tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/08/2013 : DAEMONIA NYMPHE - PSYCHOSTASIA

DAEMONIA NYMPHE

PSYCHOSTASIA

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[90/100]   

Prikosnovnie
28/08/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Earlier this year i had the chance to interview this band and see them on stage during the great Trolls et Legendes Festival in Mons (Belgium). It was like a dream and now I got finally their new cd and yet I feel like still floating on some cloud, living a great dream!

Dead Can Dance is for sure a reference, but I would love it if people would start to refer to Daemonia Nymphe only, and that is what I hope that will happen soon. The least thing you can say is that this new album is top quality! Not to forget to mention the great artwork and nice pics.

It starts with a mysterious chant/hymn in a language I don't know: but it grabs you and puts you right in the circle. Zephyre's Enlightening Anemos' is a great opening song.

'Nemesis Rhamnesia' has musically speaken some influences filed under 'Dead Can Dance'. The ancient vibe and Arabic sound blend perfectly with the accoustic guitar and the narrative voice.

'Thracian Gaia' starts accoustic, but pretty fast other instruments join in. The backing vocals are very Dead Can Dance minded. I love it, for sure! They described this one as an hymn to Gaia. I love the bag-pipes (askaulos).

'Selene's Awakening Horos' somehow reminds me of a French movie from the black and white days with Bourvil in it (ckeck out their own video on YouTube).

'Politeia of the unnamed' makes me float and dream of nice things, don't ask me why. It could be because of the nice and very sexy female chants, maybe it's also because of the dulcimer? This one is so sweet and warm.

'Deos Erotas' has a more medieval and folky touch, I feel like I want to dance, I'm just not sure on how to. Love the combination of the instruments on it, just as the floating backing vocals. Specialised DJ's might use this one during festive party's as 'Boombals'.

'Nature Metamorphosis' has a more Dead Can Dance touch, for sure during the first minutes with the voice chanting and almost lamenting. The trembling voice is very good idea to use whilst creating the right vibe. I aslo love the acceleration and Luka Aubri's Slideridoo. The right mood is set.

'Enchanting Oneiro' is not only enchating Oneireo, but also veryone who listens to it. I made a try out and it worked out. It's the magical play between vocals (o so sweet) and instruments (very introvert). This is a real beauty, moves you to tears if you listen too much to it.

'Psychostasia' starts with a lot of people chanting, almost hypnotic. The riff sounds a bit like the start of a western or Mission Impossible, this idea goes fast away when other instruments join forces.

'Hypnos' is a real hypnotic one, perfect for darkness, siiting alone in a big house, a bit creepy and very mysterious...

Drifting away!

It's a great piece of art! I have to thank Spyros for sending it to me! I could drop names of all the people who added their magical input, but you better buy the album and read the booklet to check this out...

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/saltatio-mortis-daemonia-nymphe-folk-noir-asynje-trolls-et-legendes-30-3-2013-at-mons-belgium/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/photos/daemonia-nymphe-trolls-legendes-mons-belgium-2013/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/daemonia-nymphe/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/08/2013

http://youtu.be/OgqOIchruR4

 

Next reviews
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty
JäGER 90 • Wir bitten zum Tanz
KARL BARTOS, NEON JUDGEMENT & DAN LACKSMAN • Review of the concert at Brussels Summer Festival on August 12th, 2013
INDIVIDUAL TOTEM • Kyria 13
DISTORTED MEMORY • The Eternal Return
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs

 

Other reviews from DAEMONIA NYMPHE
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
CESAIR • Dies, Nox et Omnia
ASYNJE • Genkaldt

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap