tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

DAMIEN CHAZELLE

Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Drama
Filmfest Gent
23/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

One of the most cited titles during FilmFest Ghent is Whiplash by Damien Chazelle: the second movie by the man who also wrote the script from the mediocre horror movie Last Exorcism: God Asks. The Devil Commands. Whiplash is for some critics now already the movie from 2014. And God, they’re right!

Whiplash is a movie about jazz, but you don’t have to know nothing about it to enjoy it, you may even hate jazz! Chazelle tells the story from the young Andrew Neiman (Miles Teller) who has only one goal in life: becoming the best drummer ever! For him it’s better to die when you’re 35 and being remembered by everyone as a genius rather than to die when you’re 90 and nobody knows who you were. He stands across his mentor, the conductor Terence Fletcher (J. K. Simmons) who happens to be the most brutal man you can imagine. He only uses the most audacious methods you can think of: even beating and humiliating his pupil. According to Fletcher you have to suffer, if not then there’ll never be another Charlie Parker around.

Whiplash is a rollercoaster that brings you from one spectacle to the other. It’s a movie that shows a side from J.K. Simmons you never should consider as being possible, it’s a role that begs for an Oscar! A movie that is full of surprises. It will make you swallow, it will even deflect some, but above all: this is a movie about passion and what that can cause! Whiplash is perfect and indeed perhaps the best of this year, there will be blood on the cymbals!

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


NL

Een van de meest besproken titels tijdens FilmFest Ghent is zonder meer Whiplash van Damien Chazelle: de tweede film van de man die ook het script voor de flauwe bibberprent The Last Exorcism: God Asks. The Devil Commands schreef. Je zult ook huiveren bij deze film die nu al door menig critici wordt bestempeld als de beste van het jaar, maar wel om een heel andere reden!

Whiplash is een film over jazz. Maar je moet niets over deze muziekstijl weten om er te kunnen van genieten. Meer zelfs, je mag zelfs ronduit jazz haten! Chazelle vertelt het verhaal van de jonge kerel Andrew Neiman (Miles Teller) die maar één doel heeft in zijn leven: de allerbeste drummer ter wereld worden. Liever op je 35e sterven en door iedereen te worden herinnerd als een genie dan doodgaan op je 90e en dat achteraf niemand nog over je spreekt, is het motto van deze jongeman. In zijn zoektocht om het te maken komt hij tegenover zijn mentor te staan, die tevens een verschrikkelijke vent is. Terence Fletcher (J. K. Simmons) benut werkelijk alle methodes om alles uit zijn pupil te halen, en in zijn geval betekent dat zelfs fysiek geweld en de grootste vernederingen die je maar kan inbeelden. Bijna de hele film lang wordt de muzikant de huid vol gescholden. Dat moet, aldus Fletcher, anders zal er op deze wereld nooit nog een nieuwe Charlie Parker rondlopen.

Whiplash is een achtbaan die de kijker van het ene spektakel naar het andere brengt. Een prent die je J.K. Simmons toont zoals je hem nooit had verwacht, een rol die smeekt om een Oscar! Een film vol wendingen die je niet verwacht. Er zit humor in, er zijn taferelen die je doen slikken maar Whiplash is vooral een film over passie en wat dat allemaal kan veroorzaken. Whiplash is perfect en wie weet inderdaad de beste van 2014! Bloed op de cymbalen!

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love