SwissDarkNights
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Shoegaze in Italian. You nod no, because you don’t understand the language? Well, even the Italians hardly know what Dade City Days is singing about. It is not so important after all, as music is an universal language, from the first notes on you will understand what this trio wants to say.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin and Michele Testi had a common love for The Raveonettes, Modern English and The Soft Moon, and that’s how Dade City Days was founded. And yes, they make shoegaze too! After a few projects (including a cover of a Type O Negative song on a compilation on Darkitalia), this is the debut of this band from Bologna.

VHS contains ten tracks, and even though we don’t understand a word, it is clear that these three have a penchant for film (they even use samples from Coppola’s The Virgin Suicides and Mauvais Sang by Leos Carax).

Musically, this is perfect shoegaze. The guitars are played vibrantly, it is melodic, and of course, full of melancholy. When we think of Italian shoegaze, we automatically think of Swiss Dark Nights. And yes, this debut is released on the label that brought you Ash Code.

Perhaps this band limits itself by using the Italian language. But did anyone ever think that he/she would dance on Turkish post-punk by She Past Away one day? Long live Italian shoegaze! Dade City Days is a must for fans of say, Schonwald (and yes, Italians too!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Shoegaze in het Italiaans. Je knikt neen, want je begrijpt de taal niet? Nou, troost je, zelfs de Italianen weten nauwelijks waarover Dade City Days het heeft. Het is ook allemaal niet zo belangrijk omdat muziek een universele taal is, en vanaf de eerste noten zal je wel snappen wat het trio je wil bijbrengen.

Andy Harsh, Gea Birkin en Michele Testi hadden een gemeenschappelijke liefde voor The Raveonettes, Modern English en The Soft Moon, en daaruit is Dade City Days gegroeid. En jawel, ook zij maken shoegaze! Na een paar projecten (zoals een cover van een Type O Negative-song die op een compilatie van Darkitalia is beland) is er nu het debuut van deze band uit Bologna.

Op VHS vind je tien tracks, en ook al begrijpen we er geen snars van, is het duidelijk dat deze drie een voorliefde voor film hebben (men gebruikt zelfs samples uit prenten als The Virgin Suicides van Coppola of Mauvais Sang van Leos Carax).

Muzikaal gezien is dit perfecte shoegaze. De gitaren zijn loeihard, maar het blijft steeds melodieus en natuurlijk zit het vol melancholie. Wie tegenwoordig Italiaanse shoegaze zegt, denkt bijna automatisch aan Swiss Dark Nights. En jawel, ook dit debuut is uitgebracht op het label dat eerder al Ash Code bracht.

Misschien legt deze band zichzelf beperkingen op door het gebruik van de Italiaanse taal. Alhoewel, had er iemand gedacht dat je ooit op Turkse postpunk van She Past Away zou swingen? Leve de Italiaanse shoegaze dus! Dade City Days is een absolute aanrader voor fans van pakweg Schonwald (en ja, dat zijn toevallig ook weer Italianen!)

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi