tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

DAMIEN CHAZELLE

Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Drama
Filmfest Gent
23/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

One of the most cited titles during FilmFest Ghent is Whiplash by Damien Chazelle: the second movie by the man who also wrote the script from the mediocre horror movie Last Exorcism: God Asks. The Devil Commands. Whiplash is for some critics now already the movie from 2014. And God, they’re right!

Whiplash is a movie about jazz, but you don’t have to know nothing about it to enjoy it, you may even hate jazz! Chazelle tells the story from the young Andrew Neiman (Miles Teller) who has only one goal in life: becoming the best drummer ever! For him it’s better to die when you’re 35 and being remembered by everyone as a genius rather than to die when you’re 90 and nobody knows who you were. He stands across his mentor, the conductor Terence Fletcher (J. K. Simmons) who happens to be the most brutal man you can imagine. He only uses the most audacious methods you can think of: even beating and humiliating his pupil. According to Fletcher you have to suffer, if not then there’ll never be another Charlie Parker around.

Whiplash is a rollercoaster that brings you from one spectacle to the other. It’s a movie that shows a side from J.K. Simmons you never should consider as being possible, it’s a role that begs for an Oscar! A movie that is full of surprises. It will make you swallow, it will even deflect some, but above all: this is a movie about passion and what that can cause! Whiplash is perfect and indeed perhaps the best of this year, there will be blood on the cymbals!

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


NL

Een van de meest besproken titels tijdens FilmFest Ghent is zonder meer Whiplash van Damien Chazelle: de tweede film van de man die ook het script voor de flauwe bibberprent The Last Exorcism: God Asks. The Devil Commands schreef. Je zult ook huiveren bij deze film die nu al door menig critici wordt bestempeld als de beste van het jaar, maar wel om een heel andere reden!

Whiplash is een film over jazz. Maar je moet niets over deze muziekstijl weten om er te kunnen van genieten. Meer zelfs, je mag zelfs ronduit jazz haten! Chazelle vertelt het verhaal van de jonge kerel Andrew Neiman (Miles Teller) die maar één doel heeft in zijn leven: de allerbeste drummer ter wereld worden. Liever op je 35e sterven en door iedereen te worden herinnerd als een genie dan doodgaan op je 90e en dat achteraf niemand nog over je spreekt, is het motto van deze jongeman. In zijn zoektocht om het te maken komt hij tegenover zijn mentor te staan, die tevens een verschrikkelijke vent is. Terence Fletcher (J. K. Simmons) benut werkelijk alle methodes om alles uit zijn pupil te halen, en in zijn geval betekent dat zelfs fysiek geweld en de grootste vernederingen die je maar kan inbeelden. Bijna de hele film lang wordt de muzikant de huid vol gescholden. Dat moet, aldus Fletcher, anders zal er op deze wereld nooit nog een nieuwe Charlie Parker rondlopen.

Whiplash is een achtbaan die de kijker van het ene spektakel naar het andere brengt. Een prent die je J.K. Simmons toont zoals je hem nooit had verwacht, een rol die smeekt om een Oscar! Een film vol wendingen die je niet verwacht. Er zit humor in, er zijn taferelen die je doen slikken maar Whiplash is vooral een film over passie en wat dat allemaal kan veroorzaken. Whiplash is perfect en wie weet inderdaad de beste van 2014! Bloed op de cymbalen!

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion