tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

11/02/2013 : DAMIAN SKINNER - Rape & Revenge

DAMIAN SKINNER

Rape & Revenge

Movie


[73/100]   
11/02/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Due to strange reasons (I guess it just sounds better) the horrormovie Red Ridge has been retitled as Rape & Revenge. It’s clear that with this marketing trick the makers are trying to convince the horrorfans that this lowbudget movie has the same spirit as The Last House On The Left and that other classic I Spit On Your Grave. It certainly has and even lots more!

The foreword from this movie says that Rape & Revenge isn’t suitable for people with weak nerves and (!) pregnant women. Stuff for sick people, you say? We guess so, but it is also the type of movie which never gets boring. The story’s quite simple, but then again we don’t need complicated scenarios for nailbiting horrorflicks, not?

If you have to learn one thing from this movie then it must be the fact that you better don't take the short way home and certainly ignore all signs telling you you that you can get free puppies. Changes are big you’ll end up with Avery and his crazy gang. They molest women and shoot their boyfriends in cold blood. We are aware that some of you will be offended by this cruel violence of the movie cos the truth is: this is violence for violence’s sake. But so what? If you are watching a goremovie you wanna be shocked or thrilled and that’s what you get.

Synopsis

Red Ridge chronicles the scandalous true events currently taking place in small towns along the Texas/Mexico border. Innocent young women are being kidnapped and forced into sexual slavery and prostitution. Like the independent films Monster and Boys Don't Cry, Red Ridge exposes the darkest side of man's inhumanity to man with shocking clarity and spine chilling horror.

The movie is released by Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
11/02/2013


NL

Het is niet echt duidelijk waarom men de horrorfilm Red Ridge tot Rape & Revenge heeft omgedoopt, alhoewel we sterk vermoeden dat dit een sluwe marketingtruc is. Met zo'n titel bekom je immers automatisch de aandacht van de griezelfans, zij verwachten immers hetzelfde lekkers dat klassiekers als The Last House On The Left en I Spit On Your Grave boden. En jawel, dat is het geval.

Het voorwoord bij deze griezelprent spreekt voor zich. De film is immers uiterst ongeschikt voor mensen met zwakke zenuwen en (!) zwangere vrouwen. Voer voor zieke mensen, zeg je? Reken maar van ja, alleen is Rape & Revenge het soort film dat geen seconde verveelt (en dat kunnen we niet van alle prenten die door critici worden aanbevolen zeggen), niet waar? Het verhaaltje is uiterst simpel, maar er is dan ook geen mens op aarde die ingewikkelde scenario's verwacht als hij een gorefilm in zijn dvd-lader stopt.

Als je al een lesje uit dit griezelfestijn moet trekken, dan is het wel dit: neem altijd de korste weg naar huis en negeer alle borden die erop wijzen dat je gratis puppy's kan verkrijgen. Doe je dat niet dan zou je wel eens in de handen van Avery en zijn krankzinnige bende kunnen terechtkomen. Deze zieke zielen houden ervan om de vrouw op allerlei manieren te martelen. Hun vriendjes worden meteen in koelen bloede doodgeschoten. Het is een waarheid als een koe dat heel wat mensen gechoqueerd zullen zijn door de gewelddadige en bloederige beelden. Het is zelfs zo dat Rape & Revenge een verheerlijking van geweld is. Maar wat zou het? Bij een gorefilm verwacht je toch zo'n onderwerpen? En dat krijg je in overvloed.

Een tip voor de horrorfreaks.

De film is in de Benelux uitgebracht door Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
11/02/2013


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice