tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

DAMIEN CHAZELLE

Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Drama
Filmfest Gent
23/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

One of the most cited titles during FilmFest Ghent is Whiplash by Damien Chazelle: the second movie by the man who also wrote the script from the mediocre horror movie Last Exorcism: God Asks. The Devil Commands. Whiplash is for some critics now already the movie from 2014. And God, they’re right!

Whiplash is a movie about jazz, but you don’t have to know nothing about it to enjoy it, you may even hate jazz! Chazelle tells the story from the young Andrew Neiman (Miles Teller) who has only one goal in life: becoming the best drummer ever! For him it’s better to die when you’re 35 and being remembered by everyone as a genius rather than to die when you’re 90 and nobody knows who you were. He stands across his mentor, the conductor Terence Fletcher (J. K. Simmons) who happens to be the most brutal man you can imagine. He only uses the most audacious methods you can think of: even beating and humiliating his pupil. According to Fletcher you have to suffer, if not then there’ll never be another Charlie Parker around.

Whiplash is a rollercoaster that brings you from one spectacle to the other. It’s a movie that shows a side from J.K. Simmons you never should consider as being possible, it’s a role that begs for an Oscar! A movie that is full of surprises. It will make you swallow, it will even deflect some, but above all: this is a movie about passion and what that can cause! Whiplash is perfect and indeed perhaps the best of this year, there will be blood on the cymbals!

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


NL

Een van de meest besproken titels tijdens FilmFest Ghent is zonder meer Whiplash van Damien Chazelle: de tweede film van de man die ook het script voor de flauwe bibberprent The Last Exorcism: God Asks. The Devil Commands schreef. Je zult ook huiveren bij deze film die nu al door menig critici wordt bestempeld als de beste van het jaar, maar wel om een heel andere reden!

Whiplash is een film over jazz. Maar je moet niets over deze muziekstijl weten om er te kunnen van genieten. Meer zelfs, je mag zelfs ronduit jazz haten! Chazelle vertelt het verhaal van de jonge kerel Andrew Neiman (Miles Teller) die maar één doel heeft in zijn leven: de allerbeste drummer ter wereld worden. Liever op je 35e sterven en door iedereen te worden herinnerd als een genie dan doodgaan op je 90e en dat achteraf niemand nog over je spreekt, is het motto van deze jongeman. In zijn zoektocht om het te maken komt hij tegenover zijn mentor te staan, die tevens een verschrikkelijke vent is. Terence Fletcher (J. K. Simmons) benut werkelijk alle methodes om alles uit zijn pupil te halen, en in zijn geval betekent dat zelfs fysiek geweld en de grootste vernederingen die je maar kan inbeelden. Bijna de hele film lang wordt de muzikant de huid vol gescholden. Dat moet, aldus Fletcher, anders zal er op deze wereld nooit nog een nieuwe Charlie Parker rondlopen.

Whiplash is een achtbaan die de kijker van het ene spektakel naar het andere brengt. Een prent die je J.K. Simmons toont zoals je hem nooit had verwacht, een rol die smeekt om een Oscar! Een film vol wendingen die je niet verwacht. Er zit humor in, er zijn taferelen die je doen slikken maar Whiplash is vooral een film over passie en wat dat allemaal kan veroorzaken. Whiplash is perfect en wie weet inderdaad de beste van 2014! Bloed op de cymbalen!

Didier BECU
23/10/2014


23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 23/10/2014 : DAMIEN CHAZELLE - Whiplash (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum