tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/08/2013 : DAEMONIA NYMPHE - PSYCHOSTASIA

DAEMONIA NYMPHE

PSYCHOSTASIA

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[90/100]   

Prikosnovnie
28/08/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Earlier this year i had the chance to interview this band and see them on stage during the great Trolls et Legendes Festival in Mons (Belgium). It was like a dream and now I got finally their new cd and yet I feel like still floating on some cloud, living a great dream!

Dead Can Dance is for sure a reference, but I would love it if people would start to refer to Daemonia Nymphe only, and that is what I hope that will happen soon. The least thing you can say is that this new album is top quality! Not to forget to mention the great artwork and nice pics.

It starts with a mysterious chant/hymn in a language I don't know: but it grabs you and puts you right in the circle. Zephyre's Enlightening Anemos' is a great opening song.

'Nemesis Rhamnesia' has musically speaken some influences filed under 'Dead Can Dance'. The ancient vibe and Arabic sound blend perfectly with the accoustic guitar and the narrative voice.

'Thracian Gaia' starts accoustic, but pretty fast other instruments join in. The backing vocals are very Dead Can Dance minded. I love it, for sure! They described this one as an hymn to Gaia. I love the bag-pipes (askaulos).

'Selene's Awakening Horos' somehow reminds me of a French movie from the black and white days with Bourvil in it (ckeck out their own video on YouTube).

'Politeia of the unnamed' makes me float and dream of nice things, don't ask me why. It could be because of the nice and very sexy female chants, maybe it's also because of the dulcimer? This one is so sweet and warm.

'Deos Erotas' has a more medieval and folky touch, I feel like I want to dance, I'm just not sure on how to. Love the combination of the instruments on it, just as the floating backing vocals. Specialised DJ's might use this one during festive party's as 'Boombals'.

'Nature Metamorphosis' has a more Dead Can Dance touch, for sure during the first minutes with the voice chanting and almost lamenting. The trembling voice is very good idea to use whilst creating the right vibe. I aslo love the acceleration and Luka Aubri's Slideridoo. The right mood is set.

'Enchanting Oneiro' is not only enchating Oneireo, but also veryone who listens to it. I made a try out and it worked out. It's the magical play between vocals (o so sweet) and instruments (very introvert). This is a real beauty, moves you to tears if you listen too much to it.

'Psychostasia' starts with a lot of people chanting, almost hypnotic. The riff sounds a bit like the start of a western or Mission Impossible, this idea goes fast away when other instruments join forces.

'Hypnos' is a real hypnotic one, perfect for darkness, siiting alone in a big house, a bit creepy and very mysterious...

Drifting away!

It's a great piece of art! I have to thank Spyros for sending it to me! I could drop names of all the people who added their magical input, but you better buy the album and read the booklet to check this out...

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/saltatio-mortis-daemonia-nymphe-folk-noir-asynje-trolls-et-legendes-30-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/photos/daemonia-nymphe-trolls-legendes-mons-belgium-2013/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/daemonia-nymphe/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/08/2013

http://youtu.be/OgqOIchruR4

 

Next reviews
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty
JäGER 90 • Wir bitten zum Tanz
KARL BARTOS, NEON JUDGEMENT & DAN LACKSMAN • Review of the concert at Brussels Summer Festival on August 12th, 2013
INDIVIDUAL TOTEM • Kyria 13
DISTORTED MEMORY • The Eternal Return
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs

 

Other reviews from DAEMONIA NYMPHE
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
ASYNJE • Genkaldt

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO