tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/08/2013 : DAEMONIA NYMPHE - PSYCHOSTASIA

DAEMONIA NYMPHE

PSYCHOSTASIA

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[90/100]   

Prikosnovťnie
28/08/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Earlier this year i had the chance to interview this band and see them on stage during the great Trolls et Legendes Festival in Mons (Belgium). It was like a dream and now I got finally their new cd and yet I feel like still floating on some cloud, living a great dream!

Dead Can Dance is for sure a reference, but I would love it if people would start to refer to Daemonia Nymphe only, and that is what I hope that will happen soon. The least thing you can say is that this new album is top quality! Not to forget to mention the great artwork and nice pics.

It starts with a mysterious chant/hymn in a language I don't know: but it grabs you and puts you right in the circle. Zephyre's Enlightening Anemos' is a great opening song.

'Nemesis Rhamnesia' has musically speaken some influences filed under 'Dead Can Dance'. The ancient vibe and Arabic sound blend perfectly with the accoustic guitar and the narrative voice.

'Thracian Gaia' starts accoustic, but pretty fast other instruments join in. The backing vocals are very Dead Can Dance minded. I love it, for sure! They described this one as an hymn to Gaia. I love the bag-pipes (askaulos).

'Selene's Awakening Horos' somehow reminds me of a French movie from the black and white days with Bourvil in it (ckeck out their own video on YouTube).

'Politeia of the unnamed' makes me float and dream of nice things, don't ask me why. It could be because of the nice and very sexy female chants, maybe it's also because of the dulcimer? This one is so sweet and warm.

'Deos Erotas' has a more medieval and folky touch, I feel like I want to dance, I'm just not sure on how to. Love the combination of the instruments on it, just as the floating backing vocals. Specialised DJ's might use this one during festive party's as 'Boombals'.

'Nature Metamorphosis' has a more Dead Can Dance touch, for sure during the first minutes with the voice chanting and almost lamenting. The trembling voice is very good idea to use whilst creating the right vibe. I aslo love the acceleration and Luka Aubri's Slideridoo. The right mood is set.

'Enchanting Oneiro' is not only enchating Oneireo, but also veryone who listens to it. I made a try out and it worked out. It's the magical play between vocals (o so sweet) and instruments (very introvert). This is a real beauty, moves you to tears if you listen too much to it.

'Psychostasia' starts with a lot of people chanting, almost hypnotic. The riff sounds a bit like the start of a western or Mission Impossible, this idea goes fast away when other instruments join forces.

'Hypnos' is a real hypnotic one, perfect for darkness, siiting alone in a big house, a bit creepy and very mysterious...

Drifting away!

It's a great piece of art! I have to thank Spyros for sending it to me! I could drop names of all the people who added their magical input, but you better buy the album and read the booklet to check this out...

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/saltatio-mortis-daemonia-nymphe-folk-noir-asynje-trolls-et-legendes-30-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/photos/daemonia-nymphe-trolls-legendes-mons-belgium-2013/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/daemonia-nymphe/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/08/2013

http://youtu.be/OgqOIchruR4

 

Next reviews
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty
J√§GER 90 • Wir bitten zum Tanz
KARL BARTOS, NEON JUDGEMENT & DAN LACKSMAN • Review of the concert at Brussels Summer Festival on August 12th, 2013
INDIVIDUAL TOTEM • Kyria 13
DISTORTED MEMORY • The Eternal Return
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
POSITION PARALLELE • N√©ons Blancs

 

Other reviews from DAEMONIA NYMPHE
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET L√ČGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuel√®bre & C√©sair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
ASYNJE • Genkaldt

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankov√† EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET L√ČGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET L√ČGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.
‚Äč

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‚ÄėTainted Love‚Äô reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabr√ľck
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)