tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler

DAN GILROY

Nightcrawler

MovieCinema

Walt Disney
06/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We never expected to write this, but the Lynchian movie from 2014 which is being compared to Drive and Taxi Driver comes from the Disney stable! It sounds even stranger when you know that the director is David Gilroy, the man who directed both the disappointing The Bourne Legacy and the robot vehicle Real Steel, and some may even remember his flop Freejack with Mick Jagger. All these sins will be forgiven, because Nightcrawler is a masterpiece and cited by some critics as one of the films of the year.

It’s still uncommon over here, but American television stations use a lot of stringers, freelance journalists who make bloody images of crimes and accidents with their own camera’s and sell those to stations. While 911 rescues a woman from a burning car wreck, a camera crew is filming the tragic facts. Louis Bloom (Jake Gyllenhaal ) can’t believe his ears when he is told that you make hundreds of dollars with these recordings. He decides to buy a cheap camera and soon after he contacts journalist Nina Romina (Rene Russo) who does everything for ratings. The images of Blooms camera are amateurish, but they show blood. When Bloom gets his first dollars, he shoves all moral concerns aside.

The images of the bright red Ford Mustang through the streets of Los Angeles evokes memories of Travis Bickle and his taxi. The atmosphere is grim and between irony and serious reality. We reject the idea of bloody images, but everyone wants to see them on the net. And then there's Jake Gyllenhaal who is undoubtedly the psychopath of the year. With his bulging eyes and skinny face, he is one of the most dangerous lunatics you've ever seen on the big screen. The release date of Nightcrawler could not be worse, because Gilroy has to compete with Christopher Nolan's Interstellar, but fortunately no one ever said that you can't go to the movies twice a week.

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


NL

We hadden nooit gedacht dit ooit te schrijven, maar de film die Lynchiaans en de Drive en Taxi Driver van 2014 wordt genoemd komt zo waar uit de Disney-stal! Het klinkt nog vreemder als je weet dat regisseur David Gilroy de man is die ons met zowel het ontgoochelende The Bourne Legacy als met het robotvehikel Real Steel opzadelde, en voor zij die het zich nog herinneren, ook de geflopte Freejack met Mick Jagger. Al deze zonden zullen zonder twijfel worden vergeven, want Nightcrawler is een meesterwerk en wordt door sommige recensenten bestempeld als één van de films van het jaar.

Hier hebben we er gelukkig nog geen last van, maar in Amerika gebruiken heel wat televisiestations stringers. Dat zijn freelancejournalisten die met een camera op zoek gaan naar (vaak bloederige beelden) en die dan aan de zenders doorverkopen. Terwijl brandweermannen een vrouw uit een brandend autowrak redden, staat een cameraploeg met de neus op de feiten. De wereldvreemde Louis Bloom (Jake Gyllenhaal) kan zijn oren niet geloven als hij hoort dat je honderden dollars voor zulke opnames kan krijgen. Hij besluit om zich een goedkope camera aan te schaffen. Hij komt vrij vlug bij Nina Romina (Rene Russo) terecht die alles voor haar kijkcijfers doet. De beelden uit Blooms camera zijn amateuristisch, maar ze tonen bloed. Als Bloom zijn eerste dollars krijgt, schuift hij alle morele bezwaren opzij.

De knalrode Ford Mustang waarmee Louis in het holst van de nacht door de straten van Los Angeles rijdt roept natuurlijk herinneringen op aan Travis Bickle en zijn taxi. De sfeer is grimmig en balanceert op het randje tussen ironie en bikkelharde realiteit. We verwerpen wel het idee van bloederige beelden, maar iedereen is er wel naar op zoek. En dan is er natuurlijk Jake Gyllenhaal die zonder twijfel de titel van psychopaat van het jaar wegkaapt. Met zijn uitpuilende ogen en graatmager gezicht wordt hij één van de gevaarlijkste gekken die je ooit op het witte doek hebt gezien, een vertolking die je nu al in het grote boek van de cinemageschiedenis mag noteren. De releasedatum van Nightcrawler kon niet slechter zijn, want Gilroy moet opboksen tegen Christopher Nolans Interstellar, maar zei iemand ooit dat het fout was om twee keer per week naar de bios te gaan?

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler 06/11/2014 : DAN GILROY - Nightcrawler

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten