tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes)

DAMIAN SZIFRON

Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes)

MovieCinema
Comedy
Cinart
21/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You better watch out when superlatives are used, although it is difficult to deny them if you’re talking about WildTales. This black comedy was received with a standing ovation of more than ten minutes at the Cannes Festival, and made it to IMDB's top 10-list of best movies of 2014. Words of praise for the Argentine film, that we once used for producer Pedro Almodóvar (oh irony !). In fact, the best Almodóvar movie since years has been made by Damián Szifron with Wild Tales, although the absurd humor of Roy Andersson probably was also a source of inspiration.

Wild Tales consists of six short stories that have one common factor: people who completely lose control as a result of imposed stress. A restaurateur kills her client because he might be the new (corrupt) mayor of the city, so she does the community a favor. The life of a bomb expert that is completely turned upside down because the local police drag his car away, and so he misses the birthday of his daughter. Road rage that ends up in a brutal massacre. A bride who takes revenge on her adulterous during her wedding ! A wealthy family who is trying to bribe the gardener so he takes the blame for a deadly traffic accident that is caused by their son. Almost banal situations that escalate into major tragedies, absurd coincidences that give the life of the protagonists a completely different (often fatal) turn.

Wild Tales is certainly not the first film that is made up of a series of short films, but probably the first that leaves such a hugh impression. Besides a strong dose of social criticism (the system is simply corrupt), the number of laughs is immense. The film does exceed the limit of two hours, but all the pieces are equally strong and have not one single moment of weakness! Without doubt, the tip of the moment and probably the funniest movie you will see this year ! Words we once wrote about Pedro Almodóvar.

Didier BECU
21/01/2015


NL

Met superlatieven ga je in de filmwereld best met de nodige omzichtigheid om, alhoewel dat moeilijk is als we het over Wild Tales hebben. Deze zwarte komedie werd in Cannes met een staande ovatie van ruim tien minuten ontvangen en haalde op de IMDB-site moeiteloos de top tien van beste films uit 2014. Het zijn woorden van lof voor deze Argentijnse productie, die we al lange tijd niet meer voor producer Pedro Almodóvar (oh ironie!) hebben gebruikt. Meer zelfs, de beste Almodóvar-film sinds jaren is door Damián Szifron via Wild Tales gemaakt, alhoewel de absurde humor van de Zweed Roy Andersson wellicht ook een inspiratiebron was.

Wild Tales bestaat uit zes kortverhalen die maar één gemeenschappelijke factor hebben: mensen die door de opgelegde stress van de maatschappij compleet het noorden verliezen. Een restauranthoudster vermoordt haar klant omdat die wellicht de nieuwe (corupte) burgemeester van de stad wil worden, en zo de gemeenschap een dienst bewijst. Het leven van een bommenexpert wordt compleet overhoop gehaald omdat de lokale politie onterecht zijn auto wegsleept waardoor hij de verjaardag van zijn dochtertje mist. Verkeersagressie die uitmondt in een brutale moordpartij. Een bruid die haar overspelige kersverse echtgenoot wraakt tijdens haar huwelijksfeest! Een steenrijke familie die de tuinman probeert om te kopen zodat hij de schuld op zich neemt voor een verkeersongeluk waarbij zoonlief een zwangere vrouw heeft gedood. Het zijn bijna banale situaties die ontaarden in grote tragedies, absurde toevalligheden die het leven van de protagonisten een complete andere (vaak noodlottige) wending geven.

Wild Tales is zeker niet de eerste film die is opgebouwd uit een serie kortfilms, wel waarschijnlijk de allereerste die zo’n indruk nalaat. Naast een stevige dosis maatschappijkritiek (het systeem is nu eenmaal door en door corrupt), zijn het aantal lachsalvo’s nauwelijks bij te houden. De film overschrijdt wel de grens van twee uur, maar alle ondxerdelen zijn even sterk en kennen geen enkel moment van zwakte!

Zonder twijfel de tip van het moment, zelfs zonder twijfel waarschijnlijk de grappigste film die je dit jaar in de bioscoop zal kunnen zien! Woorden die we inderdaad ooit nog over Pedro Almodóvar schreven.

Didier BECU
21/01/2015


21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) 21/01/2015 : DAMIAN SZIFRON - Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes)

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song