tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler

DAN GILROY

Nightcrawler

MovieCinema

Walt Disney
06/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We never expected to write this, but the Lynchian movie from 2014 which is being compared to Drive and Taxi Driver comes from the Disney stable! It sounds even stranger when you know that the director is David Gilroy, the man who directed both the disappointing The Bourne Legacy and the robot vehicle Real Steel, and some may even remember his flop Freejack with Mick Jagger. All these sins will be forgiven, because Nightcrawler is a masterpiece and cited by some critics as one of the films of the year.

It’s still uncommon over here, but American television stations use a lot of stringers, freelance journalists who make bloody images of crimes and accidents with their own camera’s and sell those to stations. While 911 rescues a woman from a burning car wreck, a camera crew is filming the tragic facts. Louis Bloom (Jake Gyllenhaal ) can’t believe his ears when he is told that you make hundreds of dollars with these recordings. He decides to buy a cheap camera and soon after he contacts journalist Nina Romina (Rene Russo) who does everything for ratings. The images of Blooms camera are amateurish, but they show blood. When Bloom gets his first dollars, he shoves all moral concerns aside.

The images of the bright red Ford Mustang through the streets of Los Angeles evokes memories of Travis Bickle and his taxi. The atmosphere is grim and between irony and serious reality. We reject the idea of bloody images, but everyone wants to see them on the net. And then there's Jake Gyllenhaal who is undoubtedly the psychopath of the year. With his bulging eyes and skinny face, he is one of the most dangerous lunatics you've ever seen on the big screen. The release date of Nightcrawler could not be worse, because Gilroy has to compete with Christopher Nolan's Interstellar, but fortunately no one ever said that you can't go to the movies twice a week.

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


NL

We hadden nooit gedacht dit ooit te schrijven, maar de film die Lynchiaans en de Drive en Taxi Driver van 2014 wordt genoemd komt zo waar uit de Disney-stal! Het klinkt nog vreemder als je weet dat regisseur David Gilroy de man is die ons met zowel het ontgoochelende The Bourne Legacy als met het robotvehikel Real Steel opzadelde, en voor zij die het zich nog herinneren, ook de geflopte Freejack met Mick Jagger. Al deze zonden zullen zonder twijfel worden vergeven, want Nightcrawler is een meesterwerk en wordt door sommige recensenten bestempeld als één van de films van het jaar.

Hier hebben we er gelukkig nog geen last van, maar in Amerika gebruiken heel wat televisiestations stringers. Dat zijn freelancejournalisten die met een camera op zoek gaan naar (vaak bloederige beelden) en die dan aan de zenders doorverkopen. Terwijl brandweermannen een vrouw uit een brandend autowrak redden, staat een cameraploeg met de neus op de feiten. De wereldvreemde Louis Bloom (Jake Gyllenhaal) kan zijn oren niet geloven als hij hoort dat je honderden dollars voor zulke opnames kan krijgen. Hij besluit om zich een goedkope camera aan te schaffen. Hij komt vrij vlug bij Nina Romina (Rene Russo) terecht die alles voor haar kijkcijfers doet. De beelden uit Blooms camera zijn amateuristisch, maar ze tonen bloed. Als Bloom zijn eerste dollars krijgt, schuift hij alle morele bezwaren opzij.

De knalrode Ford Mustang waarmee Louis in het holst van de nacht door de straten van Los Angeles rijdt roept natuurlijk herinneringen op aan Travis Bickle en zijn taxi. De sfeer is grimmig en balanceert op het randje tussen ironie en bikkelharde realiteit. We verwerpen wel het idee van bloederige beelden, maar iedereen is er wel naar op zoek. En dan is er natuurlijk Jake Gyllenhaal die zonder twijfel de titel van psychopaat van het jaar wegkaapt. Met zijn uitpuilende ogen en graatmager gezicht wordt hij één van de gevaarlijkste gekken die je ooit op het witte doek hebt gezien, een vertolking die je nu al in het grote boek van de cinemageschiedenis mag noteren. De releasedatum van Nightcrawler kon niet slechter zijn, want Gilroy moet opboksen tegen Christopher Nolans Interstellar, maar zei iemand ooit dat het fout was om twee keer per week naar de bios te gaan?

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite