tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/02/2013 : DAMIAN SKINNER - Rape & Revenge

DAMIAN SKINNER

Rape & Revenge

Movie


[73/100]   
11/02/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Due to strange reasons (I guess it just sounds better) the horrormovie Red Ridge has been retitled as Rape & Revenge. It’s clear that with this marketing trick the makers are trying to convince the horrorfans that this lowbudget movie has the same spirit as The Last House On The Left and that other classic I Spit On Your Grave. It certainly has and even lots more!

The foreword from this movie says that Rape & Revenge isn’t suitable for people with weak nerves and (!) pregnant women. Stuff for sick people, you say? We guess so, but it is also the type of movie which never gets boring. The story’s quite simple, but then again we don’t need complicated scenarios for nailbiting horrorflicks, not?

If you have to learn one thing from this movie then it must be the fact that you better don't take the short way home and certainly ignore all signs telling you you that you can get free puppies. Changes are big you’ll end up with Avery and his crazy gang. They molest women and shoot their boyfriends in cold blood. We are aware that some of you will be offended by this cruel violence of the movie cos the truth is: this is violence for violence’s sake. But so what? If you are watching a goremovie you wanna be shocked or thrilled and that’s what you get.

Synopsis

Red Ridge chronicles the scandalous true events currently taking place in small towns along the Texas/Mexico border. Innocent young women are being kidnapped and forced into sexual slavery and prostitution. Like the independent films Monster and Boys Don't Cry, Red Ridge exposes the darkest side of man's inhumanity to man with shocking clarity and spine chilling horror.

The movie is released by Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
11/02/2013


NL

Het is niet echt duidelijk waarom men de horrorfilm Red Ridge tot Rape & Revenge heeft omgedoopt, alhoewel we sterk vermoeden dat dit een sluwe marketingtruc is. Met zo'n titel bekom je immers automatisch de aandacht van de griezelfans, zij verwachten immers hetzelfde lekkers dat klassiekers als The Last House On The Left en I Spit On Your Grave boden. En jawel, dat is het geval.

Het voorwoord bij deze griezelprent spreekt voor zich. De film is immers uiterst ongeschikt voor mensen met zwakke zenuwen en (!) zwangere vrouwen. Voer voor zieke mensen, zeg je? Reken maar van ja, alleen is Rape & Revenge het soort film dat geen seconde verveelt (en dat kunnen we niet van alle prenten die door critici worden aanbevolen zeggen), niet waar? Het verhaaltje is uiterst simpel, maar er is dan ook geen mens op aarde die ingewikkelde scenario's verwacht als hij een gorefilm in zijn dvd-lader stopt.

Als je al een lesje uit dit griezelfestijn moet trekken, dan is het wel dit: neem altijd de korste weg naar huis en negeer alle borden die erop wijzen dat je gratis puppy's kan verkrijgen. Doe je dat niet dan zou je wel eens in de handen van Avery en zijn krankzinnige bende kunnen terechtkomen. Deze zieke zielen houden ervan om de vrouw op allerlei manieren te martelen. Hun vriendjes worden meteen in koelen bloede doodgeschoten. Het is een waarheid als een koe dat heel wat mensen gechoqueerd zullen zijn door de gewelddadige en bloederige beelden. Het is zelfs zo dat Rape & Revenge een verheerlijking van geweld is. Maar wat zou het? Bij een gorefilm verwacht je toch zo'n onderwerpen? En dat krijg je in overvloed.

Een tip voor de horrorfreaks.

De film is in de Benelux uitgebracht door Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
11/02/2013


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland